RME - FAQ

Answers to frequently asked questions.

RME FAQ

FAQ Topics

Important information on hardware compatibilities

RME updates information on G5 compatibilityt

All currently available RME PCI interface cards are not compatible to Apple's new G5 computers with PCIe (PCI Express) slots.

All currently available RME interface cards are fully compatible to Apple's G5 computers with PCI and PCI-X slots. They operate at the reduced voltage of 3.3V, and therefore provide the second notch at the PCI contacts to fit in any PCI-X slot. This is especially true for all PCI cards of the HDSP series, HDSP PCI, HDSP 9652 and HDSP 9632.

Older cards are in many cases not compatible:

- Hammerfall (DIGI9636 and DIGI9652) revision 1.5/1.6: These cards have been shipped since June 2000. Until the end of 2002, cards being compatible and incompatible to PCI-X slot computers have been shipped. Unfortunately it is not possible to define the time frame more accurately, nor to list the affected manufacturing dates.

- DIGI96 series: Cards which were compatible and incompatible to PCI-X slot computers have also been shipped in the DIGI96 series until the end of 2002. Unfortunately it is again not possible to define the time frame more accurately, nor to list the affected manufacturing dates.

Using one of the above cards in an Apple G5 computer can cause serious damage to both DIGI96 and Hammerfall series of cards, as well as damage the G5. Therefore RME strongly advises to have all cards meeting the above criteria to be checked by RME before using them in a G5. Please note that checking and modification is not free of costs.

Hammerfall (DIGI9636 / DIGI9652) revision 1.1: These cards, manufactured from 1999 to April 2001, are not Mac compatible at all - and thus can't be used in a G5 anyway.

Note: the revision is printed on the PCB. The date time of manufacturing is coded as week/year on the back of the cards, within a copper area (for example 17/01 for week 17 in 2001).

Top

RME - FAQ

Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen.

RME FAQ

FAQ-Themen

Hinweise zu Hardware-Inkompatibilitäten

RME PCI-Interface-Karten und Apple G5 Kompatibilität

Alle derzeit erhältlichen RME PCI Interfacekarten sind nicht kompatibel zu den aktuellen G5 Computern mit PCIe (PCI Express) Steckplätzen.

Alle derzeit erhältlichen RME-Interfacekarten sind vollständig kompatibel zu Apple G5 Computern mit PCI- und PCI-X Steckplätzen. Sie arbeiten mit der bei PCI-X Steckplätzen reduzierten Betriebsspannung von 3.3 Volt, und besitzen daher auch die notwendige zweite Aussparung am PCI-Kontaktkamm. Dies gilt insbesondere für alle PCI-Karten der HDSP Serie, also HDSP PCI, HDSP 9652 und HDSP 9632.

Ältere Karten sind in vielen Fällen nicht kompatibel:

- Hammerfall (DIGI9636 und DIGI9652) Revision 1.5/1.6: Diese Karten wurden ab Juni 2000 ausgeliefert. Bis circa Ende 2002 wurden neben zu PCI-X Computern kompatiblen auch inkompatible Karten hergestellt und vertrieben. Leider lässt sich weder der Zeitraum genauer eingrenzen, noch genau sagen welche Kalenderwochen betroffen sind.

- DIGI96 Serie: Auch bei der DIGI96 Serie wurden bis Ende 2002 sowohl kompatible als auch inkompatible Karten vertrieben. Leider lässt sich auch hier weder der Zeitraum genauer eingrenzen, noch genau sagen welche Kalenderwochen betroffen sind.

Da beim Einsatz der oben genannten Karten auf Apple G5 Rechnern eine Beschädigung sowohl der DIGI96- und Hammerfall-Karten, als auch des G5 nicht ausgeschlossen werden kann, empfiehlt RME dringend, ältere Karten, auf die obige Kriterien zutreffen, vor der Nutzung in einem G5 bei RME prüfen zu lassen. Bitte beachten Sie dass Prüfung als auch eventuelle Modifikation kostenpflichtig sind.

Hammerfall (DIGI9636 / DIGI9652) Revision 1.1: Diese im Zeitraum 1999 bis April 2001 hergestellten Karten sind grundsätzlich nicht Mac-kompatibel - und damit auch nicht auf dem G5 einsetzbar.

Hinweis: die Revision ist auf der Platine aufgedruckt. Der genaue Zeitpunkt der Herstellung ist als Kalenderwoche/Jahr auf der Rückseite der Karten in der Kupferfläche zu sehen (z.B. 17/01 für Kalenderwoche 17 in 2001).

Top