Synchronization II (DIGI96 Series)

»Technical Information Index

Sample rate, Word Clock, PLL and more: An overview for a better understanding

With the continuing change from analog to digital technology a new part of digital audio confuses more and more users: the synchronization. But which kind of synchronization? In this overview we don't take a look on MIDI Time Clock or SMPTE, but on the problems that come up when connecting digital audio devices.

CD to DAT

CD-Player and DAT Recorder make up good examples and are suitable as help in understanding, as their principle of operation is easy to understand and well known to most users.

In the analog domain one can connect any device to another device, a synchronization is not necessary. Digital audio is different. It uses a clock, the sample frequency. The signal can only be processed and transmitted, when all participated devices share the same clock. If not, the signal will have wrong samples, distortion, crackle sounds and drop outs.

In practice digital appliances are master or slave. The master is the clock reference, all slaves follow the master.
 
Not all appliances are able to work as slave and master! For example usual CD-player only work with their internal clock. They are not able to synchronize themselves to an external clock, thus are only useable as master.

Each device which is able to receive digital audio signals is able to work as slave, else no error free recording would be possible. A DAT for example includes a special circuitry, that extracts the clock reference out of the digital datastream. A part of this circuit is the so called PLL (Phase Locked Loop.)

Fig. 1 shows the way these devices work together. The digital output of the CD-player sends the clock inside the SPDIF signal to the DAT, which locks (using a PLL) on this signal and switches off its internal clock reference. Thus the DAT is able to record the data from the CD-player without any error.

Fig. 1

Master - or what?

So each digital input can be used as reference clock source. This feature is often restricted to internal usage. As digital devices should also work without any input signal present they include an internal fixed clock, a quarz crystal. Because of this the DAT is working as master in playback mode.
 
Usual DAT's will only work as master in playback mode, because - like shown in the diagram - in record mode the PLL, and in playback mode automatically the internal clock is active.

Confusing (and not yet covered through specific names) is the difference between a master and a 'complete' master. The 'complete' master is able to allow recordings without getting its clock out of the input signal, instead using its internal clock (this may be explained as master usage in Full Duplex mode.)

When a digital device allows recordings without getting its clock out of the input signal there should be much disturbance, as there is no synchronization between the external and the internal clock. But if the combination and cabling of the used devices is done in a special way it is no problem.

Digital Mixing Desk and ADAT

Let's take a look at an example, where this kind of usage happens every day: a digital mixing desk connected to an ADAT recorder. The mixing desk is master, sends its data to the ADAT.

The ADAT acts different compared to 'normal' DAT's, because the clock reference used can be switched between internal (quarz) and external (input), independent of record or playback mode (Fig 2.) While a DAT would change its clock at playback automatically to internal, the ADAT allows to get the clock even then out of the input signal. This makes it possible to change its clock with the sample frequency fed, or in other words to synchronize him to the input signal regardless of his actual state.

Fig. 2

It doesn't matter if in playback, record or input monitor mode, the ADAT will always work with the clock received from the master (in this case the mixer), and send its data with the same clock back to the mixing desk.

Such a behavior may be described as synchronizable. But this will make professionals think of timecode related control, for example to shuttle forward and backwards in sync to another tape machine. But what we are talking about here is not related to time domain or absolute position, it's just the synchronization to a sample clock with sample accuracy.

To prevent disturbances due to misaligned sampling at the digital input of a mixing desk in master mode, the input signal has to be in total synchronicity to the signal send out from the desk. Note that in this case the inputs will not use the PLL to sync on the input signal, but are in sync with the internal clock of the desk. And that's exactly what's happening here: the desk sends out a digital signal controlled from its internal clock, the ADAT receives it, locks on it (using its PLL), sends out a digital signal with exactly this clock, which in turn could be received without any error from the digital mixing desk.

More interesting is the other way round: the desk works as slave and uses an external clock (the input signal), the ADAT is master. The ADAT now uses the modes 'Int 44,1' or 'Int 48'. Compared to a DAT the whole loop would crash when a recording is started. But the ADAT is able to use the internal clock even in record mode, so everything works fine.
 
A recording is only possible because the mixing desk locks itself on the clock from the ADAT and sends it data with exactly this clock as record source back to the ADAT. With many digital appliances this wouldn't be possible, as playback mode often forces the internal clock to be used.

DIGI96 Series

The principle of operation of all DIGI96 cards can be seen in Fig. 3. All three versions are equipped with internal quarz clocks, enabling them to playback data in master mode at the fixed sample frequencies 32 kHz, 44,1 kHz, 48 kHz, 64 kHz, 88,2 kHz and 96 kHz, without any input signal needed.

Thanks to a PLL in the input circuitry they will also sync to any input signal in the range of 25 kHz to 105 kHz. As opposed to the DAT shown in picture 1 DIGI96 can use the input synchronization also in playback mode. With 'AutoSync' active and a valid input signal available the card will switch off the quarz and use the clock extracted out of the input signal.

Fig. 3

This automatic behavior has many advantages, and additional allows true varispeed operation, because the card will follow every change in speed detected at the input. So all DIGI cards may work as master or slave, and can be synchronized from the input signal even in playback mode. As opposed to the DIGI32 series the DIGI96 series' memory is divided, and input (record) and output (playback) are no longer one circuit. Because of this the input circuit will always use its PLL to lock on the input signal, and the output circuit can be controlled by PLL or quarz. With this the DIGI96 series is enabled to behave like a 'complete' master device.

The DIGI96 series was designed as Hi-Speed interface without compromises. Because of this input and output share the same memory, which results in a sensational low loop delay of only 2 samples in Record while Play mode. With AutoSync active input and output are truly 'in phase'.

Loop Mode

Thanks to their 'complete' master technology the DIGI96 series is able to work in loop mode. The DIGI32 is not able to be used in loop mode without additional help. A typical application would be to use a digital effects device in loop cabling with the DIGI32. Digital effect devices in most cases operate exactly like the DIGI32, thus can be synchronized from their input signal, but won't use their own clock instead. Playing back audio data to the effects device and immediately returning the processed data back to the DIGI32 (which now records this signal) is therefore impossible. Despite Full Duplex this can't be done because both devices in the loop try to synchronize themselves on their input. When using a DIGI96 series card simply switch the card to 'Master' (setting 'Clock Mode') and everything works as expected.

DIGI96/8 and ADAT

The ADAT interface of the DIGI96/8 acts exactly like written before. Therefore a loop mode of ADAT and DIGI96/8 works without any problems as long as one of both devices is set to master mode.

The other kind of Synchronization

At last we again want to make clear that this Tech Info only covers the sync needed and used between digital appliances to send, receive and transmit digital audio data between them. There is another kind of synchronization, providing an absolute time reference of the actual position. For example when starting a PC based hard disk recording software to play back not at the beginning of a track, but somewhere in the middle. Then some kind of timecode is needed (MTC or SMPTE) and some kind of external interface (like the ADAT BRC) that now controls the ADAT recorder(s) to jump to this position, stop, enter playback and get close to the actual position of the already playing PC software via varipitch (this is called Chase Lock Sync.) This is not a question of word clock or Bitclock, but again the Bitclock PLL will - because of the dramatic speed changes in Chase Lock Sync mode - work much better than a simple word clock.
Copying single tracks from the ADAT to the PC, processing them, and copying them back to the ADAT to the exact same place on the tape is only possible when synchronizing PC and ADAT using additional hardware and some kind of timecode (MIDI Time Clock, SMPTE.)

But even then the whole system does not act like a 'normal' tape recorder. For example the buffers in the software needed for record and playback result in a delay, that must be corrected by a manual applied offset to the software. In Chase Lock Sync mode another correction factor is needed, because the software calculates its absolute position based on ideal 44,1 kHz sample frequency, which of course is not given in reality.

Glossary

Bitclock PLL: Special kind of PLL with very accurate regulation based on bit domain instead of word domain
Full Duplex: The ability to simultaneous record and playback (Record while Play)
In Phase: When two signals are absolute synchronous in time domain
Jitter: Deviation of a signal in time domain
Loop: Signal fed from one device to another and back
Loop Clock: Device that allows to feed an external clock into a looped combination of devices
Loop Delay: The delay that occurs in combined Full duplex and loop mode between playback and record. (The direct loop back mode using DIGI32's out to in is only possible using a Loop-Clock)
Master: Clock source, feeds all slaves
PLL: Phase Locked Loop. Extracts a simple clock signal out of any complex signal
Quarz: Electrical device; used as oscillator with minimal deviation and very low jitter
Sample frequency: Number of probes taken from the analog signal per second
Slave: Follows the clock reference (master)
SPDIF: Sony/Philips-Digital Interface, consumer version of the digital audio signal
SRC: Sample Rate Converter, converts any given sample frequency to a fixed one
Timecode: Constant coded signal, allows absolute positioning on time domain
Word clock: Pure sample frequency without any audio data, used to synchronize multiple devices to one common clock

Copyright © RME®, Matthias Carstens, 1998.

All entries in this Tech Infopaper have been thoroughly checked, however no guarantee for correctness can be given. RME cannot be held responsible for any misleading or incorrect information provided throughout this manual. Lending or copying any part or the complete document or its contents is only possible with the written permission from RME

Home    News    Audio Converters    Sound Cards    MADI Series     DIGICheck   Mic Preamps
Accessories    Support    RME Newsgroup    Company Info    Purchasing    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. All rights reserved. RME is a registered trademark.
This website contains names and marks of other companies.

Synchronisation II (DIGI96 Serie)

»Zurück zur Tech Info

Samplefrequenz, Wordclock, PLL und Co: Ein kleiner Überblick zum besseren Verständnis

Mit dem fortschreitenden Wechsel von analoger zu digitaler Technik müssen sich immer mehr Anwender mit einem Thema beschäftigen, welches früher nur Fortgeschrittene und/oder Profis berührte: die Synchronisation. Für Verwirrung sorgen die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten, was im jeweiligen Falle gerade genau mit Synchronisation gemeint ist. In diesem Überblick geht es nicht um MIDI Time Clock oder SMPTE, sondern um die allgegenwärtige Problematik des digitalen 'Audio-Miteinander'.

CD zu DAT

CD-Player und DAT Rekorder bieten sich als Erklärungshilfe gleich mehrfach an, denn ihr Funktionsprinzip ist leicht verständlich, und die Geräte den meisten DIGI96 Anwendern sicher vertraut.

In der analogen Technik kann man beliebige Geräte beliebig miteinander verschalten, eine Synchronisation ist nicht erforderlich. Digital Audio ist jedoch einem Grundtakt, der Samplefrequenz, unterworfen. Das Signal kann nur korrekt weiterverarbeitet oder transportiert werden, wenn alle beteiligten Geräte dem gleichen Takt folgen. Ansonsten kommt es zu Fehlabtastungen des digitalen Signales, Verzerrungen, Knackgeräusche und Aussetzer sind die Folge.

Im praktischen Einsatz sind digitale Geräte entweder Master (Gebieter) oder Slave (Sklave). Der Master gibt den Takt vor, alle Slaves richten sich nach dem Master.

Nicht alle Geräte sind so konstruiert, daß sie sowohl Master als auch Slave sein können! Beispielsweise richten sich übliche CD-Player nur nach ihrer internen Clock. Sie lassen sich von außen nicht mit einem anderen Takt versorgen, können also nur Master sein.

Jedes Gerät, welches in der Lage ist digitale Audiodaten zu empfangen, ist automatisch slavefähig (also als Slave einsetzbar), sonst wäre keine störfreie Aufnahme möglich. Ein DAT beispielsweise enthält eine spezielle Schaltung, welche aus dem digitalen Datenstrom den Grundtakt extrahiert und als interne Clock zur Verfügung stellt. Ein Teil dieser Schaltung ist die PLL (Phase Locked Loop), grob übersetzt phasenstarre Regelschleife. Sie kann dank eines andauernden, genauen Vergleichsvorganges die Taktfrequenz aus dem Digitalsignal extrahieren.

Bild 1 zeigt das Zusammenspiel der Geräte. Der CD-Player gibt mittels seines digitalen Ausgangssignales (SPDIF) den Takt vor, der DAT lockt sich (mittels PLL) auf dieses Signal ein und schaltet seine interne Taktquelle ab. Dadurch kann er die Audiodaten des CD-Players ohne Störungen aufnehmen.

Master - oder wie?

Jeder digitale Eingang kann also auch als Referenztakt dienen, wobei diese Möglichkeit oft nur für den geräteinternen Gebrauch besteht. Da digitale Geräte auch ohne Eingangssignal funktionieren sollen, enthalten sie auch eine interne, feste Clock (Quarz). Deshalb ist der DAT bei Playback als Master nutzbar.
 

Übliche DATs sind allerdings bei Wiedergabe nur (!) als Master nutzbar, da - wie im Blockschaltbild dargestellt - bei Record die PLL, und bei Wiedergabe automatisch die interne Clock genutzt wird.

Verwirrend (und leider durch spezifische Fachbegriffe derzeit nicht abgedeckt) wird es bei der Unterscheidung zwischen einem masterfähigen und einem vollständig masterfähigen Gerät. Vollständig bedeutet, eine Aufnahme zu erlauben ohne den Takt aus dem Eingangssignal zu beziehen, also weiterhin die interne Clock zu benutzen (gewissermaßen masterfähig im Full Duplex Betrieb).

Wenn ein Gerät eine Aufnahme erlaubt, ohne den Takt aus dem Eingangssignal zu beziehen, müßte es eigentlich zu Störungen kommen, da keine Synchronität zwischen dem Takt des Eingangssignales und dem internen Takt vorhanden ist. Wenn aber durch eine passende Gerätezusammenstellung und Verkabelung die Voraussetzungen für einen solchen Betrieb geschaffen werden, ist das Ganze kein Problem.

Digitales Mischpult und ADAT

Dazu wieder ein Beispiel, bei dem ein solcher Betrieb an der Tagesordnung ist: Digitales Mischpult und ADAT Rekorder. Das Mischpult ist Master, sendet die Daten zum ADAT.

Dieser verhält sich nun etwas anders als 'normale' DATs, denn er bietet die Möglichkeit, seine Taktquelle zwischen dem digitalen Eingang und der internen Clock zu wählen (Bild 2). Während ein DAT bei Wiedergabe immer und automatisch auf die interne Clock umschaltet, bezieht der ADAT bei entsprechender Einstellung seinen Takt weiter aus dem digitalen Eingangssignal. Er läßt sich also über sein Eingangssignal in Sachen Samplefrequenz in jeder Betriebsart synchronisieren.

Egal ob Playback, Record oder Input Monitor, er wird immer mit dem vom Master (hier Mischpult) gelieferten Takt arbeiten, und seine Daten in diesem Takt zum Mischpult zurücksenden.

Solch ein Verhalten könnte man auch als synchronisierbar bezeichnen, wird bei vielen Anwendern damit jedoch den Eindruck erwecken, das Gerät ließe sich per Timecode zeitlich steuern, also zum Beispiel synchron zu einer anderen Bandmaschine vor- und zurückspulen. Diese Fähigkeit hat jedoch nichts mit der hier zu Grunde liegenden Synchronisation auf die Samplefrequenz zu tun!

Damit es keine Tonstörungen durch Fehlabtastungen am digitalen Eingang des Mischpultes gibt, muß das Eingangssignal voll synchron zum vom Mischpult ausgegebenen Takt sein. Denn die Eingänge werden ja nicht über eine PLL auf den Takt des Eingangssignales eingestellt, sondern fest vom internen Takt des Mischpultes gesteuert. Und genau das ist in diesem Beispiel der Fall: Das Pult sendet ein Digitalsignal, erzeugt von seiner internen Clock, der ADAT empfängt dieses, kann sich dank PLL darauf 'einlocken', gibt wiederum ein Digitalsignal mit genau diesem Takt aus, welches dann am Mischpult als gültiges Eingangssignal fehlerfrei zu empfangen ist.

Interessant wird es genau anders herum: Das Mischpult wird als Slave betrieben, statt der internen Clock eine externe benutzt (Digitalsignal des ADAT am Mischpulteingang). Der ADAT arbeitet in der Betriebsart 'Int 44,1' oder 'Int 48'. Dann ist der ADAT Master. Verglichen mit einem DAT würde diese Konfiguration in dem Augenblick zusammenbrechen, wo der DAT auf Aufnahme gestellt wird. Der ADAT dagegen kann auch bei laufender Aufnahme den Takt vorgeben.

Eine Aufnahme ist nur deshalb störfrei möglich, weil sich das Mischpult auf den Takt des ADAT lockt, und seine Audiodaten mit genau diesem Takt zwecks Aufnahme zum ADAT sendet. Mit vielen digitalen Geräten ist diese Betriebsart nicht möglich, da sie bei Wiedergabe immer die interne Clock benutzen.

DIGI96 Serie

Das Funktionsprinzip der DIGI96 Karten ist in Bild 3 zu sehen. Alle drei Versionen besitzen interne Quarze, können also auch ohne Eingangssignal eine Wiedergabe in den festen Samplefrequenzen 32 kHz, 44,1 kHz, 48 kHz, 64 kHz, 88,2 kHz und 96 kHz leisten.

Sie können sich aber auch über eine PLL in der Eingangsschaltung auf das Eingangssignal synchronisieren. Im Gegensatz zum DAT in Bild 1 steht diese Synchronisation jedoch auch bei einer Wiedergabe zur Verfügung. Ist in der Settingsbox 'AutoSync' aktiv, und erkennt die Hardware ein gültiges Eingangssignal mit einer ähnlichen Samplefrequenz wie der gerade zum Abspielen benötigten, schaltet sie den Quarz ab und auf den am Eingang anliegenden Takt um.

Dieser Automatismus hat viele praktische Vorteile, und erlaubt zudem einen echten Varipitch-Betrieb, da die Samplefrequenz am Eingang zwischen 25 kHz und 105 kHz betragen kann. Die DIGI Karten sind also als Slave und Master einsetzbar und selbst bei Wiedergabe über das Eingangssignal synchronisierbar. Im Gegensatz zur DIGI32 Serie ist der gemeinsame Speicher jedoch unterteilt, Aufnahme und Wiedergabeteil sind getrennt. Der Eingangsteil (für die Aufnahme) lockt sich grundsätzlich per PLL auf das Eingangssignal, während der Ausgangsteil wahlweise von der PLL oder dem Quarz gesteuert wird. Die DIGI96 Serie ist damit vollständig Master-fähig.

Die Karten der DIGI96 Serie wurden als kompromißlose Hi-Speed Interfaces entworfen. Ein- und Ausgang teilen sich einen gemeinsamen Speicher (was zu einer sensationell geringen Loop Delay von nur 2 Samples bei Record while Play führt). Bei aktivem AutoSync sind Ein- und Ausgang absolut 'In Phase'.

Schleifenbetrieb

Dank der Master-Fähigkeit beherrschen die Karten der DIGI96 Serie auch den sogenannten Schleifenbetrieb. Die DIGI32 Serie ist prinzipiell nicht in der Lage, alleine einen Schleifenbetrieb aufrecht zu erhalten. Eine typische Anwendung ist der Anschluß eines digitalen Effektgerätes mit Ein- und Ausgang an die DIGI32. Digitale Effektgeräte arbeiten meist genau wie die DIGI32, lassen sich also konstant vom Eingangssignal synchronisieren, jedoch nicht auf internen (vollständigen) Masterbetrieb umstellen. Das Abspielen von Audiodaten, senden zum Effektgerät, und sofortiges Wiederaufnehmen des bearbeiteten Signales ist daher trotz Full Duplex von Karte und Effektgerät nicht möglich, da das Signal innerhalb der Schleife sofort zusammenbricht. Die DIGI96 Serie dagegen erfordert nur die Einstellung 'Master' im Feld 'Clock Mode', schon funktioniert alles wie gewünscht.

DIGI96/8 und ADAT

Für die ADAT Schnittstelle der DIGI96/8 gilt alles bisher gesagte ebenfalls. Deshalb ist der Schleifenbetrieb von ADAT und DIGI96/8 problemlos möglich, solange eines der beiden Geräte als Master fungiert.

Die andere Synchronisation

Nachdem nun ständig die Rede von Synchronisation war möchten wir noch einmal darauf hinweisen, daß es sich in diesem Tech Info nur um die störfreie Übertragung von digitalen Audiodaten dreht. Absolute Zeitpositionen oder synchrones Umspulen (Chase Lock Sync) sind ein anderes Thema, und weder eine Frage von Bitclock noch Wordclock (wobei die Bitclock natürlich auch hier ihre Vorteile ausspielen kann).
 

Wer beispielsweise einzelne Spuren seines ADAT-Bandes auf einen PC transferrieren, dort bearbeiten und danach wieder auf den ADAT zurückspielen will, kann dies nur tun, wenn die PC-Software und der ADAT über externe Hardware und einen Timecode (MIDI Time Clock, SMPTE) synchronisiert sind.

Doch selbst dann lauert der Teufel im Detail. So entsteht durch die Buffer der Software bei Aufnahme und Wiedergabe eine Verzögerung, welche für eine genaue Positionierung die Eingabe eines passenden Offsets erfordert. Im Chase Lock Sync Betrieb ist ein weiterer Korrekturfaktor nötig, da die Software ihre Position intern ausgehend von einer idealen 44,1 kHz Samplefrequenz berechnet, die in der Realität dagegen immer eine (wenn auch geringe) Abweichung aufweist.

Glossar

Bitclock PLL: Spezielle Form der PLL mit feinerer Regelung auf Bitebene statt auf Wortebene
Full Duplex: Die Fähigkeit zur gleichzeitigen Aufnahme und Wiedergabe (Record while Play)
In Phase: Wenn zwei Taktsignale absolut synchron sind
Jitter: Schwankungen eines Signales auf zeitlicher Ebene
Loop: Englisch für Schleife
Loop Clock: Gerät, welches mehreren Geräten in Schleifenverkabelung einen anderen Takt aufzwingt
Loop Delay: Verzögerung eines Signales im Schleifenbetrieb. Tritt u. a. bei gleichzeitigem Abspielen und Aufnehmen per Schleifenverkabelung mit nur einer Karte auf (Loop Back; bei DIGI32 Karten nur mit externer Loop-Clock möglich)
Master: Referenz Taktquelle, steuert alle Slaves
PLL: Phase Locked Loop, phasenstarre Regelschleife. Erzeugt aus komplexen Signalen ein einfaches Taktsignal mit der gewünschten Frequenz
Quarz: Elektronisches Bauteil; liefert den Grundtakt mit minimalster Abweichung und sehr geringem Jitter
Samplefrequenz: Anzahl der Abtastungen des Audiosignales pro Sekunde
Slave: Folgt der Referenz Taktquelle vom Master
SPDIF: Sony/Philips-Digital Interface, Consumerversion des digitalen Audiosignals
SRC: Sample Rate Converter, paßt beliebige Samplefrequenzen an die gewünschte an
Timecode: Konstant durchlaufendes Zeitsignal, welches eine absolute Positionierung erlaubt
Wordclock: Reine Samplefrequenz ohne Audiodaten, dient zur Synchronisation aller damit gespeisten Geräte.

Copyright © Matthias Carstens, 1998.
Alle Angaben in diesem Tech Info sind sorgfältig geprüft, dennoch kann eine Garantie auf Korrektheit nicht übernommen werden. Eine Haftung von RME für unvollständige oder unkorrekte Angaben kann nicht erfolgen. Weitergabe und Vervielfältigung dieses Dokumentes und die Verwertung seines Inhalts sind nur mit schriftlicher Erlaubnis von RME gestattet.
 

Hauptseite    News    AD/DA-Wandler    Digitalkarten    MADI Serie     DIGICheck    Mic Preamps
Zubehör    Support    RME Newsgroup    Rund um RME    Bezugsquellen    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. RME ist ein eingetragenes Markenzeichen.
Diese Website enthält Namen und Marken anderer Firmen