ADI-8 DS Mk III
  • 8-Channel 192 kHz High End
  • AES/EBU, ADAT, AD/DA converter
ADI-8 DS Mk III
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Audio/Format Converters

more information

RME ADI-8 DS Mk III

ADI-8 DS Mk III

Overview

Connectivity

  • 8 x Analog I/O (up to +24 dBu)
  • 4 x AES/EBU I/O (8 channels @ 192 kHz)
  • 2 x ADAT I/O (SMUX and SMUX4)
  • Word Clock I/O

The ADI-8 DS Mk III is an 8-channel hi-end AD and DA converter in reference quality. In a standard 19" box with 1 unit height the device offers numerous extraordinary features like Intelligent Clock Control (ICC) Intelligent Clock Control (ICC)
Our unique SyncCheck and AutoSync technology has evolved into the new Intelligent Clock Control of the Hammerfall DSP system. HDSP is the only digital I/O-system worldwide capable of measuring and displaying the frequency of all clock sources. Even word clock! Based on validity and current sample rate the system then decides which clock source should be used - fully automated and performed in hardware! With this the HDSP system offers the most easiest handling of the present clocks, although having a lot digital inputs, plus the most advanced support when configuring the clock setup.
, SyncCheck SyncCheck
When working with several digital sources it is not only necessary that these are all properly locked, they also have to be totally synchronized. Else drop outs and crackling occurs.
RME's exclusive SyncCheck checks all input signals. In clock mode Master the synchronous operation to the internal clock is checked. This outstanding and unique technology helps to find errors immediately. The actual state of each input is displayed in the settings dialog.
™, SteadyClock, four hardware reference levels up to +24 dBu, AES/EBU and ADAT I/O, 192 kHz sample rate, and a digital patch mode.

Top

Features

ADI-8 DS Mk III

The ADI-8 DS Mk III is a highly flexible 8-channel AD/DA converter and digital to digital format converter with an unrivalled bunch of features. The device combines excellent analog circuit design with outstanding low latency AD/DA converter chips. Along with SteadyClock™, the DS offers AD and DA conversion of the highest quality, redefining the reference class of analog/digital converters.

The compact 1U device provides a host of extraordinary features, including 4 hardware reference levels up to +24 dBu, AES/EBU and ADAT I/O up to 192 kHz, and a comprehensive Patch Mode.

The ADI-8 DS Mk III uses a completely symmetrical signal path, that guarantees an exceptional sound quality, outstanding low distortion and highest Signal to Noise ratio in all level settings. To maintain the full dynamic range within all operating levels the ADI-8 DS Mk III uses discrete gain stages which are switched electronically, so that no additional noise or distortion is introduced into the audio path. Sophisticated AD/DA converters provide samplerates up to 192 kHz with a SNR of 120 dBA. On the digital side, SteadyClockTM, RME’s unique clock technology and jitter suppression, further enhances the list of features, ensuring the best sound quality regardless of the quality of the reference clock signal.

Of course other typical RME features such as Intelligent Clock Control (ICC) Intelligent Clock Control (ICC)
Our unique SyncCheck and AutoSync technology has evolved into the new Intelligent Clock Control of the Hammerfall DSP system. HDSP is the only digital I/O-system worldwide capable of measuring and displaying the frequency of all clock sources. Even word clock! Based on validity and current sample rate the system then decides which clock source should be used - fully automated and performed in hardware! With this the HDSP system offers the most easiest handling of the present clocks, although having a lot digital inputs, plus the most advanced support when configuring the clock setup.
, SyncCheck SyncCheck
When working with several digital sources it is not only necessary that these are all properly locked, they also have to be totally synchronized. Else drop outs and crackling occurs.
RME's exclusive SyncCheck checks all input signals. In clock mode Master the synchronous operation to the internal clock is checked. This outstanding and unique technology helps to find errors immediately. The actual state of each input is displayed in the settings dialog.
™, SyncAlign SyncAlign
SyncAlign includes several methods and techniques to guarantee absolute data alignment with regard to time and channels. No RME digital audio card will ever swap channels, not in stereo nor in multi channel mode, regardless what you do with the card and the signals it gets. SyncAlign also controls the timing among the channels, no matter how much are used, they will always start sample-aligned.
When the record while play mode is activated, the corresponding software first starts record and then playback (or playback then record.) SyncAlign can compensate the time difference so that an exact simultaneous start of record and playback in the record while play mode is guaranteed. In asynchronous mode (different programs use different stereo devices of one card) this part of SyncAlign is automatically deactivated.
™ have also been implemented.

The specially developed internal high performance switching power supply provides operation with voltages ranging from 100 to 240 AC Volts. It is short-circuit proof, has an integrated line filter, is fully regulated against voltage fluctuations, and suppresses mains interference.

Analog Outputs. The ADI-8 DS Mk III has separated driver stages for the TRS and D-sub outputs. The servo-balanced TRS jacks will work up to +21 dBu. When selecting +24 dBu the balanced D-sub connector outputs will provide the higher output level while TRS stays at +19 dBu.

2 ADAT I/Os support up to 8 channels at 96 kHz (S/MUX) and 4 channels at 192 kHz (S/MUX4). A 25-pin AES/EBU interface features 8 channels at 192 kHz. All outputs can be used simultaneously, i.e.: analog (balanced TRS and/or D-sub), ADAT, AES/EBU.

Analog Inputs. The ADI-8 DS Mk III provides inputs via TRS or D-sub connectors. Both operate servo-balanced and accept levels up to +24 dBu.

Digital Patch Mode. A digital patchbay with free choice of source and destination setup can be used to convert ADAT to AES, AES to ADAT, cross-convert them at the same time, pass ADAT on to ADAT while monitored analog, and many more. The ADAT outputs also feature copy mode for connection of two different ADAT devices. These powerful and easy to use modes add significant value to the already outstanding conversion quality.

Tech Specs

Input AD: 1/4” TRS jack and 25 pin D-sub, servo balanced, completely symmetrical audio path

Output AD: 4 x AES/EBU, 2 x ADAT optical

Input DA: 4 x AES/EBU, 2 x ADAT optical

Output DA: 1/4” TRS jack servo balanced, up to +21 dBu. 25 pin D-sub, balanced, up to +24 dBu.

Dynamic Range AD: 119 dBA

THD AD: < -110 dB (< 0.00032 %)

THD+N AD: < -104 dB (< 0.00063 %)

Crosstalk AD: > 110 dB

Dynamic Range DA: 120 dBA unmuted

THD DA: < -104 dB (< 0.00063 %)

THD+N DA: < -102 dB (< 0.0008 %)

Crosstalk DA: > 110 dB

Input level for 0 dBFS: +24 dBu, +19 dBu, +13 dBu, +4.2 dBu

Output level for 0 dBFS: +24 dBu, +19 dBu, +13 dBu, +4.2 dBu

Input/Output level at 0 dBFS @ -10 dBV: +2 dBV

Sample rates: 44.1, 48, 88.2 , 96, 176.4, 192 kHz, variable (sync/word)

Frequency response AD/DA -0.1 dB: 10 Hz - 23.2 kHz (sf 48 kHz)

Frequency response AD/DA -0.5 dB: < 5 Hz - 43.0 kHz (sf 96 kHz)

Frequency response AD/DA -1 dB :< 5 Hz - 85.0 kHz (sf 192 kHz)

Power supply: Internal switching mode ps, 100 V-240 V AC

ADI-8 DS Mk III

Top

ADI-8 DS Mk III
  • 8-Kanal 192 kHz High End
  • AES/EBU, ADAT, AD/DA Wandler
ADI-8 DS Mk III
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Audio Wandler

mehr Informationen

RME ADI-8 DS Mk III

ADI-8 DS Mk III

Überblick

Ausstattung

  • 8 x Analog I/O (bis zu +24 dBu)
  • 4 x AES/EBU I/O (8 Kanäle @ 192 kHz)
  • 2 x ADAT I/O (SMUX und SMUX4)
  • Word Clock I/O

Der ADI-8 DS Mk III ist ein 8-Kanal Hi-End AD- und DA-Konverter in Referenz-Qualität. In einem Standard 19" Gehäuse mit 1 HE Höhe bietet das Gerät zahlreiche außergewöhnliche Merkmale wie Intelligent Clock Control (ICC) Intelligent Clock Control (ICC)
Die konsequente Weiterentwicklung unserer einmaligen SyncCheck- und AutoSync-Technologie findet sich in der neuen Intelligent Clock Control. Das Gerät zeigt mit Hilfe blinkender LEDs jeden Clock-Status nicht nur eindeutig an, sondern hält auch bei Ausfall der Clockquelle die zuletzt als gültig erkannte Eingangsfrequenz. Damit bieten RME-Interfaces trotz zahlreicher digitaler Eingänge einen kinderleichten Umgang mit den zur Verfügung stehenden Clocks, sowie eine bestmögliche Unterstützung beim korrekten Clock-Setup.
, SyncCheck SyncCheck
Bei der gleichzeitigen Nutzung mehrerer digitaler Quellen ist es nicht nur wichtig, dass jeder Eingang sauber gelockt ist. Vielmehr müssen die Signale untereinander unbedingt synchron sein, sonst treten Aussetzer und Knackser auf.
RMEs exklusives SyncCheck prüft die Synchronität der Eingangssignale untereinander. Im Clock Mode Master wird die Synchronität zur internen Clock geprüft. Dieses weltweit einmalige Verfahren erleichtert die Fehlersuche enorm, der aktuelle Zustand wird pro Eingang im Settingsdialog in Klartext ausgegeben.
™, SteadyClock™, vier Hardware-Referenzpegel bis zu +24 dBu, AES/EBU und ADAT I/O mit bis zu 192 kHz 192 kHz Samplefrequenz, sowie einen digitalen Patch Mode.

Top

Merkmale

ADI-8 DS Mk III

RMEs ADI-8 DS Mk III ist ein 8-kanaliger High-End AD/DA-Wandler und digitaler Format-Konverter mit unübertroffener Funktionsvielfalt. Das Gerät vereint exzellente analoge Schaltungstechnik mit überragenden Low Latency AD/DA-Wandlern der neuesten Generation, und bietet im Zusammenspiel mit der integrierten SteadyClock eine AD- und DA-Wandlung auf allerhöchstem Niveau.

Der ADI-8 DS Mk III bietet auf nur einer HE eine aussergewöhnliche Ausstattung, inklusive vier Hardware-Referenzpegel bis zu +24 dBu, AES/EBU und ADAT I/O mit bis zu 192 kHz 192 kHz Samplefrequenz, sowie einen umfassenden digitalen Patch Mode.

Das Gerät verwendet einen komplett symmetrischen Signalpfad, der sowohl eine unvergleichliche Sound-Qualität, als auch einen herausragend niedrigen Klirrfaktor, sowie höchsten Rauschabstand in allen Pegelbereichen garantiert. Um den vollen Dynamikumfang in allen Pegelbereichen zu erreichen, benutzt der ADI-8 DS Mk III diskrete, elektronisch geschaltete Verstärkungsstufen, so dass keinerlei weiteren Geräusche und/oder Verzerrungen in den Audiopfad gelangen können.

Hochentwickelte AD/DA Wandler liefern Samplefrequenzen bis 192 kHz mit einem Signal-Rausch-Verhältnis von 120 dBA. RME's einzigartige Clock-Technologie und Jitternunterdrückung erweitern die Liste der Merkmale, welche die bestmögliche Klangqualität gewährleistet - unabhängig von der Qualität des Ausgangs-Clock-Signals.

Als Wandler kommen AD/DA-Wandler der neuesten Generation mit bis zu 192 kHz Samplefrequenz, bei Rauschabständen von 120 dBA, zum Einsatz.

Selbstverständlich wurden auch andere bewährte RME-Technologien wie Intelligent Clock Control (ICC) Intelligent Clock Control (ICC)
Die konsequente Weiterentwicklung unserer einmaligen SyncCheck- und AutoSync-Technologie findet sich in der neuen Intelligent Clock Control. Das Gerät zeigt mit Hilfe blinkender LEDs jeden Clock-Status nicht nur eindeutig an, sondern hält auch bei Ausfall der Clockquelle die zuletzt als gültig erkannte Eingangsfrequenz. Damit bieten RME-Interfaces trotz zahlreicher digitaler Eingänge einen kinderleichten Umgang mit den zur Verfügung stehenden Clocks, sowie eine bestmögliche Unterstützung beim korrekten Clock-Setup.
, SyncCheck SyncCheck
Bei der gleichzeitigen Nutzung mehrerer digitaler Quellen ist es nicht nur wichtig, dass jeder Eingang sauber gelockt ist. Vielmehr müssen die Signale untereinander unbedingt synchron sein, sonst treten Aussetzer und Knackser auf.
RMEs exklusives SyncCheck prüft die Synchronität der Eingangssignale untereinander. Im Clock Mode Master wird die Synchronität zur internen Clock geprüft. Dieses weltweit einmalige Verfahren erleichtert die Fehlersuche enorm, der aktuelle Zustand wird pro Eingang im Settingsdialog in Klartext ausgegeben.
™ und SyncAlign SyncAlign
SyncAlign umfasst ein ganzes Bündel an Techniken, die absolute Fehlerfreiheit in Bezug auf Zeit und Kanäle garantieren. Die ADI-Serie wird NIEMALS Kanäle vertauschen, weder im Stereo noch im Multikanal Betrieb. Alle Kanäle sind immer auf's Sample genau synchron, egal was Sie mit den Geräten machen oder welches Signal sie ihnen zuführen.
SyncAlign kontrolliert außerdem das zeitliche Verhalten der Kanäle untereinander. Egal wie viele aktiv sind, sie sind immer auf das Sample genau synchron.
™ integriert.

Das speziell für den ADI-8 DS Mk III entwickelte, interne Hi-Performance Schaltnetzteil arbeitet im Bereich 100 V bis 240 V AC. Es ist kurzschlusssicher, besitzt ein integriertes Netzfilter, regelt Netz-Spannungsschwankungen vollständig aus, und unterdrückt Netzstörungen..

Analoge Ausgänge. Der ADI-8 DS Mk III besitzt separate Verstärkerstufen für Klinken- und D-Sub-Ausgänge. Die servosymmetrischen Klinkenausgänge arbeiten bis zu +21 dBu. Ist +24 dBu ausgewählt, liefern die symmetrischen D-Sub-Anschlüsse den höheren Output, während die Klinkenanschlüsse bei +19 dBu bleiben.

2 ADAT Ein- und Ausgänge unterstützen bis zu 8 Kanäle bei 96 kHz (S/MUX) und 4 Kanäle bei 192 kHz (S/MUX). Ein 25-Pin AES/EBU Interface beinhaltet 8 Kanäle bei 192 kHz. Sämtliche Ausgänge können gleichzeitig benutzt werden, z.B. analog (symmetrisch Klinke und/oder D-Sub), ADAT, AES/EBU.

Analoge Eingänge. Der ADI-8 DS Mk III besitzt Anschlüsse in den Formaten Klinke und D-Sub. Beide Eingänge arbeiten servosymmetrisch und akzeptieren Pegel bis zu +24 dBu.

Digital Patch Mode. Ein digitales Steckfeld mit freier Wahl von Quelle und Ziel erlaubt die Wandlung von ADAT zu AES oder AES zu ADAT, auch simultan überkreuz, das Weiterreichen von ADAT zu ADAT mit analogem Mithören, und vieles mehr. Die ADAT-Ausgänge bieten auch einen Kopiermodus für den parallelen Anschluss zweier Geräte. Diese vielseitigen und einfach bedienbaren Möglichkeiten ergänzen die herausragende Wandlerqualität in idealer Weise.

Technische Daten

Eingang AD: 6,3 mm Stereoklinke und 25 pol. D-Sub, servosymmetrisch, komplett symmetrischer Signalpfad

Ausgang AD: 4 x AES/EBU, 2 x ADAT optical

Eingang DA: 4 x AES/EBU, 2 x ADAT optical

Ausgang DA: 6,3 mm Stereoklinke servosymmetrisch bis +21 dBu. 25 pol. D-Sub, symmetrisch bis +24 dBu

Dynamik AD: 119 dBA

THD AD: < -110 dB (< 0,00032 %)

THD+N AD: < -104 dB (< 0,00063 %)

Übersprechdämpfung AD: > 110 dB

Dynamik DA: 120 dBA unmuted

THD DA: < -104 dB (< 0,00063 %)

THD+N DA: < -102 dB (< 0,0008 %)

Übersprechdämpfung DA: > 110 dB

Eingangspegel für 0 dBFS: +24 dBu, +19 dBu, +13 dBu, +4,2 dBu

Ausgangspegel für 0 dBFS: +24 dBu, +19 dBu, +13 dBu, +4,2 dBu

Ein- und Ausgangspegel für 0 dBFS @ -10 dBV: +2 dBV

Samplefrequenz: 44,1, 48, 88,2 , 96, 176,4, 192 kHz, variabel (Sync/Wordclock)

Frequenzgang AD/DA -0,1 dB: 10 Hz - 23,2 kHz (sf 48 kHz)

Frequenzgang AD/DA -0,5 dB: < 5 Hz - 43,0 kHz (sf 96 kHz)

Frequenzgang AD/DA -1 dB: < 5 Hz - 85,0 kHz (sf 192 kHz)

Stromversorgung: Internes Schaltnetzteil, 100 V-240 V AC

ADI-8 DS Mk III

Top