FireWire Audio by RME - Technical Background

»Technical Information Index

Overview on current FireWire audio solutions

RME is the only manufacturer not to use a third party FireWire audio technology. All other manufacturers use dedicated all-in-one FireWire audio chips. As a result, their access to bugfixes and improvements is more than limited. Here is a small overview of currently used chips:

BridgeCo: used by M-Audio, Terratec, ESI, Edirol, Presonus, Apogee, Tascam.

Philips AV LLC: used by Motu and Hercules.

Upcoming: a new chip from Texas Instruments, co-developed or supported by Echo. Will be used in upcoming Echo and Mackie FireWire devices.

Upcoming: a new chip from TC, called Dice II. A few years ago TC have bought a company that produced non-audio FireWire chips. Now this chip, announced to be available more than a year ago, is said to finally arrive. If so, it will be used in upcoming TC FireWire audio interfaces for sure.

Upcoming: a chip from Oxford Semiconductors called OXFW970. Not as feature-packed as the other chips, but expected to be the cheapest one of all. It might cause another flood of very cheap FW audio interfaces in 2005.

Differences between RME and all others

The picture shows the difference between our solution and all others. A dedicated FireWire audio chip always includes everything except for the physical interface (the upcoming TI chip will even include the PHY). The FireWire audio controller itself, including a special RISC processor, and the so called Link Layer Controller are all combined in one chip. The RISC processor is also (mis-) used to provide some kind of audio DSP functionality, but is very limited in doing so. An alternative is to use an externally connected DSP, which then allows for all kinds of effects and mix processing. The main disadvantage of an external DSP is the limited transfer rate (bandwidth) between DSP and FW core, which limits the numbers of processed channels significantly. For example, the matrix mixer of the HDSP MADI, calculating 8192 volume levels simultaneously, is only possible because the calculation takes place directly within the FPGA, as it can use the fastest RAM (internal cells), and thus uses an otherwise not to be reached memory bandwidth.

RME have developed the FireWire audio core completely on their own. Additionally, as this solution is within a FPGA, it can be changed, improved or bugfixed at any time. And our DSP functions, like TotalMix and level metering, are performed by an extra, dedicated audio DSP, which also resides within the FPGA.

The Link Layer Controller and Physical chip that we use are both from Texas Instruments. That should guarantee a maximum compatibility, as TI's chipsets are widely spread and used, even in Apple computers. The LLC is connected to the FPGA, giving us unlimited control on the available functions of both chips. Otherwise the configuration of the Link Layer controller can usually only be changed by the chip manufacturer, by providing a new firmware.

Typical Pro audio features

As you might imagine, the custom FireWire chips have been designed by developers who have little knowledge of the superior features and functions of RME products. So these chips miss a lot that can not be added later, even not by a firmware update. Let's have a look at some typical Pro Audio features:

  • Lock to external signals in realtime

  • Support for varipitch/varispeed

  • Offset-free record/playback

  • Support for multiple units

  • Support for sample rates up to 192 kHz

  • Change of the buffer size in real-time

RME unique FireWire features

RME developed their FireWire audio controller with all the features in mind that RME PCI interface cards have. The Fireface simply should work as if it were a PCI card. And we were very successful with this approach. The following is a list of unique Fireface features that are not found in current FireWire interfaces from other manufactures:

 
  • Complete realtime sample rate lock

  • Complete realtime sample rate control, even during playback/record

  • Complete start/stop control. No changed offset after reboot.

  • Extreme varispeed / external sync support, in all modes (DS / QS).

  • Reduced protocol overhead, by not sending CIP (Common Isochronous Packet format) headers (AVC, mLan)

  • Working FireWire 800 solution

  • Working FW800 fix for Windows XP SP2

  • Latency change on the fly, while ASIO and GSIF are running

  • Hardware-based data packet check and drop correction

 

Data Packet Check and Drop Correction

An extraordinary feature that deserves a detailed explanation. There are two reasons for clicks and drop outs:

  • Not enough time left for the audio engine to process the data. This is easily solved by increasing the buffer size (latency)

  • Loss of data due to overloads on and flawed performance of the PCI bus

Note that all FW interfaces in IBM-compatible computers are connected to the PCI bus! There is no PC chipset with integrated FW available. Macs have FW integrated.

With the Fireface, the latter is more often showing up than before, as OHCI chips are more sensitive to PCI bus performance problems than our Hammerfall PCI cards.

 

RME offer an easy way to differ between clicks caused by CPU overload (which is solved by increasing the latency/buffer size), and the loss of complete FireWire data packets. The FireWire communication between PC and Fireface includes watermarking of the packets. The Fireface is able to detect whenever and how many packets got lost. The number of errors detected is then displayed in the Settings dialog right below 'Video'. No packets lost - no display. The display will be reset whenever a new playback starts.

This display allows to easily check the performance of any DAW with regards to transmission errors, that are not an RME problem. They are the same for any other manufacturer, caused by the combination of motherboard/FireWire controller. There is no way to change this performance aspect by the driver.

On another note, the Error display can give confidence in working with otherwise often unpredictable hardware. Start audio and fool around with windows, hard drives and network. If no error shows up in the Settings dialog, the DAW is fully compatible and reliable, at least on the audio hardware side. If clicks and drop outs occur without any error displayed, the DAW might be not powerful enough to handle realtime audio, but that's a different story.

 


 

So far part one. Part two is even more interesting. Whenever a data packet gets lost (see above), the current sample position shifts by the amount of lost samples. This way first the additional safety buffer is eaten up, then the position gets so critical that the application has no time left to process the buffer. Even at minimal CPU load the audible effect is like having 100% CPU load - complete distortion. Next the position wraps around which makes latency rise dramatically.

When suffering from such effects, the best advice is to get a new computer. But of course RME tries to get the most even out of such a situation. There are not much choices to resolve this problem:

  • Stop the hardware. It depends on the stability and robustness of the audio application wether it survives such a state.

  • Stop the hardware and restart it shortly thereafter (stop for about one second). Better than before, but still might cause trouble with the audio application.

  • Stop and restart the hardware as quickly as possible.

That's exactly what RME do. The Fireface stops audio for about 3 ms (!), this way resetting the sample position on every case of lost packages/drop out. It works fantastic, is an outstanding unique feature of RME hardware, and once again shows the tremendous possibilities when not relying on a fixed chip solution.

The quick restart corrects even the position of record data. Record a 5 minute track with (for example) Cubase or Nuendo and intentionally cause a PCI overload. As a result, the recorded wavefile will include a segment of 3 ms muted audio. All the following audio samples are still at the correct position! A drop out of 3 ms even gives the chance to make the drop out inaudible. Adding some samples at the beginning and the end of the mute segment, just 'drawing' them, or filling the mute segment with a copied part makes the short drop out completely inaudible.

Conclusion and Summary

RME came late with their first FireWire solution, the Fireface 800. Nevertheless RME immediately became the leader in FireWire audio. We have Pro features today, where others can only wait on newer chips, that might fix something, might add something else, but most probably will not give the superior solution that RME already provides. RME again became the reference, and looking at the competitor’s solutions we will stay to be the reference for quite some time!

Copyright © Matthias Carstens, 2004.

All entries in this Tech Infopaper have been thoroughly checked, however no guarantee for correctness can be given. RME cannot be held responsible for any misleading or incorrect information provided throughout this document. Lending or copying any part of the complete document or its contents is only possible with the written permission from RME.
 

Home    News    Audio Converters    Sound Cards    MADI Series     DIGICheck   Mic Preamps
Accessories    Support    RME Newsgroup    Company Info    Purchasing    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2004 RME. All rights reserved. RME is a registered trademark.
This website contains names and marks of other companies.

FireWire Audio von RME - Technischer Hintergrund

»Tech Info Übersicht

Übersicht über aktuelle FireWire Audio Lösungen

RME ist der einzige Hersteller, der nicht eine FireWire Audio Technologie eines Drittanbieters nutzt. Alle anderen Hersteller nutzen dedizierte all-in-one FireWire Audio Chips. Daher ist ihr Zugriff auf Bugfixes und Verbesserungen sehr eingeschränkt. Nachfolgend eine kleine Übersicht der derzeit verwendeten Chips:

BridgeCo: Wird von M-Audio, Terratec, ESI, Edirol, Presonus, Apogee und Tascam verwendet.

Philips AV LLC: Im Einsatz bei Motu und Hercules.

Angekündigt: Ein neuer Chip von Texas Instruments, mitentwickelt bzw. unterstützt von Echo. Wird in zukünftigen FireWire Geräten von Echo und Mackie Verwendung finden.

Angekündigt: Ein neuer Chip von TC, genannt Dice II. Vor einigen Jahren hat TC einen Hersteller von Non-Audio FireWire Chips übernommen. Jetzt soll dieser Chip, angekündigt schon vor über einem Jahr, endlich erscheinen. Wenn, dann wird er mit Sicherheit in zukünftigen TC FireWire Audio Interfaces Verwendung finden.

Angekündigt: Ein Chip von Oxford Semiconductors namens OXFW970. Er ist sehr einfach aufgebaut, soll sehr preisgünstig sein, und könnte eine weitere Flut extrem billiger FW Audio Interfaces in 2005 verursachen.

Unterschiede zwischen RME und allen anderen

Das Bild zeigt den Unterschied zwischen unserer Lösung und allen anderen. Ein dedizierter FireWire Audio Chip enthält grundsätzlich alles ausser dem Physical Interface (der kommende TI Chip wird sogar den PHY enthalten). Der FireWire Audio Controller selbst, samt eines speziellen RISC Prozessors, und der sogenannte Link Layer Controller sind alle in einem Chip zusammengefasst. Der RISC Prozessor wird ausserdem benutzt (missbraucht...) um ein bisschen Audio DSP Funktionalität bereitzustellen, was ihm aber mangels Rechenleistung nicht überzeugend gelingt. Eine Alternative ist die Nutzung eines extern angeschlossenen DSP, der dann alle möglichen Arten von Effekt- und Mixprocessing erlaubt. Der grösste Nachteil eines externen DSP ist die eingeschränkte Transferrate (Bandbreite) zwischen DSP und FW Core, welche die Anzahl prozessierter Kanäle signifikant limitiert. Beispielsweise ist der Matrix-Mischer der HDSP MADI, der gleichzeitig 8192 Lautstärkewerte berechnet, überhaupt nur deshalb möglich, weil er direkt im FPGA sitzt, und superschnelles RAM (interne Zellen) nutzen kann. Anderenfalls wäre die erforderliche Speicherbandbreite nicht zu erreichen.

RME hat den FireWire Audio Core komplett selbst entwickelt. Ausserdem kann diese Lösung, da sie in einem FPGA realisiert wurde, jederzeit verändert, verbessert und von Bugs befreit werden. Und unsere DSP Funktionen, wie TotalMix und Pegelmessung, werden von einem speziell entworfenen Audio DSP durchgeführt, der sich direkt im FPGA befindet.

Die von uns benutzten Link Layer Controller und Physical Chip stammen beide von Texas Instruments. Dies sollte eine maximale Kompatibilität garantieren, da TIs Chipsatz weit verbreitet ist, und selbst in Apple Computern zum Einsatz kommt. Der LLC ist direkt mit dem FPGA verbunden, was uns eine uneingeschränkte Kontrolle über alle verfügbaren Funktionen beider Chips sichert. Anderenfalls kann die Konfiguration eines Link Layer Controllers üblicherweise nur vom Chip-Hersteller durch eine neue Firmware geändert werden.

Typische Pro Audio Merkmale

Wie Sie sich sicher vorstellen können, wurden die dedizierten (Custom) FireWire Chips von Entwicklern entworfen, die praktisch keine Ahnung von den aussergewöhnlichen Merkmalen und Funktionen der RME-Produkte haben. Daher fehlt bei diesen Chips so einiges, was später nicht mehr hinzugefügt werden kann, selbst nicht durch ein Firmware Update. Einige typische Pro Audio Merkmale sind:

  • Lock zu externen Signalen in Echtzeit

  • Support für Varipitch/Varispeed

  • Offset-freies Record/Playback

  • Support von Mehrgerätebetrieb

  • Support für Samplerates bis zu 192 kHz

  • Änderung der Puffergrösse in Echtzeit

Einzigartige FireWire Merkmale von RME

RMEs FireWire Audio Controller wurde auf Grundlage aller Merkmale der RME PCI Interfaces entwickelt. Das Fireface sollte sich ganz einfach verhalten, als wäre es eine unserer PCI-Karten. Nachfolgend eine Liste von einzigartigen Merkmalen des Fireface 800, die derzeit in Geräten anderer Hersteller nicht zu finden sind:

 
  • Vollständiger Echtzeit Samplerate Lock

  • Vollständige Echtzeit Samplerate Kontrolle, selbst bei laufender Wiedergabe/Aufnahme

  • Vollständige Start/Stop Kontrolle. Kein veränderter Offset nach Neustart.

  • Extremer Varispeed / External Sync Support, in allen Modi (selbst DS / QS).

  • Reduzierter Protokoll Overhead, da keine CIP (Common Isochronous Packet format) Header gesendet werden (AVC, mLan)

  • Funktionierende FireWire 800 Lösung

  • Funktionierender FW800 Fix für Windows XP SP2

  • Latency change on the fly, während ASIO und GSIF laufen

  • Hardware-basierter Data Packet Check und Dropout Correction

 

Data Packet Check und Drop Correction

Ein aussergewöhnliches Merkmal, welches eine detaillierte Erläuterung verdient. Es gibt zwei Gründe für Clicks und Dropouts:

  • Die der Audioengine zur Verfügung stehende Zeit reicht nicht um die anfallenden Daten zu bearbeiten. Dieses Problem wird sehr einfach durch eine Erhöhung der Puffergrösse (Latenz) beseitigt.

  • Verlust von Daten aufgrund von Überlastung oder schlechter Performance des PCI-Bus

Bitte beachten Sie dass alle FW Interfaces in IBM kompatiblen Computern am PCI-Bus angeschlossen sind! Es gibt keinen PC Chipsatz mit integriertem FireWire. Macs dagegen haben FW im Chipsatz integriert.

Mit dem Fireface tritt das letztgenannte Problem öfter auf als früher, da OHCI-Chips empfindlicher auf PCI-Bus Performance Probleme reagieren als unsere Hammerfall PCI Karten. RME bietet nun erstmalig eine einfache Methode, zwischen Aussetzern durch CPU Überlastung (welche sich durch Vergrösserung der Latenz/Puffergrösse beseitigen lassen), und dem Verlust kompletter FireWire Datenpakete zu unterscheiden.

 

Die FireWire-Kommunikation zwischen PC und Fireface geschieht mittels markierter Pakete. Das Fireface 800 kann daher feststellen, wann und wie viele Pakete verloren gegangen sind. Die Zahl der erkannten Fehler wird dann im Settingsdialog rechts unterhalb von 'Video' eingeblendet. Keine Pakete verloren - keine Anzeige. Die Anzeige wird ausserdem gelöscht (resettet) sobald eine neue Wiedergabe startet.

RMEs Error Display erlaubt auf einfachste Weise, die Leistungsfähigkeit einer DAW in Bezug auf Übertragungsfehler zu überprüfen. Fehler, die kein Problem von RME sind. Sie sind die gleichen für jeden Hersteller, verursacht von der Kombination Motherboard/FireWire Controller. Der Treiber hat auf diese Problematik (leider) keinerlei Einfluss.

Ein interessanter Aspekt ist, dass die Error-Anzeige Vertrauen in ansonsten eher unvorhersehbar reagierende Hardware schaffen kann. Starten Sie Audio, und spielen Sie mit Windows, den Windows, der Festplatte und dem Netzwerk herum. Wenn solche Aktionen keine Fehleranzeige im Settingsdialog verursachen, dann ist die DAW vollkommen kompatibel und zuverlässig - zumindest in Sachen Audiohardware.

 


 

Treten Klicks und Aussetzer auf ohne dass eine Fehleranzeige erfolgt, ist die DAW vermutlich für Echtzeit-Audio nicht leistungsfähig genug. Aber das ist ein anderes Thema, welches hier nicht näher erörtert wird.

So weit also Teil 1. Teil 2 ist noch weitaus interessanter. Wann immer ein Datenpaket verloren geht verschiebt sich die aktuelle Sampleposition um die Anzahl verlorener Samples. Auf diese Weise wird zunächst der zusätzliche Safety Buffer verbraucht. Danach wird die Position so kritisch, dass die Applikation keine Zeit mehr findet den Puffer zu bearbeiten. Selbst bei minimaler CPU Last ist der hörbare Effekt wie bei 100% CPU Last - komplette Verzerrung. Schliesslich läuft die Position ins negative und führt zu drastisch erhöhter Latenz.

Wer an an solchen Effekten leidet braucht dringend einen neuen Computer, da die PCI-Bus Performance offensichtlich schlicht miserabel ist. Aber natürlich versucht RME auch aus einer solchen Situation noch das Beste herauszuholen. Es gibt nicht viele Möglichkeiten um dieses Problem zu beseitigen:

  • Die Hardware stoppen. Es hängt von der Stabilität und Robustheit der Audio-Applikation ab, ob sie solch einen (unerwarteten) Zustand überlebt.

  • Die Hardware stoppen und kurz danach wieder starten (circa eine Sekunde stoppen). Schon besser, kann aber immer noch ein Problem mit der Audio-Applikation erzeugen.

  • Stop und Neustart der Hardware so schnell wie möglich.

Das genau macht RME. Das Fireface stoppt Audio für circa 3 ms (!), resettet auf diese Weise die Sampleposition bei jedem Verlust von Datenpaketen. Das funktioniert phantastisch, ist ein herausragendes, einzigartiges Merkmal der RME Hardware, und zeigt einmal mehr die erstaunlichen Möglichkeiten, die sich nur ergeben wenn man sich nicht auf eine feste Chip-Lösung verlässt.

Der schnelle Neustart korrigiert sogar die Position von Aufnahmedaten. Führen Sie einmal eine Aufnahme über 5 Minuten durch, mit (beispielsweise) Cubase oder Nuendo, und lösen absichtlich eine PCI-Überlastung aus. Ergebnis: das aufgezeichnete Wavefile enthält eine Stelle mit 3 ms gemutetem Audio. Alle folgenden Audio Samples sind an ihrer korrekten Position! Ein Aussetzer von 3 ms erlaubt es sogar, den Aussetzer nachträglich unhörbar zu machen. Durch das Hinzufügen einiger Samples am Anfang und Ende des Mute-Segmentes, durch einfaches Malen oder Auffüllen mit anderem (kopiertem) Material macht den kurzen Aussetzer schnell unhörbar.

Fazit

RMEs erste FireWire Lösung, das Fireface 800, kam vergleichsweise spät auf den Markt. Nichtsdestotrotz wurde RME sofort zum führenden Anbieter von FireWire Audio. Wir haben schon heute Pro-Merkmale, für die andere nur auf neue Chips warten können, die einiges fixen mögen, oder anderes hinzufügen, aber höchst wahrscheinlich nicht die überragende Lösung ergeben die RME bereits bietet. RME wurde erneut zur Referenz, und beim Blick auf die Angebote unserer Mitbewerber werden wir noch eine ganze Zeit Referenz bleiben!

Copyright © Matthias Carstens, 2004.

Alle Angaben in diesem Tech Info sind sorgfältig geprüft, dennoch kann eine Garantie auf Korrektheit nicht übernommen werden. Eine Haftung von RME für unvollständige oder unkorrekte Angaben kann nicht erfolgen. Weitergabe und Vervielfältigung dieses Dokumentes und die Verwertung seines Inhalts sind nur mit schriftlicher Erlaubnis von RME gestattet.
 

Hauptseite    News    AD/DA-Wandler    Digitalkarten    DIGICheck    Zubehör
Support    RME Newsgroup    Rund um RME    Bezugsquellen    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2004 RME. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. RME ist ein eingetragenes Markenzeichen.
Diese Website enthält Namen und Marken anderer Firmen