M-32 AD / M-16 AD
  • 32- and 16-Channel High-End
  • Analog to MADI/ADAT converters
M-32 AD / M-16 AD
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

MADI & AES/EBU Series

more information

RME M-32 AD / M-16 AD

M-32 AD

Overview

Connectivity

  • M-32 AD: 32 x Analog In
  • M-16 AD: 16 x Analog In
  • 1 x MADI I/O (optical and coaxial)
  • 4 x ADAT Out (TOSLINK)
  • 1 x ADAT In (Sync only)
  • MIDI I/O (5-pin DIN)
  • Word Clock I/O (BNC)

RME's M-32 AD is a 32-channel high-end AD converter, easy to operate yet having a comprehensive feature set. The unit combines excellent analog circuit design with the latest converter chips and RME's superior SteadyClock, resulting in a state-of-the-art AD conversion - 32 times!

The unit's unique set of features includes analog limiters, three hardware reference levels up to +24 dBu, MADI and ADAT I/O up to 192 kHz, 6.3 mm TRS and D-sub inputs, remote control via MIDI, and operation across a wide range of mains voltages, all packed into a 2U enclosure. An extraordinary limiter, conceived and optimised for professional studio, stage, and broadcast applications, offers essential operational safety with its capability to limit an input's overload of up to 17 dB without audible distortion (max. input level + 30 dBu).

The M-32 provides multichannel conversion in reference quality - at an unbeatable price/performance ratio!

Highlights

The M-16 AD is fully identical to the M-32 AD, with these exceptions:

Top

Features

M-32 AD

The M-32 AD offers an outstanding AD conversion to MADI and ADAT formats in a compact 19" unit with only 2U height. The balanced analog inputs based on RME's reference design from the ADI-8 QS guarantee excellent S/N and THD specs across a wide analog level range. Three different hardware levels are available. Using up-to-date converter technology, the device not only works up to 192 kHz, but also reaches a real-world signal-to-noise ratio of 116 dBA - on all channels.

SteadyClock(TM) guarantees perfect sound quality through efficient jitter suppression, making the device completely independent from the quality of external clock signals. Intelligent Clock Control not only displays every clock status by means of flashing LEDs, but will also retain the last valid input sample rate in case of failure of the external source. Other renowned RME technologies like SyncCheck allow quick detection of clock problems.

All M-series converters are fully remote controllable and configurable via MIDI. Each unit's complete status can be monitored, including all the front panel's displays. Individual IDs can be set for each unit, for separated control of multiple units via a single MIDI channel. Control software for Mac and PC is supplied and allows easy remote control, also with MIDI transfer via MADI (MIDI Extender).

M-32 AD and M-16 AD have optical and coaxial MADI inputs. In case of failure of an input signal, the source is switched immediately, if a valid signal is present on the other input.

The M-32 AD's four ADAT outputs provide simple connectivity with other studio equipment. A combination with RME's HDSPe RayDAT makes a perfect partnership, allowing the transfer of 32 channels into a Mac or PC with regular optical Toslink cables at an unbeatable price. The converter's ADAT input only serves as an optional source for external synchronization.

All settings are retained when the unit is powered off.

Top

Stacking

The MADI input serves as optional external clock source, but also as MADI pass-through input. Since the M-32 AD uses only 32* channnels of the MADI signal, unused channels of the input signal are fed through to the output. This way, the signals of two or more units can be combined into one MADI stream of 64 channels, with every unit adding its channels to the input signal, resulting in one line at the output of the last unit.

M-32 AD and M-16 AD can be freely combined up to a total of 64 channels. One M-32 AD can be combined with one or two M-16 AD, as can be up to four M-16 AD. Of course, the units can be synced with sample accuracy by word clock.

Top

Notes

The number of channels that can be achieved with MADI depends on the sample rate range. At 48 kHz there are up to 64 channels, at 96 kHz 32, at 192 kHz 16 channels. Therefore at 192 kHz the M-32 AD can only work as 16 channel converter.

The number of channels that can be achieved with ADAT depends on the sample rate range. At 48 kHz there are 8 channels per port, at 96 kHz 4, at 192 kHz 2 channels. Therefore at 192 kHz the M-32 AD can convert only 8 channels via its four ADAT ports.

Top

Technical Specifications

Input AD: 1/4" TRS jack and 25 pin D-sub, servo balanced, completely symmetrical audio path

Output AD: 4 x ADAT optical, 1 x MADI optical/coaxial

Dynamic Range AD: 113 dB RMS unweighted, 116 dBA

THD AD: < -110 dB (< 0.00032 %)

THD+N AD: < -104 dB (< 0.00063 %)

Crosstalk AD: > 130 dB

Input level for 0 dBFS: +24 dBu, +19 dBu, +13 dBu

Frequency response AD, -0.1 dB: 10 Hz - 23.2 kHz (sf 48 kHz)

Frequency response AD, -0.5 dB: < 5 Hz - 45 kHz (sf 96 kHz)

Frequency response AD, -1 dB: < 5 Hz - 80 kHz (sf 192 kHz)

Sample rates: 44.1, 48, 88.2, 96, 176.4, 192 kHz, variable (Sync/WC)

Jitter: Typical < 1 ns for internal, Word Clock, ADAT and MADI input

Jitter sensitivity: all PLLs operate error-free even at 100 ns

Jitter suppression: > 30 dB (2.4 kHz)

Power supply: Internal switching mode PS, 100V - 240V AC, 60 Watt

Dimensions: (WxHxD) 483 x 88 x 200 mm


M-32 AD

Top

M-32 AD / M-16 AD
  • 32- und 16-Kanal High-End
  • Analog zu MADI/ADAT Wandler
M-32 AD / M-16 AD
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

MADI & AES/EBU Serie

Mehr Information

RME M-32 AD / M-16 AD

M-32 AD

Überblick

Connectivity

  • M-32 AD: 32 x Analog In
  • M-16 AD: 16 x Analog In
  • 1 x MADI I/O (optisch und koaxial)
  • 4 x ADAT Out (TOSLINK)
  • 1 x ADAT In (nur für Synchronisation)
  • MIDI I/O (5-pol. DIN)
  • Wordclock I/O (BNC)

RMEs M-32 AD ist ein 32-kanaliger High-End AD-Wandler mit einfacher Bedienung und doch umfassender Ausstattung. Das Gerät vereint exzellente analoge Schaltungstechnik mit überragenden AD-Wandlern der neuesten Generation, und bietet im Zusammenspiel mit der integrierten SteadyClock eine AD-Wandlung auf höchstem Niveau - 32 mal!

Analoge Limiter, drei Hardware-Referenzpegel bis zu +24 dBu, MADI I/O und ADAT I/O mit bis zu 192 kHz, Eingänge per 6,3 mm Klinkenbuchsen und D-Sub, Fernbedienung über MIDI, Betrieb über einen großen Netzspannungsbereich, sowie ein nur 2 HE hohes Gehäuse machen das Gerät einzigartig. Konzipiert und optimiert für den professionellen Einsatz in Rundfunk, Studio und auf der Bühne, enthält es auch einen außergewöhnlichen Limiter, der eine Übersteuerung des analogen Einganges um bis zu 17 dB ohne hörbaren Klirr zurückregeln kann (maximaler Eingangspegel +30 dBu).

Der M-32 AD bietet Mehrkanalwandlung auf Referenz-Niveau - mit einem unübertroffenen Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis!

Die Highlights:

* Der M-16 AD ist komplett identisch zum M-32 AD. Ausnahmen:

Top

Merkmale

M-32 AD

Der M-32 AD bietet auf nur zwei HE eine außergewöhnliche AD-Wandlung zu ADAT und MADI. Die symmetrischen analogen Eingänge nutzen RMEs Referenzdesign aus dem ADI-8 QS und garantieren damit hervorragende Rausch- und Klirrwerte. Es stehen drei verschiedene Eingangspegel zur Verfügung, um eine optimale Anpassung auf analoger Ebene zu gewährleisten. Als Wandler kommen AD-Wandler der neuesten Generation mit bis zu 192 kHz Samplefrequenz, bei Rauschabständen von 116 dBA, zum Einsatz.

SteadyClock(TM) garantiert aufgrund der effizienten Jitterunterdrückung optimalen Klang unabhängig von der Qualität der externen Clock. Die integrierte Intelligent Clock Control zeigt den aktuellen Clock-Status nicht nur eindeutig an, sondern hält auch bei Ausfall der Clockquelle die zuletzt als gültig erkannte Eingangsfrequenz. Von anderen RME-Produkten bekannte und bewährte Technologien wie SyncCheck sorgen für eine leichte Erkennung von Fehlerzuständen.

Alle Geräte der M-Serie sind komplett per MIDI fernsteuer- und konfigurierbar. Der gesamte Zustand des Gerätes, inklusive der Anzeigen der Frontplatte, ist per MIDI abfragbar. Jedes Gerät kann mit einer eigenen ID versehen werden, was auch eine getrennte Fernsteuerung mehrerer Geräte über nur einen MIDI-Kanal ermöglicht. Dank einer mitgelieferten Software steht einer einfachst zu bedienenden Fernsteuerung auf Windows und Mac Computern nichts im Weg. Gleichzeitig werden MIDI-Daten per MADI übertragen (MIDI Extender).

Der M-32 AD besitzt einen koaxialen und optischen MADI-Eingang. Bei Ausfall eines Signals schaltet die automatische Eingangsumschaltung sofort auf den anderen Eingang um, wenn dort ein gültiges Signal anliegt.

Dank der vier ADAT Ausgänge ist der M-32 AD ohne Probleme an anderes Studio-Equipment anschließbar. Eine unschlagbare Kombination ergibt sich mit RMEs HDSPe RayDAT. Diese Kombo kann mittels preiswerter Lichtleiter 32 Kanäle gleichzeitig in den Mac oder PC transferrieren, zu einem unschlagbar günstigen Preis. Der ADAT-Eingang des M-32 AD dient in diesem Zusammenhang rein zur optionalen externen Taktung des Wandlers.

Alle Einstellungen werden beim Ausschalten gespeichert.

Top

Kaskadierung

Der MADI-Eingang dient sowohl als optionale Clockquelle als auch als Durchschleifeingang. Da der M-32 AD nur 32 Kanäle im MADI-Signal belegt, schleift das Gerät die unbenutzen Kanäle des am Eingang anliegenden Signals durch. Auf dieser Basis arbeitet die serielle Kaskadierung, da die Daten des Gerätes zusammen mit den Eingangsdaten als 64-Kanal MADI Stream in einer Leitung gebündelt am Ausgang des letzen Gerätes zur Verfügung stehen.

M-32 AD und M-16 AD lassen sich bis zum Maximum von 64 Kanälen frei kombinieren: Ein M-32 AD mit einem oder zwei M-16 AD ist genauso möglich wie bis zu vier M-16 AD. Selbstverständlich lassen sich die Geräte per Wordclock samplegenau synchronisieren.

Top

Hinweise

Die mit MADI erzielbare Kanalzahl ist abhängig von der Samplefrequenz. Bei 48 kHz sind es 64, bei 96 kHz 32, bei 192 kHz 16 Kanäle. Damit kann der M-32 AD bei 192 kHz nur als 16-Kanal Wandler arbeiten.

Die mit ADAT erzielbare Kanalzahl ist abhängig von der Samplefrequenz. Bei 48 kHz sind es 8, bei 96 kHz 4, bei 192 kHz 2 Kanäle pro Port. Damit kann der M-32 AD bei 192 kHz über seine vier ADAT Ausgänge maximal 4 x 2 = 8 Kanäle ausgeben.

Top

Technische Daten

Eingang AD: 6,3 mm Stereoklinke und 25 pol. D-Sub, servosymmetrisch, komplett symmetrischer Signalpfad

Ausgang AD: 4 x ADAT optical, 1 x MADI optical/coaxial

Dynamik AD: 113 dB RMS unbewertet, 116 dB(A)

THD AD: < -110 dB (< 0,00032 %)

THD+N AD: < -104 dB (< 0,00063 %)

Überprechdämpfung AD: > 130 dB

Eingangspegel für 0 dBFS: +24 dBu, +19 dBu, +13 dBu

Frequenzgang AD, -0,1 dB: 10 Hz - 23,2 kHz (48 kHz)

Frequenzgang AD, -0,5 dB: < 5 Hz - 45 kHz (96 kHz)

Frequenzgang AD, -1 dB: < 5 Hz - 80 kHz (192 kHz)

Samplefrequenzen: 44.1, 48, 88.2, 96, 176.4, 192 kHz, variabel (Sync/WC)

Jitter: Typisch < 1 ns für intern, Wordclock In, ADAT In und MADI In

Jitter: alle PLLs arbeiten selbst bei 100 ns Jitter störungsfrei

Jitterunterdrückung bei externer Clock: > 30 dB (2,4 kHz)

Stromversorgung: Internes Schaltnetzteil, 100 V - 240 V AC, 60 Watt

Abmessungen (BxHxT): 483 x 88 x 200 mm


M-32 AD

Top