Advanced Remote Control USB
  • Remote Control for
  • UFX+, UFX II & TotalMix FX devices
ARC USB
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Accessories

more information

RME Advanced Remote Control USB

Advanced Remote Control USB

Supported Interfaces

  • Fireface UFX+ (directly)
  • Fireface UFX II (directly)
  • All devices with TotalMix FX (via computer)

Overview

This wired remote has been designed for direct access to the most frequently used actions and commands of TotalMix FX, being an indispensable tool in the studio's daily applications. Its extremely flexible configuration through TotalMix FX will simplify workflow and greatly increase the usability of the RME interface in most real world situations.

The ARC USB is a USB 1.1 (UAC1) MIDI remote control, natively compatible to Windows and Mac OS X. As soon as it is present in the operating system TotaIMix FX will detect it and communicate with it, without disturbing other remote controls. Therefore it is also not necessary to switch the ARC USB on or off within TotalMix FX - it will just work. And because it communicates with TotalMix FX (via USB) it is compatible to all RME audio interfaces that are detected and supported by TotalMix FX. This goes back to RME interfaces released 2001!

As soon as the ARC USB is connected to a computer any button press or wheel turning will cause the respective action performed by TotalMix FX - and therefore also by the RME audio interface.

With the UFX+ and UFX II the ARC USB can also be connected directly to these devices, currently the only RME interfaces having an internal USB 1.1 host with matching connector. This way of connecting is handy in stand-alone mode, where the ARC USB is also supported by the UFX+ and UFX II.

The ARC USB is bus powered, but draws only little current. Also it uses USB 1.1 as bus standard, which these days is uncritical due to its lower frequency and speed demands. USB 2 cables with 5 meter to 10 meter length, and cheap USB 2 cable extensions that usually make a bus-powered interface fail will work perfectly for the ARC USB. Still at higher lengths RME recommends to use active USB 2 cables (also called extension or repeater cables), which are not expensive and work over lengths of more than 20 meters.

The ARC USB can control several interfaces simultaneously, which happens automatically as the Key Commands dialog in TotalMix FX is specific to the currently selected audio interface. Just assign only the functions that are desired for each respective interface. After that the ARC USB keys and the encoder wheel remote the respective interface where they have been assigned to, without the need to further switch or select anything in normal operation.


The lower three keys have a useful diagnostic functionality.

Talkback: is lit dim as soon as the ARC USB is running on 5 V USB bus power.

Speaker B: is lit dim as soon as a USB communication is possible.

DIM: is lit dim as soon as a communication with TotalMix FX is established.

Therefore in normal operation all three lower keys are lit dim constantly.


The ARC USB comes with a standard set of Key Commands that already cover most usage scenarios, printed directly beneath the keys:

Row 1 and 2: activating Snapshots 1 to 8.

Row 3: Mono, Volume Phones 1, Volume Phones 2, External Input

Lower keys: Talkback, Speaker B, Dim.

A set of stickers with all currently available TotalMix FX commands is included. These can be used to label all keys reflecting the current user configuration.

The rotary encoder wheel is used to change various parameters, like gain and volume. It is pro-grammable in TotalMix FX as well.

Top

Configuration of the ARC USB

ARC USB Setup


The Advanced Remote Control is configured in the Options menu via the Key Commands dialog of TotalMix FX, tab ARC USB Settings. As the ARC does not have any memory, all configuration and storage is done via TotalMix FX. All settings of the ARC USB are stored within a Workspace, and are therefore identical in all Snapshots of that current Workspace.

More than 36 different commands can be assigned to the 15 keys. The behaviour of each individual button can be changed between push, toggle, enable and disable, depending on the base function.

Current list of available functions:

- No Funktion
- Global Mute
- Global Solo
- Mute Group 1 to 4
- Solo Group 1 to 4
- Fader Group 1 to 4
- Link Main AB
- Speaker B Select
- DIM (Main Out)
- Mute (Main Out)
- Mute FX (Main Out)
- Mono (Main Out)
- Talkback
- External Input
- Reverb
- Echo
- Cue Phones 1 to 4
- Snapshot 1 to 8
- Layout Preset 1 to 8
- Volume Main
- Volume Phones 1 to 4
- Mic Gain 1, Mic Gain 2, Mic Gain 1+2
- Inst. Gain 3, Inst. Gain 4, Inst. Gain 3+4
- Mic/Inst. Gain 9, Mic/Inst. Gain 10, Mic/Inst. Gain 9+10
- Mic/Inst. Gain 11, Mic/Inst. Gain 12, Mic/Inst. Gain 11+12

 

 

Some commands are not available at certain interfaces, or slightly changed due to different functionality. Fireface UFX, UFX II and UFX+ have additional commands for DURec: Record, Play and Stop.

Several functions can be activated at the same time. Example: Button 1 is set to Cue Phones 1. That means the phones submix is heard via the Main output (the studio monitors). To be able to also change the volume of the phones submix itself, set button 2 to Volume Phones 1. Activating both will allow you to listen to the phones submix via the main output, and also to change its volume (the fader in the third row) by turning the encoder knob.

A standard footswitch (with switch, sustain pedals with pot are not supported) can be connected to the 1/4" TS jack on the left side. In Key Commands Settings the same options are available for the footswitch as for the 15 keys.

Top

ARC USB and UFX+ / UFX II in Stand-Alone Mode

In stand-alone mode of Fireface UFX+ / UFX II a fixed set of functions is activated on the keys:

Row 1: Setup 1-4
Row 2: Setup 5-6 x x
Row 3: Mono, Volume Phones 1, Volume Phones 2, DIM

Lower keys: DURec: Rec, Play/Pause, Stop

x = no function

The included stickers also offer the stand-alone layout.

In the UFX+ / UFX II display’s menu the way of operating the ARC USB can be configured for stand-alone mode. Those options are found under SETUP/REV, Options, Hardware/Diagnosis:

Standalone ARC Volume
Deactivates all keys. Only the encoder wheel works, with a fixed assignment to Main Volume.

This option is also a safety function in case the ARC USB is connected to the UFX+ / UFX II, but oper-ated online (with computer). When the system goes offline (computer removed, sleep state…) the functions on the keys change, because online mode changed to stand-alone mode. Operating the keys then could activate unintended functionality or changes.

Standalone ARC 1 s op
Each key has to be pressed for one second to activate the programmed functionality. This safety function prevents unintentional changes. It can be stored within the Setups, activating this mode automatically when such a Setup is loaded. When loading a Setup where this function had not been active this mode is automatically deactivated at the UFX+ / UFX II.

Top

Advanced Remote Control USB
  • Fernsteuerung für
  • UFX+, UFX II & TotalMix FX Geräte
ARC USB
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Accessories

Mehr Informationen

RME Advanced Remote Control USB

Advanced Remote Control USB

Unterstützte Geräte

  • Fireface UFX+ (direkt)
  • Fireface UFX II (direkt)
  • Alle Geräte mit TotalMix FX (via Computer)

Überblick

Diese kabelgebundene Fernbedienung wurde für einen direkten Zugriff auf die meist benötigten Funktionen und Befehle von TotalMix FX entwickelt, als unverzichtbares Hilfsmittel in der täglichen Studio-Praxis. Die extrem flexiblen Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten vereinfachen den Arbeitsablauf und erhöhen den Nutzen des RME Interfaces in den meisten Anwendungsfällen deutlich.

Die ARC USB ist eine USB 1.1 (UAC1) MIDI Remote Control, direkt kompatibel zu Windows und Mac OS X. Sobald sie im Betriebssystem erscheint wird sie von TotaIMix FX detektiert, und kommuniziert mit TotalMix FX, ohne MIDI oder andere Remote Controls zu stören. Daher ist es auch nicht notwendig die ARC USB in TotalMix FX ein- oder auszuschalten, sie wird einfach so funktionieren. Und da sie mit TotalMix FX (über USB) kommuniziert ist sie mit allen RME Audiointerfaces kompatibel, die von TotalMix FX erkannt und unterstützt werden. Dies reicht zurück bis zu RME-Interfaces aus dem Jahr 2001!

Sobald eine ARC USB an einen Computer angeschlossen ist bewirkt jeder Tastendruck und jede Drehung des Knopfes eine entsprechende Reaktion in TotalMix FX – und daher auch vom verwendeten RME-Audiointerface.

Beim UFX+ und UFX II kann die ARC USB statt an den Computer auch direkt an das Gerät angeschlossen werden, da diese beiden als bisher einzige RME-Interfaces einen internen USB 1.1 Host mit passender Buchse besitzen. Diese Anschlussart ist besonders im Stand-Alone Betrieb nützlich, bei dem das UFX+ und auch das UFX II die ARC USB ebenfalls unterstützen.

Die ARC USB ist Bus-Powered, zieht aber vergleichsweise wenig Strom. Außerdem nutzt sie nur USB 1.1, was heutzutage wegen der niedrigen Frequenz und den geringen Anforderungen an Geschwindigkeit vollkommen unkritisch ist. USB2 Kabel mit 5 bis 10 Meter Länge, oder billige USB2 Kabelverlängerungen, die bei manchem per Buspower betriebenen Gerät zu einem Funktionsausfall führen, funktionieren mit der ARC USB. Trotzdem empfiehlt RME bei größeren Längen die Nutzung aktiver USB 2 Kabel (auch Extension oder Repeater Cable genannt), welche nicht teuer sind, und eine korrekte Funktion mit 20 Metern und mehr garantieren.

Die ARC USB steuert auch mehrere Audiointerfaces gleichzeitig. Sie wird über den Dialog Key Commands in TotalMix FX konfiguriert. Dieser Dialog gilt für das jeweils ausgewählte Audiointerface. Weisen Sie einfach jedem Interface nur die Funktionen zu die es jeweils auf der ARC USB haben soll. Danach steuern die Taster und der Drehgeber der ARC USB jeweils das Interface für welches sie konfiguriert wurden, ohne im normalen Betrieb noch etwas umschalten oder auswählen zu müssen.


Die unteren 3 Tasten besitzen zusätzlich eine nützliche Diagnosefunktion:

Talkback: leuchtet schwach sobald die ARC USB mit 5 Volt USB Buspower versorgt wird.

Speaker B: leuchtet schwach wenn eine USB Kommunikation stattfindet.

DIM: leuchtet schwach wenn eine Kommunikation mit TotalMix FX stattfindet.

Daher sind im Normalfall alle drei Taster dauerhaft schwach erleuchtet.


Die ARC USB kommt mit einem Standardsatz an Tastenbefehlen, welcher die meisten Anwendungsfälle abdeckt. Diese sind unterhalb der Taster aufgedruckt:

Reihe 1 und 2: Aufruf der Snapshots 1 bis 8

Reihe 3: Mono, Volume Phones 1, Volume Phones 2, External Input

Untere Tasten: Talkback, Speaker B, Dim

Im Lieferumfang befinden sich Aufkleber mit den Namen aller verfügbaren Funktionen, so dass auch bei individueller Konfiguration alle Taster korrekt beschriftet bleiben.

Der Drehgeber (Encoder) dient zur Einstellung verschiedener Parameter, wie Gain und Volume. Auch er ist in TotalMix FX konfigurierbar.

Top

Konfiguration der Advanced Remote Control USB

ARC USB Setup


Die Konfiguration erfolgt im Menü Options, Key Commands von TotalMix FX, Reiter ARC USB Settings. Da die ARC keinen internen Speicher besitzt erfolgt Konfiguration und Speicherung über TotalMix FX. Alle Settings der ARC USB werden im Workspace gesichert, und sind daher für alle Snapshots des aktuellen Workspace identisch.

Den 15 Tastern lassen sich mehr als 36 verschiedene Funktionen zuordnen. Das Verhalten der Taster ist einzeln zwischen push, toggle, enable und disable einstellbar, abhängig von der Grundfunktion.

Aktuelle Liste der Funktionen:

- No Funktion
- Global Mute
- Global Solo
- Mute Group 1 to 4
- Solo Group 1 to 4
- Fader Group 1 to 4
- Link Main AB
- Speaker B Select
- DIM (Main Out)
- Mute (Main Out)
- Mute FX (Main Out)
- Mono (Main Out)
- Talkback
- External Input
- Reverb
- Echo
- Cue Phones 1 to 4
- Snapshot 1 to 8
- Layout Preset 1 to 8
- Volume Main
- Volume Phones 1 to 4
- Mic Gain 1, Mic Gain 2, Mic Gain 1+2
- Inst. Gain 3, Inst. Gain 4, Inst. Gain 3+4
- Mic/Inst. Gain 9, Mic/Inst. Gain 10, Mic/Inst. Gain 9+10
- Mic/Inst. Gain 11, Mic/Inst. Gain 12, Mic/Inst. Gain 11+12

 

 

Einige Befehle sind bei diversen Interfaces wegen unterschiedlicher Funktionalität leicht angepasst, oder nicht verfügbar. Fireface UFX und UFX+ besitzen zusätzliche Befehle für DURec: Record, Play und Stop.

Mehrere Funktionen können gleichzeitig aktiv sein. Beispiel: Taster 1 ist Cue Phones 1 zugewiesen. Damit wird der Phones Submix über den Main Out (die Studio-Monitore) hörbar. Um den Pegel des Phones Submix einstellen zu können wird Taster 2 Volume Phones 1 zugewiesen. Sind nun beide aktiv hört man den Phones Submix über den Main Out, und stellt gleichzeitig mit dem Drehgeber den Phones Submix Ausgangspegel (Fader in der dritten Reihe) ein.

Die 6,3 mm Mono-Klinkenbuchse an der linken Seite dient dem, Anschluss eines Fußschalters. Sustain Pedale etc. mit Poti statt Schalter werden nicht unterstützt. In den Key Commands Settings stehen dem Fußschalter die gleichen Befehle zur Verfügung wie den anderen 15 Tastern.

Top

ARC USB am UFX+ / UFX II im Stand-Alone Modus

Im Stand-Alone Modus des Fireface UFX+ / UFX II sind die Taster der ARC USB auf folgende Funktionen fest programmiert:

Reihe 1: Setup 1-4
Reihe 2: Setup 5-6 x x
Reihe 3: Mono, Volume Phones 1, Volume Phones 2, DIM

Tasten unten: DURec: Rec, Play/Pause, Stop

x = unbelegte Taste

Die mitgelieferten Aufkleber enthalten auch die Stand-Alone Belegung.

Im Display des UFX+ / UFX II lässt sich die Art der Bedienung der ARC USB für den Stand-Alone Modus konfigurieren. Die Optionen finden sich unter SETUP/REV, Options, Hardware/Diagnosis:

Standalone ARC Volume
Deaktiviert alle Tasten. Nur der Drehgeber funktioniert, fest zugeordnet zu Main Volume.

Diese Option ist auch eine Sicherheitsfunktion für den Fall dass die ARC USB am UFX+ / UFX II angeschlossen, aber online (mit Computer) betrieben wird. Geht das System offline (Computer wird entfernt, Schlafzustand…) ändern sich die Bedeutungen der Tasten, weil ein Wechsel Online zu Stand-Alone Modus erfolgt, und könnten dadurch bei Betätigung ungewollte Funktionen oder Änderungen auslösen.

Standalone ARC 1 s op
Jede Taste muss für eine Sekunde gedrückt werden, damit die darunter liegende Funktion ausgelöst wird. Diese Sicherheitsfunktion verhindert versehentliche Verstellungen. Sie kann in die Setups mit abgespeichert werden, so dass bei Aufruf eines solchen der Modus automatisch aktiv wird. Wird ein Setup geladen in dem dieser Modus nicht aktiv ist schaltet sich die Funktion am UFX+ / UFX II automatisch aus.

Top