ADI-2 FS
  • High-Precision 192 kHz 2-Channel
  • ADAT.SPDIF.AES/EBU AD/DA converter
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Audio/Format Converters

more information

RME ADI-2 FS

Overview

Connectivity

  • 2 x Analog In / 2 x Analog Out
  • 1 x ADAT or SPDIF I/O (optical and coaxial, AES/EBU compatible)
  • Stereo High Power Headphone output

The ADI-2 FS is a compact and extremely flexible 2-Channel Hi-End AD/DA-converter. The small 9.5" unit offers first-class AD/DA-conversion from/to SPDIF, AES and ADAT, at up to 192 kHz. Its ability to use SPDIF, AES and ADAT format provides outstanding compatibility. Whatever it is - simply get connected!

Balanced analog inputs and outputs, monitoring via headphone output, SteadyClock FS for optimal conversion quality, 3-stage hardware input and output level control and the additional modes D-D and A-A turn the ADI-2 FS into a universal tool and a flexible problem-solver. Its pro-class sound qualifies it also as extension for other premium converters.

Top

Features

The ADI-2 FS is equipped with two servo-balanced analog line inputs via XLR/phones combo jacks, simultaneously usable balanced XLR and unbalanced phone jacks, an adjustable High Power headphone output on the front, an ADAT compatible optical SPDIF I/O, and a coaxial SPDIF I/O (RCA, AES/EBU compatible). These extensive connectivity options provide most flexible and uncompromised signal transmission.

The analog inputs use the advanced circuit design of the highly acclaimed ADI-2 Pro, thus offering outstandingly low noise and distortion as well as an extended frequency response. Three different settings for input and output levels provide perfect compatibility in the analog domain. A further highlight is SteadyClock FS,RMEs latest clock technology for maximum jitter suppression and lowest self-jitter. It guarantees superb sound quality completely independent from the quality of the current reference clock. The ADI-2 FS also uses the conversion technology of the ADI-2 Pro: the AK557x family and the AK4490 not only offer 192 kHz sampling frequency and lowest distortion, but also a dynamic range of 120 dBA.

But the ADI-2 has more to offer than tremendous sound. It also provides exciting digital connectivity. Its coaxial RCA SPDIF I/O has a switchable Channel Status to make it fully AES/EBU compatible (cable adapter required). The optical TOSLINK I/Os can handle up to 192 kHz and also serve as ADAT I/O, even at 192 kHz. An operation with SPDIF input and ADAT output or vice versa is supported, in both AD/DA and D-D mode.

The clear layout and distinct labeling of the front panel with its functional buttons, the informative status display, a 6 LED level meter as well as the tidy back panel make it easy to operate the unit right out of the box.

Top

Unexpected Versatility

With input selection set to DIG the device works as a digital format converter with simultaneous monitoring. The AD converter is disabled, the DA converter still used for monitoring the digital input signal, at the rear outputs and the headphone output. A format conversion is possible between all options - SPDIF coaxial (or AES) with Professional or Consumer Status, as well as ADAT.

The output selection ANA connects the analog output circuitry directly to the analog input circuitry. The DA converter is no longer active. The AD converter continues to convert the analog input signal to SPDIF (AES) or ADAT, with the outputs SPDIF coaxial and ADAT optical simultaneously available. This 'analog bypass' allows the ADI-2 FS to be used as an analog preamp. Gain and attenuation can be achieved via the level adjustment of input and output, or even fully variable when the VOL potentiometer is inserted. In this mode, the ADI-2 FS supports analog levels up to +28 dBu balanced and +21 dBu unbalanced. In addition, it can work as a converter balanced to unbalanced and vice versa.

The front panel knob adjusts the volume of the headphone output. It can also be inserted into the rear signal path via a simple key combination, so that the rear line outputs can be steplessly adjusted in level as the phones output. The choice of three hardware levels stays available, thus allows for a better matching of the desired levels on front and rear outputs.

Top

High Power Headphone Output

The ADI-2 FS uses a more powerful version of the proven High Power headphone outputs found in many RME interfaces. With a doubled power of 0.45 watts per channel, 0.1 ohm output impedance, a maximum output level of +19 dBu and very low output noise, the new generation of the High Power circuitry is universally applicable, from IEM to Planar. A relay ensures click-free on and off switching.

Top

Power Supply

Power is supplied via an included, external switching power supply with lockable connector. Thanks to a wide operating voltage range of 9 - 15 volts, the ADI-2 FS can be easily used with battery or rechargeable battery, thus also for mobile use. It is also fully suitable for e.g. a galvanic isolation in the laboratory or measuring applications.

Top

Overview Technical Specifications (click to show)

Input AD: 1/4" TRS jack and XLR via Neutrik combo jacks, servo-balanced, completely symmetrical signal path
Output AD: ADAT optical or SPDIF optical, SPDIF coaxial (AES/EBU compatible)
Input DA: ADAT optical or SPDIF optical, SPDIF coaxial (AES/EBU compatible)
Output DA: 1/4" TRS jack (unbalanced) and XLR (balanced)

 

Input and Output level switchable: +19 dBu, +13 dBu, +4 dBu @ 0 dBFS
Sample rate internally: 32, 44.1, 48, 64, 88.2 kHz, 96 kHz, 128, 176.4, 192 kHz
Sample rate externally: 28 kHz - 200 kHz

 

AD

Dynamic range AD: 117 dB RMS unweighted, 120 dBA
Frequency response @ 44.1 kHz, -0.1 dB: 1 Hz – 20.5 kHz
Frequency response @ 96 kHz, -0.5 dB: 1 Hz – 45.5 kHz
Frequency response @ 192 kHz, -1 dB: 1 Hz – 92.7 kHz
THD @ -1 dBFS: -116 dB, 0.00016 %
THD+N @ -1 dBFS: -112 dB, 0.00025 %
Crosstalk AD: > t 110 dB

 

DA

Dynamic range DA: 117 dB RMS unweighted, 120 dBA
Frequency response @ 44.1 kHz, -0.1 dB: 1 Hz – 20.2 kHz
Frequency response @ 96 kHz, -0.5 dB: 1 Hz – 44.9 kHz
Frequency response @ 192 kHz, -1 dB: 1 Hz – 88 kHz
THD @ -1 dBFS: -112 dB, 0.00025 %
THD+N @ -1 dBFS: -110 dB, 0.00032 %
Crosstalk DA: ≷ 120 dB

 

Phones

Output level at 0 dBFS, 300 Ohm: +19 dBu
Output impedance: 0.1 Ohm
Output power @ 32 Ohm: 450 mW

 

AA

Maximum input level +28 dBu bal, +21 dBu unbal
Maximum output level +28 dBu bal, +21 dBu unbal
Maximum dynamic range: 120 dB RMS unweighted, 120 dB(A)
Frequenzgang -0,1 dB: 1 Hz – 100 kHz
THD: < -120 dB, 0.0001 %

 

General

Accepted power supply voltage DC 9 V - 15 V
Dimensions (WxHxD): 215 x 44 x 130 mm (8.5" x 1.73" x 5.1")
Warranty: 2 years

Top

Accessories

Top

ADI-2 FS
  • High-Precision 192 kHz 2-Kanal
  • ADAT.SPDIF.AES/EBU AD/DA Wandler
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Audio Wandler

mehr Information

RME ADI-2 FS

Überblick

Anschlüsse

  • 2 x Analog In / 2 x Analog Out
  • 1 x ADAT oder SPDIF I/O (optisch und koaxial, AES/EBU kompatibel)
  • Stereo High Power Kopfhörerausgang

Der ADI-2 FS ist ein so kompakter wie überaus flexibler, 2-kanaliger Hi-End AD/DA-Wandler. Das Gerät bietet im Halb-19 Zoll Gehäuse eine erstklassige AD/DA-Wandlung von/zu SPDIF, AES/EBU und ADAT, mit bis zu 192 kHz. Seine Fähigkeit mit SPDIF, AES/EBU und ADAT gleichermaßen umzugehen beschert ihm eine überragende Kompatibilität. Was auch immer es ist - einfach anschließen!

Symmetrische analoge Ein- und Ausgänge, Monitoring per Kopfhörerausgang, SteadyClock FS für optimale Wandlerfunktion, 3-stufige Hardwareanpassung der Ein- und Ausgangspegel, sowie die zusätzlichen Modi D-D und A-A machen den ADI-2 FS zu einem universellen Werkzeug und vielseitigen Problemlöser, der sich mit seiner außergewöhnlichen Klangqualität auch als Ergänzung zu anderen hochwertigen Wandlern anbietet.

Top

Merkmale

Zur Ausstattung des ADI-2 FS zählen zwei servosymmetrische Line Analogeingänge per XLR/Klinke-Kombibuchse, gleichzeitig nutzbare symmetrische XLR und unsymmetrische Klinkenausgänge, ein regelbarer High Power Stereo-Kopfhörerausgang an der Vorderseite, ein mit ADAT kompatibler optischer SPDIF I/O, sowie ein koaxialer SPDIF (Cinch, AES/EBU kompatibel). Diese umfangreichen Anschlussmöglichkeiten erlauben hochwertige und flexible Signalübertragung ohne Kompromisse.

Die analogen Eingänge nutzen die exquisite Schaltungstechnik des vielfach ausgezeichneten ADI-2 Pro, und bieten damit hervorragende Rausch- und Klirrwerte, sowie einen sehr weiten Übertragungsbereich. Es stehen jeweils drei verschiedene Ein- und Ausgangspegel zur Verfügung um eine optimale Anpassung auf analoger Ebene zu garantieren. Der ADI-2 FS glänzt darüber hinaus mit SteadyClock FS, RMEs neuester Clock-Technologie mit minimalem Eigenjitter und maximaler Jitterunterdrückung. Sie garantiert beste Klangeigenschaften der AD/DA-Wandlung, vollkommen unabhängig von der Qualität der verwendeten Referenzclock. Auch bei den Wandlern greift der ADI-2 FS auf Technik des ADI-2 Pro zurück: die AK557x Familie und der AK4490 bieten nicht nur 192 kHz Samplefrequenz und niedrigen Klirr, sondern auch Rauschabstände von 120 dBA.

Doch der ADI-2 FS bietet nicht nur optimalen Sound, sondern auch optimale digitale Connectivity. Sein koaxialer Cinch SPDIF I/O ist dank umschaltbarem Channel Status AES/EBU-kompatibel (Kabeladapter erforderlich). Die optischen TOSLINK I/Os arbeiten bis 192 kHz, und lassen sich selbst bei 192 kHz auch als ADAT I/Os. Auch eine Nutzung SPDIF-Eingang mit ADAT-Ausgang oder umgekehrt ist im AD/DA- und D-D-Betrieb jederzeit möglich.

Das klare Fontplattenlayout mit eindeutiger Beschriftung, funktionelle Taster mit informativen Statusanzeigen, eine Aussteuerungsanzeige mit 6 LEDs, sowie die aufgeräumte Rückseite machen das Gerät sofort bedienbar.

Top

Noch flexibler

Über die Eingangswahl DIG arbeitet das Gerät als digitaler Formatwandler mit gleichzeitigem Monitoring. Der AD-Wandler ist dann außer Betrieb, der DA-Wandler dient nach wie vor zum Rückwandeln und Abhören des digitalen Eingangssignals, sowohl rückseitig als auch am Kopfhörerausgang. Eine Formatwandlung ist zwischen allen Optionen möglich, also SPDIF koaxial (oder AES) mit Professional oder Consumer Status, sowie ADAT.

Über die Ausgangswahl ANA wird die analoge Ausgangsschaltung direkt mit der analogen Eingangsschaltung verbunden. Der DA-Wandler ist dann außer Betrieb, der AD-Wandler wandelt weiterhin das analoge Eingangssignal nach SPDIF (AES) oder ADAT, wobei die Ausgänge SPDIF koaxial und ADAT optisch gleichzeitig zur Verfügung stehen. Dieser 'analoge Bypass' ermöglicht eine Nutzung des ADI-2 FS als analoger Preamp. Über die Pegelanpassung des Ein- und Ausgangs lassen sich Verstärkung und Abschwächung realisieren, nach Zuschaltung des Potis sogar stufenlos. In diesem Modus unterstützt der ADI-2 FS analoge Pegel bis zu +28 dBu symmetrisch, und +21 dBu unsymmetrisch. Außerdem kann er als Konverter symmetrisch zu unsymmetrisch und umgekehrt arbeiten.

Das Poti auf der Frontplatte dient zur Einstellung der Lautstärke des Kopfhörerausgangs. Über eine simple Tastenkombination lässt es sich aber auch in den rückwärtigen Signalweg einschleifen, so dass auch die hinteren Line-Ausgänge stufenlos im Pegel einstellbar werden. Die Auswahl der drei Hardware Pegel bleibt verfügbar, so dass sich hinterer und vorderer Ausgangspegel besser auf den gewünschten Wert angleichen lassen.

Top

High Power Kopfhörerausgang

Der ADI-2 FS nutzt eine leistungsstärkere Version der bewährten High Power Kopfhörerausgänge vieler RME Interfaces. Mit verdoppelter Leistung von 0,4 Watt pro Kanal, 0,1 Ohm Ausgangsimpedanz, einem maximalen Ausgangspegel von +19 dBu und sehr niedrigem Ausgangsrauschen ist die neue Generation der High Power Schaltung universell einsetzbar, vom IEM bis zum Planar. Ein Relais sorgt dabei für Knacks-freies Ein- und Ausschalten.

Top

Stromversorgung

Die Stromversorgung erfolgt über ein im Lieferumfang enthaltenes, externes Schaltnetzteil mit verriegelbarem Stecker. Dank eines weiten Betriebsspannungsbereichs von 9 - 15 Volt ist der ADI-2 FS problemlos mit Batterie oder Akku nutzbar, somit auch für mobile Nutzung, oder z.B. volle Potentialtrennung im Labor und Messplatz geeignet.

Top

Überblick Technische Daten (zur Anzeige klicken)

Eingang AD: 6,3 mm Stereoklinke und XLR per Neutrik Combobuchse, servosymmetrisch, komplett symmetrischer Signalpfad
Ausgang AD: ADAT optical oder SPDIF optical, SPDIF koaxial (AES/EBU kompatibel)
Eingang DA: ADAT optical oder SPDIF optical, SPDIF koaxial (AES/EBU kompatibel)
Ausgang DA: 6,3 mm Monoklinke (unsymmetrisch) und XLR (symmetrisch)

 

Ein-/Ausgangspegel schaltbar: +19 dBu, +13 dBu, +4 dBu @ 0 dBFS
Samplefrequenz intern: 32, 44.1, 48, 64, 88.2 kHz, 96 kHz, 128, 176.4, 192 kHz
Samplefrequenz extern: 28 kHz - 200 kHz

 

AD

Dynamik AD: 117 dB RMS unbewertet, 120 dB(A)
Frequenzgang @ 44,1 kHz, -0,1 dB: 1 Hz – 20.5 kHz
Frequenzgang @ 96 kHz, -0,5 dB: 1 Hz – 45,5 kHz
Frequenzgang @ 192 kHz, -1 dB: 1 Hz – 92,7 kHz
THD @ -1 dBFS: -116 dB, 0,00016 %
THD+N @ -1 dBFS: -112 dB, 0,00025 %
Übersprechdämpfung AD: > 110 dB

 

DA

Dynamik DA: 117 dB RMS unbewertet, 120 dB(A)
Frequenzgang @ 44.1 kHz, -0,1 dB: 1 Hz – 20,2 kHz
Frequenzgang @ 96 kHz, -0,5 dB: 1 Hz – 44,9 kHz
Frequenzgang @ 192 kHz, -1 dB: 1 Hz – 88 kHz
THD @ -1 dBFS: -112 dB, 0,00025 %
THD+N @ -1 dBFS: -110 dB, 0,00032 %
Übersprechdämpfung DA: > 120 dB

 

Phones

Ausgangsspannung @ 0 dBFS, 300 Ohm: +19 dBu
Ausgangsimpedanz: 0,1 Ohm
Ausgangsleistung @ 32 Ohm: 450 mW

 

AA

Maximaler Eingangspegel +28 dBu sym, +21 dBu unsym
Maximaler Ausgangspegel +28 dBu sym, +21 dBu unsym
Maximale Dynamik: 120 dB RMS unbewertet, 120 dB(A)
Frequenzgang -0,1 dB: 1 Hz – 100 kHz
THD: < -120 dB, 0,0001 %

 

Allgemeines

Zulässige Betriebsspannung DC 9 V - 15 V
Maße (BxHxT): 215 x 44 x 130 mm
Garantie: 2 Jahre

Top

Zubehör

Top