DMC-842
  • 24-Bit/192kHz 8-Channel
  • AES42 Interface for Digital Microphones
dmc_842
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

MicPreamps

more information

Case studies

RME DMC-842

DMC-842

Overview

Connectivity

  • 8 x AES42 Input (XLR)
  • 8 x Analog Output (XLR)
  • 4 x AES/EBU Out (8 channels @ 192 kHz)
  • 2 x ADAT Out (8 channels @ 96 kHz)
  • MIDI I/O
  • Word clock I/O
  • Com Port I/O (RS-232 via 9-pin D-Sub)
  • optional: MADI I/O (I 64 MADI Card)

The DMC-842 is both an 8-Channels AES42 interface as well as a controller for digital microphones. The unique device allows for connection and control of up to 8 digital microphones, and converting their signals to ADAT, AES/EBU, analog and (optional) MADI. Eight individually switchable hi-end sample rate converters offer a flexible clocking and further usage options, especially as the inputs are compatible to AES3 and AES/EBU too.

When developing the DMC-842, RME worked closely with the microphone manufacturers to secure maximum compatibility and best functionality. As a result the DMC-842 is the most flexible and most compatible AES42 interface available - a true milestone for the broad acceptance of the new digital microphone technology.

The DMC-842 is fully remote controllable, via MIDI, AES and (optional) MADI. The optional I64 MADI Card provides serial pass-through capability from one DMC-842 to the next (up to 8). All up to 64 audio signals are then available at the last device on one single line. Such a way of cascading is also possible with the Micstasy and the ADI-8 QS. The signals passed through the DMC-842 are available at the analog outputs, making an expensive splitter box on stage obsolete.

Overview of the DMC-842's most important features:

Top

Features


DMC-842

In a standard 19" box with 2 unit height the device offers numerous extraordinary features like Intelligent Clock Control (ICC) Intelligent Clock Control (ICC)
Our unique SyncCheck and AutoSync technology has evolved into the new Intelligent Clock Control of the Hammerfall DSP system. HDSP is the only digital I/O-system worldwide capable of measuring and displaying the frequency of all clock sources. Even word clock! Based on validity and current sample rate the system then decides which clock source should be used - fully automated and performed in hardware! With this the HDSP system offers the most easiest handling of the present clocks, although having a lot digital inputs, plus the most advanced support when configuring the clock setup.
 , SyncCheck SyncCheck
When working with several digital sources it is not only necessary that these are all properly locked, they also have to be totally synchronized. Else drop outs and crackling occurs.
RME's exclusive SyncCheck checks all input signals. In clock mode Master the synchronous operation to the internal clock is checked. This outstanding and unique technology helps to find errors immediately. The actual state of each input is displayed in the settings dialog.
®, SteadyClock, MultiMode, MIDI over MADI, and remote control via MADI and MIDI.

The technologies known from other RME products like SyncCheck® ensure perfect synchronization and clear detection of errors. Also multiple units can be stacked and operated sample-aligned, using word clock. All settings are stored when the unit is switched off.

The DMC-842 can be fully remote controlled and configured via MIDI, and all status displays can be queried through MIDI. Each DMC-842 can be given a separate ID, allowing separate remote controllability of various devices with only one MIDI channel.

RME's SteadyClock(TM) guarantees excellent clock quality in any situation. Due to the highly efficient jitter reduction, the DMC-842's DA-converters operate independently from the quality of the external clock signal, as if they are working with internal clock all the time - guaranteeing a pristine sound quality! Additionally Intelligent Clock Control (ICC) will retain the last valid sample frequency in case of a loss of the input signal.

Top

AES42

The DMC-842 operates as power supply and control device for digital microphones, supporting the AES42 standard. The operating modes defined in AES42, Mode 1 and Mode2, are supported individually per input. Mode 1 defines an asynchronous operation. Working with several Mode 1 microphones requires the use of sample rate converters, which are included in the DMC-842. Mode 2 allows for a synchronized operation. In both modes control data can be sent to and status data can be received from the microphone. These can settings for gain, polar patterns, hi-pass filter and compression. Further functions are already specified in the AES42 standard, but availability depends on the individual microphone. All microphone parameters are directly accessible from the unit's front panel.

As Digital Phantom Power can be switched on or off on individual channels, the DMC-842 can also handle 'standard' AES3 and AES/EBU signals at the same time. Using the built-in sample rate converters, these can even be asynchronous.

In many respects, the DMC-842 is an ideal companion to RME's Micstasy. Using the same interface connections as found in the Micstasy (ADAT S/MUX and AES/EBU built-in, MADI optional) it ensures problem-free set-up of combined systems for both analog and digital microphones. The DMC-842 even includes analog line level outputs, so a mixed setup with purely analog devices (for example for monitoring purposes) poses no problems.

Top

Remote Software

The included Windows software DMC-Control can use any existing MIDI port within the system to perform remote control and status requests of any number of DMC-842s via a simple mouse click. The latest version of the program can be downloaded for free from the RME website. The program is self-explanatory and very easy to use. It manages up to 8 DMC-842 simultaneously. Names can be assigned to all channels and all devices. DMC-Control not only offers a remote-access to all front panel settings, but also a comfortable configuration of the Setup menu, and direct access to the AES42 features of the connected microphones.

Top

Optional: I64 MADI Card

I64 MADI Card

The I64 MADI Card provides the DMC-842 with a 64-Channel MADI input and output. Coaxial and optical output operate in parallel to the AES/EBU and ADAT output, therefore deliver the same data.

The I64 MADI Card features an optical as well as a coaxial MADI input. The input is switched automatically, according to where a valid input signal is detected. Full redundancy is ensured by the automatic input switching, immediately changing to the other input in case of loss of the input signal.

The MADI input will operate as an optional clock source (Clock section, OPTN) as well as a thru-input. Since each DMC-842 uses only 8 channels, up to 56 channels can be passed through. This technique is used to serially cascade several DMC-842. Incoming MADI data is passed through unchanged, only one block of eight channels is replaced. This allows up to 8 devices to be connected serially. All 64 combined channels are available at the last device's MADI output.

With an installed I64 MADI Card the DMC-842 can be remote controlled via MADI. At the same time MIDI data are transmitted via MADI.

When multiple devices are connected serially, the MADI I/O of each DMC-842 causes a delay of 3 samples. Therefore at the MADI output of the last device, the data of all upstreamed devices are delayed. The problem of this offset is solved by the function Delay Compensation.

Using the I64 MADI Card provides the ability of 8 channels being used as return path, sending audio via MADI to the DMC-842's ADAT, AES and analog outputs. For example stage and studio monitors can be fed from the DMC-842. The MADI output continues to carry the analog input signals and the fed-through input data.

Top

Technical Specifications

Schematic view


Inputs: 8 x XLR (AES42, AES3 compatible), 1 x D-sub (AES sync)

Outputs digital: 4 x AES/EBU via 25-pin D-sub, 2 x ADAT optical, optional MADI

Outputs analog: 8 x XLR, balanced, up to +24 dBu

Signal to Noise ratio DA (SNR): 116 dB RMS unweighted, 119 dB(A)

THD DA: < -104 dB (< 0.00063%)

THD+N DA: < -100 dB (< 0.001%)

Crosstalk DA: < 110 dB

Output level @ 0 dBFS: +24 dBu, +19 dBu, +13 dBu

Frequency response DA, -0.5 dB: 5 Hz - 22 kHz (sf 48 kHz)

Frequency response DA, -0.5 dB: < 5 Hz - 34 kHz (sf 96 kHz)

Frequency response DA, -1 dB: < 5 Hz - 50 kHz (sf 192 kHz)

Sync sources: Internal, AES, word, Option (MADI)

Sample frequencies: 44.1 kHz, 48 kHz, 88.2 kHz, 96 kHz, 176.4 kHz, 192 kHz, variable (external clocks)

Sample rate range: MADI: 32 - 192 kHz, word clock: 27 kHz - 200 kHz, AES: 28 kHz - 200 kHz

Jitter: Typical < 1 ns for internal, word clock, AES and MADI input

Jitter suppression: >30 dB (2.4 kHz)

Jitter sensitivity: all PLLs operate error-free even at 100 ns

Power supply: Internal switching mode PS, 100V - 240V AC, 60 Watt

Dimensions: (WxHxD) 483 x 88 x 200 mm

Warranty: 2 years


DMC-842
Top

DMC-842
  • 24-Bit/192kHz 8-Kanal
  • AES42 Interface für digitale Mikrofone
Produkte: DMC-842
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

MicPreamps

mehr Informationen

Case Studies (EN)

RME DMC-842

DMC-842

Überblick

Ausstattung

  • 8 x AES42 Input (XLR)
  • 8 x Analog Output (XLR)
  • 4 x AES/EBU Out (8 Kanäle @ 192 kHz)
  • 2 x ADAT Out (8 Kanäle @ 96 kHz)
  • MIDI I/O
  • Wordclock I/O
  • Com Port I/O (RS-232 via 9-pin D-Sub)
  • optional: MADI I/O (I64 MADI Card)

Der DMC-842 ist sowohl 8-kanaliges AES42-Interface als auch Controller für digitale Mikrofone. Das in seiner Art einzigartige Gerät erlaubt Anschluss und Kontrolle von bis zu 8 digitalen Mikrofonen, und die Ausgabe ihrer Signale in den Formaten ADAT, AES/EBU, analog und (optional) MADI. Acht einzeln zuschaltbare Hi-End Sample Rate Converter sorgen für flexibles Clocking und zusätzliche Einsatzmöglichkeiten, insbesondere da die Eingänge auch kompatibel zu AES3 und AES/EBU sind.

Bei der Entwicklung des DMC-842 hat RME eng mit den Mikrofonherstellern zusammengearbeitet, um eine maximale Kompatibilität und optimale Funktion sicherzustellen. Im Ergebnis ist der DMC-842 das derzeit flexibelste und kompatibelste AES42-Interface am Markt - ein echter Meilenstein für eine breit gefächerte Akzeptanz der neuen digitalen Mikrofonie.

Der DMC-842 ist vollständig fernsteuerbar, sowohl über MIDI und AES als auch optional über MADI. Die optionale MADI I/O Card erlaubt auch ein Durchschleifen des MADI-Signals von einem DMC-842 zum nächsten (bis zu 8). Die gesamten bis zu 64 Audiosignale stehen dann am letzten Gerät auf nur einer Leitung zur Verfügung. Eine derartige Kaskadierung ist auch mit den Produkten Micstasy und ADI-8 QS möglich. Das durch den DMC-842 geleitete Signal kann über die analogen Ausgänge ausgegeben werden, und erspart damit auf der Bühne eine teure Splitterbox.

Die wichtigsten Features des DMC-842 im Überblick:

Top

Merkmale


DMC-842

In einem Standard 19" Gehäuse mit 2 HE Höhe bietet das Gerät zahlreiche außergewöhnliche Merkmale, wie Intelligent Clock Control (ICC) Intelligent Clock Control (ICC)
Die konsequente Weiterentwicklung unserer einmaligen SyncCheck- und AutoSync-Technologie findet sich in der neuen Intelligent Clock Control. Das Gerät zeigt mit Hilfe blinkender LEDs jeden Clock-Status nicht nur eindeutig an, sondern hält auch bei Ausfall der Clockquelle die zuletzt als gültig erkannte Eingangsfrequenz. Damit bieten RME-Interfaces trotz zahlreicher digitaler Eingänge einen kinderleichten Umgang mit den zur Verfügung stehenden Clocks, sowie eine bestmögliche Unterstützung beim korrekten Clock-Setup.
 , SyncCheck SyncCheck
Bei der gleichzeitigen Nutzung mehrerer digitaler Quellen ist es nicht nur wichtig, dass jeder Eingang sauber gelockt ist. Vielmehr müssen die Signale untereinander unbedingt synchron sein, sonst treten Aussetzer und Knackser auf.
RMEs exklusives SyncCheck prüft die Synchronität der Eingangssignale untereinander. Im Clock Mode Master wird die Synchronität zur internen Clock geprüft. Dieses weltweit einmalige Verfahren erleichtert die Fehlersuche enorm, der aktuelle Zustand wird pro Eingang im Settingsdialog in Klartext ausgegeben.
®, SteadyClock, MultiMode, MIDI over MADI, sowie Fernbedienung über MADI und MIDI.

Die von anderen RME-Produkten bekannten und bewährten Technologien wie SyncCheck® sorgen für eine leichte Erkennung von Fehlerzuständen. Selbstverständlich lassen sich beliebig viele Geräte kaskadieren und per Wordclock Samplegenau synchronisieren. Alle Einstellungen werden beim Ausschalten gespeichert.

Der DMC-842 ist komplett per MIDI fernsteuer- und konfigurierbar. Der gesamte Zustand des Gerätes, inklusive der Anzeigen der Frontplatte, ist per MIDI abfragbar. Jeder DMC-842 kann mit einer eigenen ID versehen werden, was auch eine getrennte Fernsteuerung mehrerer Geräte über nur einen MIDI-Kanal ermöglicht.

RMEs SteadyClock(TM) garantiert exzellentes Verhalten in allen Clock-Modi. Aufgrund der effizienten Jitterunterdrückung arbeiten die DA-Wandler im DMC-842 unabhängig von der Qualität der externen Clock so als würden sie mit interner Clock betrieben - bester Klang garantiert! Zusätzlich sorgt Intelligent Clock Control (ICC) bei einem Ausfall des Eingangssignales für ein Halten der zuletzt als gültig erkannten Samplefrequenz.

Top

AES42

Der DMC-842 arbeitet als Speise- und Steuergerät für digitale Mikrofone und unterstützt den weltweit gültigen AES42-Standard. Die in AES42 spezifizierten Betriebsarten, Mode 1 und Mode 2, werden unabhängig pro Eingang unterstützt. Mode 1 definiert eine asynchrone Betriebsart. Bei Einsatz mehrerer Mikrofone werden Abtastratenwandler (SRCs) benötigt, die im DMC-842 bereits vorhanden sind. Mode 2 bietet die Möglichkeit Mikrofone zu synchronisieren. In beiden Modi können Steuerdaten zum Mikrofon gesendet und Statusdaten empfangen werden. Dies können Gain- und Richtcharakteristik-Einstellungen sein, aber auch Hochpass-Filter- und Kompressor-Einstellungen. Weitere Funktionen sind bereits im AES42 Standard beschrieben und je nach Mikrofon verfügbar. Alle Mikrofonparameter sind am Gerät direkt zugänglich und einstellbar.

Da Digital Phantom Power pro Kanal ein- oder ausgeschaltet werden kann, ist das DMC-842 auch in der Lage, gleichzeitig 'normale' AES3- und AES/EBU-Signale zu verarbeiten, die, dank der eingebauten Samplerate-Converter sogar asynchron sein können.

Der DMC-842 stellt in vieler Hinsicht die ideale Ergänzung zu RMEs Micstasy dar: Die Verfügbarkeit der gleichen Schnittstellen des Micstasy (ADAT S/MUX und AES/EBU serienmäßig, MADI und weitere Formate optional) unterstützt den problemlosen Aufbau kombinierter Systeme für analoge und digitale Mikrofone. Der DMC-842 hält sogar analoge Linepegel-Ausgänge bereit, so dass der gemischte Einsatz in Zusammenarbeit mit rein analogen Geräten, wie z.B. für Monitoring, keine Schwierigkeiten bereitet.

Top

Remote Software

Die mitgelieferte Software DMC-Control erlaubt über einen beliebigen MIDI-Port eine Fernsteuerung und Statusabfrage aller DMC-842 per Mausklick. Die aktuellste Version des Programmes kann kostenlos von der RME Website heruntergeladen werden. Das Programm ist selbsterklärend und sehr einfach zu bedienen. Es verwaltet bis zu 8 DMC-842 gleichzeitig. Für alle Kanäle und Geräte lassen sich Namen vergeben. DMC-Control gestattet nicht nur einen Remote-Zugriff auf alle Front-Einstellungen des Gerätes, sondern auch eine komfortable und übersichtliche Einstellung des Setup Menüs, sowie direkten Zugriff auf die AES42-Parameter der angeschlossenen Mikrofone.

Top

Optional: I64 MADI Card

I64 MADI Card

Die I64 MADI Card versieht den DMC-842 mit einem 64-kanaligen MADI Ein- und Ausgang. Koaxialer und optischer Ausgang arbeiten parallel zum AES/EBU und ADAT Ausgang, geben also die gleichen Daten aus.

Die I64 MADI Card weist je einen MADI-Eingang Koaxial und Optisch auf. Die Eingangsumschaltung erfolgt automatisch auf Basis eines erkannten und gültigen Eingangssignales. Redundanz wird ebenfalls unterstützt, da bei Ausfall eines Signals die automatische Eingangsumschaltung sofort auf den anderen Eingang umschaltet.

Der MADI-Eingang dient einerseits als optionale Clockquelle (Sektion Clock, OPTN), aber auch als Durchschleifeingang. Da der DMC-842 nur 8 Kanäle belegt, schleift die I64 MADI Card bis zu 56 Kanäle durch. Auf dieser Basis arbeitet die serielle Kaskadierung der DMC-842. Eingehende Daten werden 1:1 zum Ausgang durchgeschleift, nur ein Achterblock wird durch die Daten des DMC-842 ersetzt. Auf diese Weise lassen sich bis zu 8 DMC-842 per MADI seriell verkabeln. Am Ausgang des achten Gerätes stehen dann 64 Kanäle DMC-842 gebündelt in einer Leitung zur Verfügung.

Mit der I64 MADI Card wird der DMC-842 auch über MADI fernsteuerbar. Gleichzeitig werden MIDI-Daten per MADI übertragen.

Bei serieller Verkabelung verursacht der MADI I/O jedes DMC-842 eine Verzögerung um 3 Samples. Demzufolge sind im MADI Datenstrom des letzten Gerätes die Daten aller vorgeschalteten Geräte verzögert. Das Problem dieses Versatzes löst die Funktion Delay Compensation.

Bei Nutzung der I64 MADI Card stehen optional auch 8 Kanäle als Rückweg zur Verfügung, um Audio per MADI an den DMC-842 zu senden und per ADAT, AES oder analog auszugeben. So können beispielsweise Bühnen- oder Studiomonitore mit dem DMC-842 angesteuert werden. Am MADI-Ausgang stehen in diesem Modus weiterhin das analoge Eingangssignal sowie die durchzuschleifenden Daten an.

Top

Technische Daten

Blockschaltbild

Eingänge: 8 x XLR (AES42, AES3 kompatibel), 1 x per D-Sub (AES für Sync)

Ausgänge digital: 4 x AES/EBU per 25-pol D-Sub, 2 x ADAT optical, optional MADI

Ausgänge analog: 8 x XLR, symmetrisch, bis +24 dBu

Rauschabstand DA (SNR): 116 dB RMS unbewertet, 119 dB(A)

THD DA: < -104 dB (< 0,00063%)

THD+N DA: < -100 dB (< 0,001%)

Übersprechdämpfung DA: > 110 dB

Ausgangspegel bei 0 dBFS: +24 dBu, +19 dBu, +13 dBu

Frequenzgang DA, -0,5 dB: 5 Hz - 22 kHz (sf 48 kHz)

Frequenzgang DA, -0,5 dB: < 5 Hz - 34 kHz (sf 96 kHz)

Frequenzgang DA, -1 dB: < 5 Hz - 50 kHz (sf 192 kHz)

Sync-Quellen: Intern, AES, Wordclock, Option (MADI)

Samplefrequenzen: 44,1 kHz, 48 kHz, 88,2 kHz, 96 kHz, 176,4 kHz, 192 kHz, variabel (externe Clocks)

Sample Rate Range: MADI: 32 - 96 kHz, Wordclock: 27 kHz - 200 kHz, AES: 28 kHz - 200 kHz

Jitter: Typisch < 1 ns für intern, Wordclock In, AES In und MADI In

Jitterunterdrückung bei externer Clock: > 30 dB (2,4 kHz)

Jitter-Empfindlichkeit: alle PLLs arbeiten selbst bei 100 ns Jitter störungsfrei

Stromversorgung: Internes Schaltnetzteil, 100 V - 240 V AC, 60 Watt

Maße (BxHxT) 483 x 88 x 200 mm

Garantie: 2 Jahre


DMC-842

Top