RME - FAQ

Answers to frequently asked questions.

RME FAQ

FAQ Topics

Modification of the HDSP PCI card

The Hammerfall DSP system with PCI card does not work correctly on a few computers. Unsuccessful boot initialization shows the following symptoms:

  • The PCI card is not found by the system during boot-up. It does not appear as Multimedia Device in the list of PCI devices, nor in Windows' device manager.
  • The hammer symbol does not show up in the Systray of Windows 2000/XP. The Settings dialog is not being loaded, because the card (the HDSP system) is not present. The mixer symbol (TotalMix) shows up in any case.
  • The Settings dialog remains empty (Mac OS) or shows 'Error' (Windows 98).
  • The system does not work (ASIO error etc.).

In all cases it is the same error. Directly after switching on the computer the power supply ramps up its output voltages. But already during the ramp up several components begin to draw high currents and cause voltage fluctuations. This can cause the FPGA on the HDSP-PCI card to hang. As a consequence, the card is virtually dead and cannot be detected by the computer nor initialized.

Exchanging the computer's power supply into a stronger one of a known brand solved the problem for many customers. RME have taken care to make the HDSP PCI card safe against voltage drops during boot-up. The modification published 06/26/02 solved the problem for most affected customers. Finally a computer showing the error reached our lab. The problem was finally identified and fixed. The new modification can be done with boards of all revisions. The current revision 1.5 now ships in a modified version.

Please note that this modification may only be done by qualified service personnel. Improper handling of the PCI card causes loss of warranty and there will be repair or exchange costs. The normal procedure in case of boot/initialization problems is exchanging the PCI card via your retailer and/or distributor against a modified card.

We are giving this information here, because we are aware of the fact that exchanging the PCI cards will need a certain time in some cases, whereas any competent technician can do the modification within less than 5 minutes.

Top

Modification of Revision 1.3 and 1.4

HDSP1

A modification of revision 1.3 and 1.4 is very simple. Just solder a capacitor 4.7 µF, at least 10 Volt, to pin 1 and 4 of the voltage regulator IC6. In case an electrolytic type is used: the negative pin must be on the right side, at pin 4, see picture to the left.

HDSP2

In case the modification from 06/26/02 has been applied and did not fix the problem, proceed as follows:

Remove only the wire (or 0 Ohm resistor) which replaced R4, and solder the original R4 (10 kOhm) back on its pads. Now add the 4.7 µF capacitor as described above. Do not undo the other modifications (removal of top layer pad, connection of left side of C7 with the right pin of IC4 by means of an insulated wire).

Top

Modification of Revision 1.5

As revision 1.5 no longer includes a R4, the resistor has to be added and inserted. This is done by unsoldering and bending pin 1 of IC6 high. Then a resistor 10 kOhm is soldered to the left side of C7 and the upwards bended pin, see picture to the left. Next a capacitor 4.7 µF, at least 10 Volt, is soldered to pin 1 and 4 of the voltage regulator IC6. In case an electrolytic type is used: the negative pin must be on the right side, at pin 4.

HDSP3

Technical note: This modification causes the FPGA to be powered with a slight delay, when the computer's power supply generates a stable output voltage.

Top

RME - FAQ

Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen.

RME FAQ

FAQ-Themen

Modifikation der HDSP-PCI Karte

Das Hammerfall DSP System mit PCI-Karte arbeitet auf einigen wenigen Rechnern nicht korrekt. Eine fehlgeschlagene Boot-Initialisierung zeigt folgende Symptome:

In allen Fällen handelt es sich um den gleichen Fehler. Direkt nach dem Einschalten des Rechners fährt das Netzteil hoch. Noch während des Hochfahrens beginnen erste Stromverbraucher im System zu arbeiten und verursachen Spannungsschwankungen. Schlagen diese bis zur HDSP PCI durch hängt sie sich auf. Als Folge ist die Karte quasi tot und kann nicht mehr initialisiert werden.

Bei vielen Kunden beseitigte ein Austausch des Rechner-Netzteiles gegen ein stärkeres Markennetzteil das Problem. RME hat sich daher bemüht, die HDSP-PCI Karte sicherer gegen Spannungseinbrüche in der Boot-Phase zu machen. Die am 26.06.02 veröffentlichte Modifikation führte bei fast allen betroffenen Testern zu einer Beseitigung des Problems. Nachdem schliesslich auch ein Rechner im RME-Labor den Fehler zeigte konnten wir die eigentliche Ursache ermitteln und für zuverlässige Abhilfe sorgen. Die neue Modifikation kann in allen Platinenrevisionen ergänzt werden. Die Revision 1.5 wird derzeit mit einer solchen Modifikation versehen ausgeliefert.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass nur qualifizierte Techniker diesen Umbau durchführen dürfen. Bei unsachgemässer Behandlung der PCI-Karte erlischt deren Garantie, und es fallen Reparatur- oder Austauschkosten an. Der normale Weg im Falle eines Boot-/Initialisierungsproblems ist der Austausch der PCI-Karte über Ihren Händler und/oder Vertrieb gegen eine modifizierte Karte.

Wir stellen diese Information hier bereit, weil uns sehr wohl bewusst ist, dass ein Austausch der PCI-Karten nicht immer innerhalb kürzester Zeit abgewickelt werden kann, jedoch kompetente Techniker eine solche Modifikation in weniger als 5 Minuten durchführen können.

Top

Modifikation der Revision 1.3 und 1.4

HDSP1

Die Modifikation an der Revision 1.3 und 1.4 ist besonders einfach. Hierbei muss lediglich ein Kondensator 4,7 µF, mindestens 10 Volt, an die Pins 1 und 4 des Spannungsreglers IC6 gelötet werden. Falls ein Elko verwendet wird: Minus nach rechts beziehungsweise an Pin 4, siehe obiges Bild.

HDSP2

Wurde schon die Modifikation vom 26.06.02 durchgeführt und war ohne Erfolg, gehen Sie folgendermassen vor:

Nur (!) die Drahtbrücke über R4 entfernen und R4 wieder bestücken (10 kOhm). Nun wie beschrieben den 4,7 µF Kondensator ergänzen. Das Auftrennen der Durchkontaktierung und die Verbindung linke Seite von C7 mit dem rechten Pin von IC4 mittels isolierten Drahtes bleiben erhalten.

Top

Modifikation der Revision 1.5

Da Revision 1.5 keinen R4 mehr im Layout vorsieht, muss dieser eingefügt werden. Dies geschieht durch Ablöten und Hochbiegen von Pin 1 des IC6. Nun wird ein Widerstand 10 kOhm an die linke Seite von C7 und den hochgebogenen Pin 1 gelötet, siehe Bild. Danach wird ein Kondensator 4,7 µF, mindestens 10 Volt, an die Pins 1 und 4 des Spannungsreglers IC6 gelötet. Falls ein Elko verwendet wird: Minus nach rechts beziehungsweise an Pin 4.

HDSP3

Technische Erklärung: Diese Modifikation bewirkt, dass das FPGA seine Betriebsspannung verzögert erhält, also erst wenn das Netzteil des Rechners eine stabile Ausgangsspannung liefert.

Top