OctaMic II
  • 8-Channel
  • MicPreamp and AD converter to AES/EBU & ADAT
OctaMic II
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6

MicPreamps

more information

RME OctaMic II

OctaMic II

Overview

Connectivity

  • 8 x Mic / Line Preamp Input (XLR/TRS Combo)
  • 8 x Line Output (TRS balanced)
  • 8 x AD-converter (up to 192 kHz)
  • 2 x ADAT Output (S/MUX, up to 96 kHz)
  • 4 x AES/EBU Output (D-sub, up to 192 kHz)
  • 1 x AES/SPDIF Sync Input
  • Phase, Low Cut and Phantom power per channel
  • Clip Hold Memory

The OctaMic II provides 8-Channel 192 kHz / 24 bit AD conversion with eight hi-class microphone and line pre-amplification channels, featuring a combination of sophisticated components and approved RME technology.

Lowest distortion, excellent signal to noise ratio and perfectly linear frequency response transmit and amplify the microphone signals truly unchanged.

The OctaMic II includes some significant enhancements compared to the OctaMic:

Features

OctaMic II offers 8 balanced XLR mic / line inputs via Neutrik XLR/TRS combo jacks. Each channel contains switches for 48V phantom power, a low cut filter and phase reversal. Amplification can be set between 6 and 60 dB. LEDs for signal, clip, and activated phantom power give a complete overview on the unit's status. When the special Clip Hold mode is activated, any detected clip-state will cause the corresponding LED to flash once per second. With this, the user gets a long-term peak detection, and no longer needs to constantly watch the LEDs. At the same time momentary overloads are still displayed correctly.

Frontside switches include power on/off and output level, for a choice of -10 dBV, +4 dBu or Hi Gain (+19 dBu) as reference level. This unusual feature offers two advantages. First, the reference level can be easily switched to match any of RME's current interface devices, from HDSP 9632 through Multiface up to the renowned ADI-8 series converters. Second, the Signal to Noise ratio is optimized, and the Clip-LED will exactly match the ones of the ADI-8 (2 dB below 0 dBFS).

The balanced line level output signal is available at the back of the unit via 8 stereo TRS jacks. The specially developed, internal hi-performance switch mode power supply lets the OctaMic II operate in the range of 100V to 240V AC. It is short-circuit-proof, has an integrated line-filter, is fully regulated against voltage fluctuations, and suppresses mains interference.

Top

AD-Conversion

The 8-Channel AD-conversion of the OctaMic II operates at up to 192 kHz. The digitized signal is available simultaneously at the double ADAT output (S/MUX, up to 96 kHz), and at a DB-25 connector (4 AES/EBU outputs, up to 192 kHz). The digital part can be clocked internally (master) and externally via word clock, AES/EBU and SPDIF.

RME's outstanding SteadyClock(TM) ensures perfect AD-conversion, as jitter on the external sync-sources is nearly completely removed. All settings are done via DIP-switches on the back of the OctaMic II. Analog outputs and both digital outputs operate fully simultaneously. The choice of reference level affects the analog outputs only, the signal/clip indication and the AD-conversion will react only to the Gain-pots.


Top

Tech Specs

OctaMic II

8 balanced XLR/TRS mic/line inputs

54 dB gain range

Input impedance: XLR 2 kOhm, TRS 5 kOhm

Analog input level: from -40 dBu up to +21 dBu

Maximum output level: +21 dBu

Output impedance: 75 Ohm

Output level switchable Hi Gain / +4 dBu / -10 dBV

Signal to noise ratio (SNR): 129 dB EIN @ 150 Ohm

THD: < 0.0005 % @ 30 dB Gain

Large frequency range (200 kHz) with special EMI input filtering

Frequency response -0.5 dB: 5 Hz - 200 kHz

Hi-pass filter: 80 Hz, 18 dB/oct.

Line Out: 1/4" TRS (6.3 mm stereo jack), servo-balanced

Phantom power: +48 Volt switchable per channel

Internal wide range switching power supply 100-240 Volt AC

Unbeatable price/performance ratio!

AD conversion

SNR: >110 dB(A)

Supported sample rates: 28 kHz - 200 kHz

THD: < 0.0003 %, < -110 dB

Sync Sources: AES/EBU (also SPDIF coaxial), wordclock, internal

SteadyClock(TM) ensures best sound quality even with jittery external clocks

OctaMic II

Top

Accessories


Top

Add-On

BOB-32 Universal Breakout Box with 2 x 8 XLR to 2 D-sub connectors (supports TASCAM and YAMAHA format), flip-frame case
Top

OctaMic II
  • 8-Kanal
  • Mikrofon-Vorverstärker und AES/ADAT A/D-Wandler
Produkte: OctaMic II
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6

MicPreamps

mehr Informationen

RME OCTAMIC II

OctaMic II

Überblick

Ausstattung

  • 8 x Mic / Line Preamp Input (XLR/Klinke Combibuchse)
  • 8 x Line Output (TRS symmetrisch)
  • 8-fach AD-Wandler (bis 192 kHz)
  • 2 x ADAT Output (S/Mux, bis 96 kHz)
  • 4 x AES/EBU Output (D-Sub, bis 192 kHz)
  • 1 x AES/SPDIF Sync Input
  • Phase, Low Cut und Phantomspeisung pro Kanal
  • Clip Hold Memory

OctaMic II integriert eine 8-kanalige 192 kHz / 24 Bit-Wandlung mit acht hochwertigen Mikrofonkanälen, ausgestattet mit den feinsten Bauteilen und bewährter RME Technologie. Niedrigste Verzerrungen, überragender Rauschabstand und linearster Frequenzgang übertragen und verstärken Mikrofonsignale absolut unverfälscht und garantieren einen unverfälschten Klang.

Der OctaMic II bietet folgende Verbesserungen gegenüber dem bisherigen OctaMic:

Top

Merkmale

OctaMic II bietet 8 symmetrische Mic / Line Eingänge per XLR-Buchse. Jeder Kanal besitzt einzeln schaltbare Phantomspeisung (48V), Trittschallfilter und Phasendrehung. Die Verstärkung ist im Bereich 6 bis 60 dB veränderbar. Nach Aktivierung des speziellen Clip Hold Modus und einer detektierten Übersteuerung beginnt die jeweilige Clip-LED ein Mal pro Sekunde aufzublitzen. Ein solcher Peak-Überwachungsmodus erspart es dem Anwender, ständig auf die Clip-LEDs zu schauen. Trotzdem werden alle akuten Übersteuerungen weiter korrekt angezeigt.

Auf der Front befinden sich unter anderem Schalter für Power und die Wahl des Referenzpegels, der zwischen -10 dBV, +4 dBu und Hi Gain (+19 dBu) wählbar ist. Dieses ungewöhnliche Merkmal bietet zwei Vorteile. Zunächst kann der Referenzpegel sehr einfach auf jedes aktuelle Gerät von RME angepasst werden, von der HDSP 9632 über das Multiface bis hin zu den erstklassigen Konvertern der ADI-8 Serie. Weiterhin wird der Signal-Rauschabstand optimiert, die Clip-LED arbeitet exakt so wie die des ADI-8 (2 dB unter 0 dBFS).

Auf der Rückseite stehen die Mikrofonsignale mit symmetrischem Line-Pegel an 8 Stereo-Klinkenbuchsen bereit. Das speziell für den OctaMic II entwickelte, interne Hi-Performance Schaltnetzteil arbeitet im Bereich 100 V bis 240 V AC. Es ist kurzschlusssicher, besitzt ein integriertes Netzfilter, regelt Netz-Spannungsschwankungen vollständig aus, und unterdrückt Netzstörungen.

Top

A/D-Wandlung

Die 8-kanalige AD-Wandlung des OctaMic II unterstützt bis zu 192 kHz Samplefrequenz. Das digitalisierte Signal ist gleichzeitig an einem doppelten ADAT-Ausgang (S/MUX, bis zu 96 kHz) als auch an einer 25-poligen D-Sub Buchse (4 AES-Ausgänge, bis zu 192 kHz) verfügbar. Der Digitalteil kann intern (Master) und extern von Wordclock, AES/EBU und SPDIF gesynct werden.

RMEs außergewöhnliche SteadyClock(TM) garantiert perfekte AD-Wandlung, da Jitter auf externen Sync-Quellen praktisch komplett beseitigt wird. Alle Einstellungen werden per DIP-Schalter auf der Rückseite des OctaMic II vorgenommen. Analoge und beide digitalen Ausgänge können gleichzeitig genutzt werden. Die Wahl des Referenzpegels beeinflusst nur den analogen Ausgang, Signal-/Clip-Anzeige und AD-Wandlung reagieren nur auf die Gain-Potis.


Top

Technische Daten

OctaMic II

8 symmetrische XLR/Klinke Mic/Line Eingänge

54 dB Gain Range

Eingangsimpedanz: XLR 2 kOhm, Klinke 5 kOhm

Analoger Eingangspegel von -40 dBu bis zu +21 dBu

Maximaler Ausgangspegel +21 dBu

Ausgangsimpedanz: 75 Ohm

Ausgangspegel schaltbar Hi Gain / +4 dBu / -10 dBV

SNR: 129 dB EIN @ 150 Ohm

THD: < 0,0005 % @ 30 dB Gain

Weiter Frequenzbereich (200 kHz) mit spezieller HF-Filterung im Eingang

Frequenzgang -0,5 dB: 5 Hz - 200 kHz

Trittschallfilter: 80 Hz, 18 dB/oct.

Line Out: 6,3 mm Stereoklinke, servosymmetrisch

Phantomspeisung: +48 Volt schaltbar pro Kanal

Internes Weitbereichs-Schaltnetzteil 100-240 Volt

Unübertroffenes Preis/Leistungsverhältnis!

AD-Wandlung

SNR: >110 dB(A)

Unterstützte Samplefrequenzen: 28 kHz - 200 kHz

THD: < 0,0003 %, < -110 dB

Sync-Quellen: AES/EBU (auch SPDIF koaxial), Wordclock, intern

SteadyClock(TM) garantiert beste Klangqualität selbst bei verjitterten externen Clocks

OctaMic II

Top

Zubehör


Top

Optionale Erweiterung

BOB-32 Universelle Breakout Box mit 2 x 8 XLR- auf 2 D-Sub Anschlüssen
Top