ADI-8 QS
  • 192 kHz 8-Channel High-End
  • AES/EBU.ADAT.MADI AD/DA converter
ADI-8 QS
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6

Audio/Format Converters

more information

Online Reviews

RME ADI-8 QS

ADI-8 QS

Overview

Connectivity

  • 8 x Analog I/O (up to +24 dBu)
  • 4 x AES/EBU I/O (8 channels @ 192 kHz)
  • 2 x ADAT I/O (SMUX and SMUX4)
  • MIDI I/O
  • Word Clock I/O
  • optional MADI I/O (I64 MADI Card)
  • Remote Control (Volume, DIM, Preset)

RME's ADI-8 QS is an 8-Channel hi-end AD/DA converter with an unrivalled bunch of features. The device combines excellent analog circuit design with outstanding low latency AD/DA converter chips of the latest generation. Along with the integrated SteadyClock, the QS offers an AD- and DA-conversion of the highest quality.

Analog and digital limiters, 4 hardware reference levels up to +24 dBu, AES/EBU and ADAT I/O (optional MADI I/O) at up to 192 kHz, remote control via MIDI, digital input and output trimming for full level calibration, volume control for all 8 analog outputs, either separately or globally, digital thru-mode, operation over a wide voltage range and many more features make the QS truely unique.

The ADI-8 QS is RME's reference - highest performance in every detail, at an unbeaten price/performance ratio!

The most important features of the QS:

Top

Features

ADI-8 QS

The 1 U height device offers an outstanding AD/DA conversion from/to AES/EBU and ADAT (MADI optional), at up to 192 kHz. The balanced inputs and outputs use RMEs circuit design, therefore guarantee outstanding noise and distortion values. Four different input and output levels each are available, offering a perfect adaptation to the analog domain. The latest generation AD/DA converters provide samplerates up to 192 kHz with a SNR of 120 dBA.

Due to its efficient jitter reduction, SteadyClock(TM) guarantees pristine sound quality independently from the quality of the external clock signal. Additionally Intelligent Clock Control (ICC) Intelligent Clock Control (ICC)
Our unique SyncCheck and AutoSync technology has evolved into the new Intelligent Clock Control of the Hammerfall DSP system. HDSP is the only digital I/O-system worldwide capable of measuring and displaying the frequency of all clock sources. Even word clock! Based on validity and current sample rate the system then decides which clock source should be used - fully automated and performed in hardware! With this the HDSP system offers the most easiest handling of the present clocks, although having a lot digital inputs, plus the most advanced support when configuring the clock setup.
will retain the last valid sample frequency in case of a loss of the input signal.

The technologies known from other RME products like SyncCheck SyncCheck
When working with several digital sources it is not only necessary that these are all properly locked, they also have to be totally synchronized. Else drop outs and crackling occurs.
RME's exclusive SyncCheck checks all input signals. In clock mode Master the synchronous operation to the internal clock is checked. This outstanding and unique technology helps to find errors immediately. The actual state of each input is displayed in the settings dialog.
® ensure perfect synchronization and clear detection of errors. Multiple units can be stacked and operated sample-aligned, using word clock. All settings are stored when the unit is switched off.

The QS can be fully remote controlled and configured via MIDI, and all status displays can be queried through MIDI. Each QS can be given a separate ID, allowing separate remote controllability of various devices with only one MIDI channel.

The included Hardware Remote Control allows to control the monitoring volume directly from the working place. A reference volume once saved can be recalled anytime, and of course we did not forget to add a DIM function (-20 dB).

Top

Low Latency

In the QS RME uses a high-class AD converter from Cirrus Logic, offering exceptional Signal to Noise and distortion figures. But the biggest difference to all other ADCs out there is its innovative digital filter, achieving for the first time a delay of only 12 samples in Single Speed (0.25 ms), 9 samples in Double Speed (0.09 ms), and 5 (!) samples in Quad Speed (0.026 ms).

These values are less than a quarter of those available from even much more expensive devices. They represent an important step in further reducing the latency in the computer-based recording studio. At DS and QS the added latency can simply be ignored. The DA-converter offers similar conversion in the range of 5 to 10 samples, turning analog digital monitoring into real analog-style monitoring!

Top

Optional: I64 MADI Card

I64 MADI Card

The I64 MADI Card extends the QS with a 64-Channel MADI input and output and a sophisticated digital patch mode.

The card has an optical and a coaxial MADI input, which is switched automatically according to where a valid input signal is detected. This ensures full redundancy by immediately changing to the other input in case of signal loss. Coaxial and optical output operate in parallel, delivering the same data.

MADI can be used as an optional clock source (Clock section, OPTN), as signal source of the DA-converter, target of the AD-converter, and as digital thru. Since each QS converts only 8 channels, up to 56 channels can be passed through. This technique is used to serially cascade several QS converters. Incoming MADI data is passed through unchanged, only one block of eight channels is replaced. This allows up to 8 devices to be connected serially, with all 64 combined channels available at the last device's MADI output. When multiple devices are connected serially, the function Delay Compensation removes sample offsets between the units.

The QS can also be remote controlled via MADI, and send/receive MIDI data via MADI.

Additionally the i64 card enables a digital patch mode, that allows free routing of all I/Os based on blocks of 8 channels (needs i64 MADI card with Sync LEDs and firmware 3.x or up). In this mode, the 8 analog channels, AES, ADAT input 1 and 2, and 8 x MADI are available as input sources for the same number of outputs. The unit then works as digital format converter, rebuilds a MADI signal from various sources, inserts, converts and much more at the same time. Please read the QS manual for more detailed information.

Top

Technical Specifications

Input AD: 1/4" TRS jack and 25 pin D-sub, servo balanced, completely symmetrical audio path

Output AD: 4 x AES/EBU, 2 x ADAT optical, optional MADI

Input DA: 4 x AES/EBU, 2 x ADAT optical, optional MADI

Output DA:1/4" TRS jack servo balanced, up to +21 dBu. 25 pin D-sub, balanced, up to +24 dBu. DC-coupled audio path

Dynamic Range AD: 117 dBA

THD AD: < -110 dB (< 0.00032 %)

THD+N AD: < -104 dB (< 0.00063 %)

Crosstalk AD: > 130 dB

Dynamic Range DA: 120 dBA unmuted

THD DA: < -104 dB (< 0.00063 %)

THD+N DA: < -102 dB (< 0.0008 %)

Crosstalk DA: > 110 dB

Input level for 0 dBFS: +24 dBu, +19 dBu, +13 dBu, +4.2 dBu, each adjustable by 6 dB in steps of 0.5 dB via Digital Input Trim

Output level for 0 dBFS: +24 dBu, +19 dBu, +13 dBu, +4.2 dBu, each adjustable by +/- 6 dB in steps of 0.5 dB

Output level global: 0 down to -96 dB in 48 steps

Sample rates: 44.1 kHz, 48 kHz, 88.2 kHz, 96 kHz, 176.4 kHz, 192 kHz, variable (sync/word)

Frequency response AD/DA, -0.1 dB: 10 Hz - 23.2 kHz (sf 48 kHz)

Frequency response AD/DA, -0.5 dB: < 5 Hz - 44.6 kHz (sf 96 kHz)

Frequency response AD/DA, -1 dB: < 5 Hz - 63.4 kHz (sf 192 kHz)

Power supply: Internal switching mode ps, 100 V-240 V AC

Dimensions (WxHxD) 483 x 44 x 200 mm

Warranty: 2 years


ADI-8 QS

Top

ADI-8 QS
  • 192 kHz 8-Kanal High-End
  • AES.ADAT.MADI AD/DA-Wandler
Produkte: ADI-8 QS
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6

Audio Wandler

mehr Informationen

Online Reviews

RME ADI-8 QS

ADI-8 QS

Überblick

Ausstattung

  • 8 x Analog I/O (bis +24 dBu)
  • 4 x AES/EBU I/O (8 Kanäle @ 192 kHz)
  • 2 x ADAT I/O (8 Kanäle @ 96 kHz)
  • MIDI I/O
  • Wordclock I/O
  • optional: MADI I/O (I64 MADI Card)
  • Remote Controller (Lautstärke, DIM, Preset)

RMEs ADI-8 QS ist ein 8-kanaliger High-End AD/DA-Wandler mit konkurrenzloser Ausstattung. Das Gerät vereint exzellente analoge Schaltungstechnik mit überragenden Low Latency AD/DA-Wandlern der neuesten Generation, und bietet im Zusammenspiel mit der integrierten SteadyClock eine AD- und DA-Wandlung auf allerhöchstem Niveau.

Analoge und digitale Limiter, vier Hardware-Referenzpegel bis zu +24 dBu, AES/EBU und ADAT I/O (optional MADI I/O) mit bis zu 192 kHz, Fernbedienung über MIDI, digitales Input und Output Trimming für volle Pegelkalibrierung, Lautstärkeeinstellung gesamt und gesamt relativ für alle 8 analogen Ausgänge, digitaler Durchschleifmodus, Betrieb über einen grossen Netzspannungsbereich und viele weitere Merkmale machen den QS einzigartig.

Der ADI-8 QS ist RMEs Referenz - Höchstleistung in jedem Detail, mit einem unübertroffenen Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis!

Die Highlights:

Top

Merkmale

Der ADI-8 QS bietet auf nur einer HE eine außergewöhnliche AD/DA-Wandlung von/zu AES und ADAT (optional MADI), mit bis zu 192 kHz. Die symmetrischen analogen Ein- und Ausgänge nutzen RMEs bekannte Schaltungstechnik und garantieren damit hervorragende Rausch- und Klirrwerte. Insgesamt stehen jeweils vier verschiedene Ein- und Ausgangspegel zur Verfügung, um eine optimale Anpassung auf analoger Ebene zu gewährleisten. Als Wandler kommen AD/DA-Wandler der neuesten Generation mit bis zu 192 kHz Samplefrequenz, bei Rauschabständen von 120 dBA, zum Einsatz.

SteadyClock(TM) garantiert aufgrund der effizienten Jitterunterdrückung optimalen Klang unabhängig von der Qualität der externen Clock. Zusätzlich sorgt Intelligent Clock Control (ICC) Intelligent Clock Control (ICC)
Die konsequente Weiterentwicklung unserer einmaligen SyncCheck- und AutoSync-Technologie findet sich in der neuen Intelligent Clock Control. Das Gerät zeigt mit Hilfe blinkender LEDs jeden Clock-Status nicht nur eindeutig an, sondern hält auch bei Ausfall der Clockquelle die zuletzt als gültig erkannte Eingangsfrequenz. Damit bieten RME-Interfaces trotz zahlreicher digitaler Eingänge einen kinderleichten Umgang mit den zur Verfügung stehenden Clocks, sowie eine bestmögliche Unterstützung beim korrekten Clock-Setup.
bei einem Ausfall des Eingangssignales für ein Halten der zuletzt als gültig erkannten Samplefrequenz.

Die von anderen RME-Produkten bekannten und bewährten Technologien wie SyncCheck SyncCheck
Bei der gleichzeitigen Nutzung mehrerer digitaler Quellen ist es nicht nur wichtig, dass jeder Eingang sauber gelockt ist. Vielmehr müssen die Signale untereinander unbedingt synchron sein, sonst treten Aussetzer und Knackser auf.
RMEs exklusives SyncCheck prüft die Synchronität der Eingangssignale untereinander. Im Clock Mode Master wird die Synchronität zur internen Clock geprüft. Dieses weltweit einmalige Verfahren erleichtert die Fehlersuche enorm, der aktuelle Zustand wird pro Eingang im Settingsdialog in Klartext ausgegeben.
® sorgen für eine leichte Erkennung von Fehlerzuständen. Selbstverständlich lassen sich beliebig viele Geräte kaskadieren und per Wordclock Samplegenau synchronisieren. Alle Einstellungen werden beim Ausschalten gespeichert.

Der ADI-8 QS ist komplett per MIDI fernsteuer- und konfigurierbar. Der gesamte Zustand des Gerätes, inklusive der Anzeigen der Frontplatte, ist per MIDI abfragbar. Jeder QS kann mit einer eigenen ID versehen werden, was auch eine getrennte Fernsteuerung mehrerer Geräte über nur einen MIDI-Kanal ermöglicht.

Die im Lieferumfang enthaltene Hardware Remote Control erlaubt eine Einstellung der Abhörlautstärke direkt vom Arbeitsplatz aus. Eine einmal gespeicherte Referenz-Lautstärke ist jederzeit wieder abrufbar, und natürlich fehlt auch eine DIM-Funktion (-20 dB) nicht.

Top

Low Latency

Im ADI-8 QS benutzt RME sehr hochwertige AD-Wandler von Cirrus Logic, mit herausragendem Rauschabstand und Klirrfaktor. Was sie aber besonders von allen anderen ADCs unterscheidet ist das innovative digitale Filter, welches eine Verzögerung von nur 12 Samples in Single Speed (0,25 ms), 9 Samples in Double Speed (0,09 ms), und 5 (!) Samples in Quad Speed (0,026 ms) verursacht.

Diese Werte sind weniger als ein Viertel dessen was selbst deutlich teurere Geräte aufweisen, und damit ein wichtiger Schritt zur weiteren Reduzierung der Latenz im rechnergestützten Studio. Bei Double Speed und Quad Speed kann man die hier erzeugte Latenz schlicht komplett vergessen. Der DA-Wandler liegt mit 5 bis 10 Sample Delay auf gleichem Niveau, um analoges Digital-Monitoring in echtes Analog-Monitoring zu verwandeln.

Top

Optional: I64 MADI Card

I64 MADI Card

Die I64 MADI Card erweitert den ADI-8 QS um einen 64-kanaligen MADI Ein- und Ausgang und einen flexiblen Digital Patch Mode.

Die Karte besitzt je einen MADI Eingang Koaxial und Optisch. Die Eingangsumschaltung erfolgt automatisch auf Basis eines erkannten und gültigen Eingangssignales, was gleichzeitig Redundanz-Betrieb unterstützt, da bei Ausfall eines Signals sofort auf den anderen Eingang umgeschaltet wird. Koaxialer und optischer Ausgang arbeiten parallel, geben also die gleichen Daten aus.

MADI dient als optionale Clockquelle (Sektion Clock, OPTN), Signalquelle des DA-Wandlers, Ziel der AD-Wandlung, und zum Durchschleifen. Da der ADI-8 QS nur 8 Kanäle belegt, schleift die I64 MADI Card bis zu 56 Kanäle durch. Auf dieser Basis arbeitet die serielle Kaskadierung des QS. Eingehende Daten gelangen 1:1 zum Ausgang, nur ein Achterblock wird durch die Daten des ADI-8 QS ersetzt. Auf diese Weise lassen sich bis zu 8 ADI-8 QS per MADI seriell verkabeln. Am Ausgang des achten Gerätes stehen dann 64 Kanäle gebündelt in einer Leitung zur Verfügung. Bei serieller Verkabelung mehrerer Geräte beseitigt die Funktion Delay Compensation einen Sample-Versatz zwischen den Geräten.

Der ADI-8 QS ist auch über MADI fernsteuerbar. Gleichzeitig werden MIDI-Daten per MADI übertragen.

Zusätzlich ermöglicht die i64 Card einen Digital Patch Mode, der ein freies Routen aller I/Os basierend auf Blöcken von 8 Kanälen ermöglicht (erfordert i64 MADI Card mit 2 Sync LEDs unfd Firmware 3.0 oder höher). In diesem Modus sind die 8 analogen Eingänge, AES, ADAT 1 und 2, sowie 8 x MADI als Eingangsquelle für die gleichsam vorhandenen Ausgänge verfügbar. Das Gerät arbeitet dann gleichzeitig als digitaler Formatkonverter, baut ein MADI-Signal aus verschiedenen Quellen neu auf, fügt ein, wandelt, und vieles mehr. Ausführlichere Informationen finden Sie im Handbuch des QS.

Top

Technische Daten

Eingang AD: 6,3 mm Stereoklinke und 25 pol. D-Sub, servosymmetrisch, komplett symmetrischer Signalpfad

Ausgang AD: 4 x AES/EBU, 2 x ADAT optical, optional MADI

Eingang DA: 4 x AES/EBU, 2 x ADAT optical, optional MADI

Ausgang DA: 6,3 mm Stereoklinke servosymmetrisch bis +21 dBu. 25 pol. D-Sub, symmetrisch bis +24 dBu. DC-gekoppelter Signalpfad

Dynamik AD: 117 dBA

THD AD: < -110 dB (< 0,00032 %)

THD+N AD: < -104 dB (< 0,00063 %)

Überprechdämpfung AD: > 130 dB

Dynamik DA: 120 dBA unmuted

THD DA: < -104 dB (< 0,00063%)

THD+N DA: < -102 dB (< 0,0008%)

Übersprechdämpfung DA: > 110 dB

Eingangspegel für 0 dBFS: +24 dBu, +19 dBu, +13 dBu, +4,2 dBu, jeweils -6 dB in 0.5 dB Schritten per Digital Input Trim

Ausgangspegel bei 0 dBFS: +24 dBu, +19 dBu, +13 dBu, +4,2 dBu, jeweils +/- 6 dB in 0.5 dB Schritten

Ausgangspegel Global: 0 bis -96 dB in 48 Schritten

Samplefrequenz: 44,1 kHz, 48 kHz, 88,2 kHz, 96 kHz, 176,4 kHz, 192 kHz, variabel (Sync/Wordclock)

Frequenzgang AD/DA, -0,1 dB: 10 Hz - 23,2 kHz (sf 48 kHz)

Frequenzgang AD/DA, -0,5 dB: < 5 Hz - 44,6 kHz (sf 96 kHz)

Frequenzgang AD/DA, -1 dB: < 5 Hz - 63,4 kHz (sf 192 kHz)

Stromversorgung: Internes Schaltnetzteil, 100 V-240 V AC

Maße (BxHxT) 483 x 44 x 200 mm

Garantie: 2 Jahre


Top