HDSP AES-32
  • 32-Channel 192 kHz
  • AES/EBU PCI card
HDSP AES-32
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

MADI & AES/EBU Series

MADI Info Center

RME Hammerfall DSP AES-32

Overview

Connectivity

  • 16 input channels/ 16 output channels
  • 8 x AES/EBU I/O
  • 2 x MIDI I/O
  • Word Clock I/O
  • TotalMix
  • optional: HDSP TCO
  • optional: BOB-32

The Hammerfall DSP AES-32 is a short-length PCI card with AES/EBU interfaces. It provides eight AES inputs (16 channels) and eight AES outputs (16 channels) at 192 kHz sample rate. The card is also equipped with two MIDI I/O ports, word clock I/O, and can be used with the optional TCO module for synchronization to LTC and video.

The AES-32 is RME's reaction to requests from audio professionals for an AES-based solution with the typical RME features and quality. This audio card is a perfect all-in-one solution for professional users in the fields of broadcast, TV, theater, stage/PA - and in any professional studio.

The cards main board contains word clock I/O and a 25-pin D-sub connector, providing four AES inputs and four AES outputs via standard digital breakout cable (Tascam pinout). The word clock input is galvanically isolated via transformer and operates on Single, Double and Quad Speed signals automatically. The expansion board adds audio channels 9-16 and a connector for a MIDI breakout cable with two MIDI I/Os (four 5-pin DIN connectors). It does not require a PCI slot.

A PCI Express version (HDSPe AES) is available.

Top

Features

HDSP AES-32

The AES-32's remarkable features include:

Thanks to the DSP-based TotalMix mixer, all 16 inputs and 16 playback channels can be routed and mixed to 16 physical outputs freely, offering extraordinary monitoring capabilities. Up to 8 fully independent stereo submixes can be created. Routings can be copied and pasted, faders ganged and grouped, which, along with the amazing matrix window, turns the AES-32 into a powerful and easy-to-use redistributor, patchbay, router, converter, and splitter. The hardware-based mixer is fully MIDI-controllable. Furthermore, the DSP hardware calculates RMS and peak level meters for all 48 audio channels, with no measurable CPU load.

The Time Code Option of the HDSP 9632 can also be used with the AES-32 to sync to LTC and video. Thanks to SteadyClock(TM), the TCO not only extracts absolute positions from these signals, but also a very clean low-jitter word clock.

The card's most important settings are stored on the card itself. Rather than operating in a default mode from the moment the computer is switched on until the driver is loaded, the card will immediately activate the last used sampling rate, master/slave configuration and AES format, thus eliminating any startup noise or problems in the clock network, both at system start and reboot.

An optional 19" breakout box is also available. Its innovative design features XLR I/Os that can be accessed from the front or rear in a rack, according to the user's choice. BOB-32 provides D-sub connectors with Tascam and Yamaha pinout, therefore can be used with other devices as digital rack breakout box as well.

Included software:

Top

Settings

HDSP AES-32

Just click on the hammer symbol in the systray of the taskbar and the settings dialog of the HDSP AES-32 comes up. The clear structured, easy to understand window plus the unique informative status windows for input signal, clock mode and sample rate make your work with Hammerfall DSP to a real pleasure.

When working with several digital sources it is not only necessary to know if these are properly locked, but also if they are totally synchronized. RMEs exclusive SyncCheck SyncCheck
When working with several digital sources it is not only necessary that these are all properly locked, they also have to be totally synchronized. Else drop outs and crackling occurs.
RME's exclusive SyncCheck checks all input signals. In clock mode Master the synchronous operation to the internal clock is checked. This outstanding and unique technology helps to find errors immediately. The actual state of each input is displayed in the settings dialog.
® checks all input signals and displays their actual state, and thanks to our new Intelligent Clock Control (ICC) Intelligent Clock Control (ICC)
Our unique SyncCheck and AutoSync technology has evolved into the new Intelligent Clock Control of the Hammerfall DSP system. HDSP is the only digital I/O-system worldwide capable of measuring and displaying the frequency of all clock sources. Even word clock! Based on validity and current sample rate the system then decides which clock source should be used - fully automated and performed in hardware! With this the HDSP system offers the most easiest handling of the present clocks, although having a lot digital inputs, plus the most advanced support when configuring the clock setup.
  concept you have all clocks and states under control - with ease.

SteadyClock(TM)SteadyClock™, RMEs unique sync and clock technology allows the HDSP AES-32 to control the sample rate freely on its own. The Settings dialog includes a direct choice of the video and audio world's most often used sample rates. Additionally, two faders can be used to set the sample rate freely and in real-time, within the range of +/- 4% and +/- 0.4%.

Up to 3 HDSP AES-32 and HDSP MADI can be used simultaneously, in any possible combination.

Top

Tech Specs

8 buffer sizes/latencies available: 1.5 ms, 3 ms, 6 ms, 12 ms, 23 ms, 46 ms, 93 ms, 186 ms

ASIO zero CPU load technology: 0 (zero!)% CPU load when using ALL channels!

All settings: changeable in real-time

Clock modes: slave and master

Automatic and intelligent master/slave clock control

Enhanced Zero Latency Monitoring for latency-free submixes and perfect ASIO Direct Monitoring

Sync sources: 8 x AES, word clock, internal

Varipitch: by input signal or word clock

Sample rates: 32 kHz up to 192 kHz, variable (Sync/word clock)

Sample rate range: AES: 28 kHz - 204 kHz, word clock: 28 kHz - 204 kHz

Jitter: < 1 ns, internal and all inputs

Jitter sensitivity: PLL operates even at 100 ns Jitter without problems

Comes with DIGICheck: the ultimate measurement, analysis and test tool

Input 8 x AES, 2 x MIDI, word clock (BNC)

Output 8 x AES, 2 x MIDI, word clock (BNC)

Input word clock: BNC, Signal Adaptation Circuit (functional from 1.2 Vpp input signal), termination via jumper

Output word clock: BNC, low-impedance driver stage, 4 Vpp into 75 Ohms, short-circuit-proof

MIDI input and output: via four 5-pin DIN jacks

Top

Optional Add-Ons

HDSP TCO Timecode Option Modul with enhanced Sync options: 1 x Word Clock I/O, 1 x Video Sync Input (alternative to WC In), 1 x LTC I/O
BOB-32 Universal Breakout Box with 2 x 8 XLR to 2 SUB-D connectors (supports TASCAM- and YAMAHA formats), Flip Frame Case
Top

HDSP AES-32
  • 32-Kanal 192 kHz
  • AES/EBU PCI-Karte
HDSP AES-32
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

MADI & AES/EBU Serie

MADI Info Center

mehr Informationen

Awards

Award AES-32

RME Hammerfall DSP AES-32

Überblick

Ausstattung

  • 16 Input-Kanäle/ 16 Output-Kanäle
  • 8 x AES/EBU I/O
  • 2 x MIDI I/O
  • Word Clock I/O
  • TotalMix
  • optional: HDSP TCO (HDSP TCO)
  • optional: Breakout-Box (BOB-32)

Die Hammerfall DSP AES-32 ist eine PCI-Karte in kurzer Baulänge mit AES/EBU-Schnittstellen. Sie stellt bei 192 kHz acht AES/EBU Eingänge (16 Kanäle) und acht Ausgänge (16 Kanäle) bereit. Komplettiert wird die Ausstattung durch zwei MIDI I/O Ports, Wordclock I/O, und das optional erhältliche TCO-Modul zur Synchronisation auf LTC und Video.

Mit der HDSP AES-32 reagiert RME auf Anfragen professioneller User nach einer AES-basierten Lösung in typischer RME-Qualität und mit typischen RME Merkmalen - die optimale Komplettlösung für professionelle Anwender in Rundfunk, Fernsehen, Theater, Bühne/PA - und natürlich in professionellen Studios.

Auf der Hauptplatine befinden sich Wordclock I/O und ein 25-poliger D-Sub Stecker, über den mittels Standard Digital Breakoutkabel (Tascam Pinbelegung) 4 AES/EBU Eingänge (XLR-F) und 4 AES-Ausgänge (XLR-M) zur Verfügung stehen. Der hochempfindliche Wordclock-Eingang verarbeitet Single-, Double oder Quad-Speed Signale vollautomatisch. Die Hauptplatine ist als 8-Kanal I/O Lösung bereits vollständig funktionsfähig. Auf dem separaten Expansionboard befindet sich ein zweiter D-Sub Stecker für die Kanäle 9 bis 16, sowie der Anschluss für das MIDI Breakoutkabel, welches 2 vollständige MIDI Ein- und Ausgänge (4 Buchsen DIN) aufweist. Das Expansionboard benötigt lediglich einen freien Slot-Ausgang am Gehäuse, aber keinen PCI-Steckplatz.

Eine PCI-Express-Variante (HDSPe AES) ist erhältlich.

Top

Merkmale

HDSP AES-32

Die AES-32 weist eine ganze Reihe durchdachter Merkmale und besonderer Eigenschaften auf. Dazu zählen:

Dank des DSP-basierten TotalMix Mischers lassen sich alle 16 Eingänge und 16 Playback-Kanäle vollkommen frei auf alle 16 physikalischen Ausgänge routen und mischen. Damit bietet die AES-32 außergewöhnliche Monitoring-Fähigkeiten. Bis zu 8 vollkommen unabhängige Stereo Submixes sind möglich.

Copy/Paste von Routings, Ganging und gruppenbasiertes Arbeiten mit Fadern, sowie das außergewöhnliche Matrix-Fenster, verwandeln die AES-32 in einen leistungsfähigen und einfach zu bedienenden Redistributor, Patchbay, Router, Konverter und Splitter. Der Hardware-Mischer ist komplett per MIDI fernsteuerbar. Darüber hinaus berechnet die Hardware RMS und Peak Level Meter für alle 48 Audiokanäle, bei kaum messbarer CPU-Belastung.

Die bekannte Time Code Option (TCO) der Hammerfall DSP-Serie zur Synchronisation zu LTC und Video kann auch mit der AES-32 benutzt werden. Dank SteadyClock(TM) extrahiert die Karte aus diesen Signalen nicht nur absolute Positionsangaben, sondern auch eine sehr jitterarme Wordclock.

RME nutzt einen Konfigurationsspeicher für die wichtigsten Settings der Karte. Statt wie bisher üblich vom Einschalten des Rechners bis zum Laden des Treibers in einem Default-Modus zu operieren, aktiviert die AES-32 sofort beim Einschalten die zuletzt benutzte Samplefrequenz, Master/Slave Konfiguration und AES-Format. Damit sind Störgeräusche und Probleme im Clock-Netzwerk auch beim Einschalten oder Neu-Booten des Rechners ausgeschlossen.

Optional ist eine externe Breakoutbox im 19" Zoll Format erhältlich, die durch ein innovatives Design ihre XLR-Anschlüsse wahlweise front- oder rückseitig im Rack zur Verfügung stellt. BOB-32 weist D-Sub Anschlüsse mit Tascam und Yamaha Pinbelegung auf, und kann daher auch mit anderen Geräten als digitale Rack-Breakoutbox genutzt werden.

Als Software wird mitgeliefert:

Top

Settings

HDSP AES-32

Nach einem Klick auf das Hammersymbol im Systray der Taskleiste erscheint der Konfigurationsdialog der HDSP MADI. Der übersichtliche, klar gegliederte Aufbau und die einzigartigen, informativen Statusfenster für Eingangssignal, Clock-Modi und Samplefrequenz machen den Umgang mit der Hammerfall DSP zum reinsten Vergnügen.

Bei mehreren digitalen Eingängen ist es besonders wichtig, nicht nur über die Lock-Zustände, sondern auch über die Synchronität der Signale informiert zu sein. RMEs exklusives SyncCheck SyncCheck
Bei der gleichzeitigen Nutzung mehrerer digitaler Quellen ist es nicht nur wichtig, dass jeder Eingang sauber gelockt ist. Vielmehr müssen die Signale untereinander unbedingt synchron sein, sonst treten Aussetzer und Knackser auf.
RMEs exklusives SyncCheck prüft die Synchronität der Eingangssignale untereinander. Im Clock Mode Master wird die Synchronität zur internen Clock geprüft. Dieses weltweit einmalige Verfahren erleichtert die Fehlersuche enorm, der aktuelle Zustand wird pro Eingang im Settingsdialog in Klartext ausgegeben.
® prüft alle Eingänge und gibt das Ergebnis in Klartext aus, und dank Intelligent Clock Control (ICC) Intelligent Clock Control (ICC)
Die konsequente Weiterentwicklung unserer einmaligen SyncCheck- und AutoSync-Technologie findet sich in der neuen Intelligent Clock Control. Das Gerät zeigt mit Hilfe blinkender LEDs jeden Clock-Status nicht nur eindeutig an, sondern hält auch bei Ausfall der Clockquelle die zuletzt als gültig erkannte Eingangsfrequenz. Damit bieten RME-Interfaces trotz zahlreicher digitaler Eingänge einen kinderleichten Umgang mit den zur Verfügung stehenden Clocks, sowie eine bestmögliche Unterstützung beim korrekten Clock-Setup.
  haben Sie Clock-Einstellungen und Synchronisation jederzeit im Griff.

HDSP AES-32 ist mit SteadyClock(TM), RMEs einmaliger Sync-Clock-Technologie ausgerüstet. Damit wird das Gerät zur idealen Sync-Referenz für das ganze Studio: SteadyClock frischt Clock-Signale auf, entfernt Jitter, und sorgt jederzeit für optimale AD/DA-Wandlung und damit eine sensationelle Klangqualität, vollkommen unabhängig von der Qualität der verwendeten Referenzclock.

Dank SteadyClock kann die HDSP AES-32 ihre Samplefrequenz selbst frei bestimmen. Der DDS Dialog erlaubt eine direkte Anwahl der für Audio und Video gebräuchlichsten Samplefrequenzen. Zusätzlich kann die Samplefrequenz über zwei Schieberegler im Bereich +/- 4% vollkommen frei und in Echtzeit verändert werden.

Es können bis zu 3 HDSP AES-32 und HDSP MADI gleichzeitig benutzt werden - in beliebiger Kombination.

Top

Technische Daten

ASIO Zero CPU Load Technologie: 0 (Null!)% CPU Belastung selbst bei der Nutzung aller 32 Kanäle!

Alle Einstellungen in Echtzeit änderbar

Clock-Modi Slave und Master

Automatische und intelligente Master/Slave Clocksteuerung

Enhanced ZLM für latenzfreie Submixe und perfektes ASIO Direct Monitoring

Sync-Quellen: 8 x AES, Wordclock, Intern

Varipitch: per Eingangssignal oder Wordclock

Samplefrequenzen: 32 kHz bis 192 kHz, variabel (Sync/Wordclock)

Sample Rate Range: AES: 28 - 204 kHz, Wordclock: 28 kHz - 204 kHz

Jitter: < 1 ns, intern und alle Eingänge

Jitter-Empfindlichkeit: PLL arbeitet selbst bei 100 ns Jitter störungsfrei

Enthält DIGICheck: Einzigartiges Mess-, Analyse- und Test-Tool

Eingang 8 x AES, 2 x MIDI, Wordclock (BNC)

Ausgang 8 x AES, 2 x MIDI, Wordclock (BNC)

Eingang Wordclock: BNC, Signal Adaptation Circuit (arbeitet ab 1,2 Vss), Terminierung per Jumper

Ausgang Wordclock: BNC, niederohmige Treiberstufe, 4 Vss an 75 Ohm, Kurzschlussfest

MIDI Ein- und Ausgang: je 2 x 5-pol DIN Buchse

Top

Zubehör

BO25MXLR4M4F3: Digitales Breakout-Kabel AES/EBU, 3 m

BO25MXLR4M4F6: Digitales Breakout-Kabel AES/EBU, 6 m


Top

Optionale Erweiterungen

HDSP TCO Timecode Option Modul mit erweiterten Sync-Fähigkeiten für HDSP-Karten: 1 x Wordclock I/O, 1 x Video Sync Input (alternativ zu WC In), 1 x LTC I/O
BOB-32 Universelle Breakout Box mit 2 x 8 XLR- auf 2 SUB-D-Anschlüsse
Top