Topic: Advice to choose, New to RME

Hello, i got to buy a new sound card for my PC, running on XP SP3. I've been using a MOTU 828  for 9 years now n I am very happy, but need something 24bit/96 now.
RME reputation makes me wish something on this brand, but I'm a little bit lost among the different protocols: AES, EBU, Madi, etc
I've been a firewire guy all this years, but was wondering if a PCI interface wont be better, as my motu 828 (firewire) it's been allways, since it's purchase in 2002 pluged and rack mounted all the time, so there's no use for a portable external interface, I just need a professional, stable, high quality i/o converter for my studio.
So if anybody there wants to give me a piece of advice, this is what I'm aiming for:

-8 analog in, 8 analog out
-No need for Preamps really, i have an analog Mackie boeard I still use for instr. preamps and a couple of nice old Telefunken for mic preamp.
-1 midi i/o

So I can see 2 options:
Multiface2+Pci card (770 EUR)
or HDSP 32 + BOB 16io (890EUR)

besides the price, what do you recommend? What's the main difference between these two systems?

hope anybody can advice, tahnsk regards

dd

ASUSTeK P5W DH Deluxe (Intel 975X Express) - ATX
Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 @ 2.33 GHZ - Dual Core  Socket 775 FSB1333 cache L2 4 Mo 0.065
2x Seagate Barracuda 320 Go 7200.1 16mo sata
RAM Corsair Twinx 2x1024 DDR2-C6400 twin 2.34 GHZ
NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT - 256 Mo - PCI Ex16
Motu 828
Win XP SP3

SONAR X1c
Samplitude V8
Sound Forge 8

Re: Advice to choose, New to RME

Hi DD,
The Bob16 is not an AD/DA converter. It is Analog DSUB to XLR rack mount adapter. It is designed more for use with some of RME high end AD/DA stand alone units like the M-16 and 32 series and ADI8-QS.