Dither in the ADI-1 / ADI-8 PRO
Remarks about the Need for Dither

»Technical Information Index

Preamble

Whenever 20-bit or 24-bit digital audio is copied to a 16-bit medium (for instance), the word length is reduced by discarding the lower bits. Truncation causes low-level components of the signal to distort. To combat this 'quantization distortion' noise at a level corresponding to the least-significant bit - or below - is added to the signal before truncation, randomly modulating the signal. This process is called 'dithering'.

One common misconception is to think that the added noise only modulates the LSB (least significant bit) of a signal, equating the amplitude of the noise itself with the amplitude of the modulation it causes. The truth is that ALL bits are modulated.

All A/D converters have built-in dither. It is a property of the converter chip, manifesting itself as an unavoidable noise floor. A/D converter chip manufacturer's use this noise - on purpose - to linearise the chip's behavior at lower signal levels.

To illustrate how dithering works fig. 1 shows a 1 kHz sine-wave at -80 dBFS. The signal has been generated digitally at 20-bit resolution, and is also analyzed at 20-bit. The FFT shows zero distortion, i.e. there are no peaks above the noise floor.


Fig. 1

The noise floor here is a result of quantization error in the 20-bit signal. Because the resolution of any digital signal (as opposed to analogue) is finite, even 24-bit digital signals show such linearity errors. Some dither was added to the test signal by the audio generator, to smooth the noise floor a little (for presentation purposes only.)

The analyzer was then set to 16-bit word length. The analyzer truncates the digital signal (by 4 bits), leading to the result in fig. 2.

Many harmonics have appeared as peaks across the entire frequency spectrum. These peaks are high enough above the noise floor to be heard as distortion.


Fig. 2

The noise floor (which used to be -152 dBFS) is now about -143 dBFS, because 16-bit quantization error is higher than 20-bit quantization error. Also, there is a slight DC offset here. The level of the 1 kHz signal itself remains unchanged at -80 dBFS.

The level of the test signal (-80 dBFS) lies well within 16-bit range. We thought it might be interesting to find out what would happen if the test signal were below the 16-bit range.

We therefore repeated the test with a 1 kHz sine-wave at -110 dBFS. Fig. 3 shows the original signal...


Fig. 3

...and fig. 4 shows the results of reducing word length to 16-bit. The sine is still present (!), but its level has been changed to about -95 dBFS.

There is a relatively smooth noise floor at around -135 dBFS (where it belongs - considering the current analyzer settings.) Again, there is a slight DC offset here, as well as several audible harmonics, though they are much less prominent than in the previous test.


Fig. 4

You might have come across similar information about digital theory before - there are several sites scattered around the Web, many of which also include practical test results. However, their purpose is often to prove that A/D converters without dither would produce horrendous distortion, and therefore sound terrible. This is actually (willful?) deceit, as truncation of a digital test signal has little or nothing in common with truncation of an A/D converter's signal, and certainly doesn't lead to such 'catastrophic' results as seen in fig. 2. This is mainly thanks to inherent noise in the converter, as can be seen in the following measurements using an ADI-1.

ADI-1: Dither on chip

We often get inquiries from anxious customers, asking how using a 20-bit ADI-1 as a high-quality A/D converter for a 16-bit DAT recorder could possibly be an improvement over a 16-bit one. Or - because the ADI-1 lacks dither - whether it could actually degrade the result. In a test about the ADI-1 by Sound On Sound, the author Hugh Robjohns even claimed that the ADI-1 'cannot be used as an input device for CD-R, Minidisk or DAT machines because there is no option for correct dithering down to 16 bit resolution'. Maybe he should have tried it first...

All A/D converters generate noise to some degree or other. The level of inherent noise in our ADI-1's 20-bit ADC is about -100 dBFS (RMS unweighted), and is therefore slightly below the theoretical resolution of a 16-bit system (rule of thumb: 16 x 6 dB = 96 dB.) On the other hand, spikes don't count much in RMS evaluated results. Peak levels in the noise signal are about -90 dBFS (DIGI96 owners can check both these figures using the DIGICheck test program - see the screenshot to the right.)

You may already understand what is happening here: On the one hand, inherent noise generated by the ADI-1 is considerably lower than in similar 16-bit converters. On the other hand, it is still enough to cause a dither effect when the signal is truncated to 16-bit (just like any 'intentional' dither would.)


Fig. 5

The big question now: Is this 'natural dither' effect (caused by inherent noise in an ADC) anywhere near as good as an intentionally applied, well-defined amount of dither from an external source? The answer: It is!

After listening sessions suggested lower noise (and no distortion) from the ADI-1 system than from systems using conventional dither, we wanted to test this phenomenon objectively. We found the reason immediately: Inherent noise in the ADI-1 is equivalent to a dither level of 0.7 LSB. Standard levels here are normally 1 LSB (which guarantees zero distortion but has a signal-to-noise ratio of about 92.5 dB RMS unweighted due to the added noise), or 0.5 LSB (where the S/N is over 95 dB RMS unweighted using a high-quality DAC, but distortion is not totally wiped out in low signal levels.)

With inherent noise of about 0.7 LSB, the ADI-1 has found the golden mean quite by chance: maximal Signal to Noise ratio at lowest distortion, as a by-product and 'on chip'. To complete the story, here are the results of A/D conversion in the ADI-1 with and without truncation.

Fig. 6 shows a 1 kHz analogue sine converted to 20-bit digital at -80 dBFS. The noise floor level is about -134 dBFS.


Fig. 6

Fig. 7 shows the same signal converted to 16-bit. Discarding the bottom 4 bits results in a (4 dB) higher noise floor and the same slight DC offset we saw before. The distortion level here is very low (-120 dBFS) and it only rises above the noise floor at frequencies over 12 kHz, so it is practically inaudible.


Fig. 7

Fig. 8 shows a 1 kHz analog sine converted to 20-bit digital at -110 dBFS. Again, the noise floor level is about -134 dBFS.


Fig. 8

Fig. 9 shows the same signal converted to 16-bit. Again, truncating the 4 least significant bits results in a (4 dB) higher noise floor and a small amount of DC offset. The signal level has shifted slightly due to the inevitable system linearity errors, but its level of -107 dB is very close to the original -110 dBFS. No distortion could be detected at all.


Fig. 9

Conclusion

Any additional dither in the ADI-1 would only push up the noise floor, and less distortion than zero is impossible. The ADI-1 is therefore an excellent substitute or companion to any devices with built-in A/D converters, such as samplers, soundcards, CD-R drives, Minidisk or DAT machines. In direct comparison to conventional 16-bit converters, the 20-bit ADI-1 wins because it can produce higher quality results while remaining completely compatible with the 16-bit format. Dither? Don't worry!

ADI-8 PRO

Maybe you are an ADI-8 PRO owner, and you have skipped the ADI-1 section above? Stop!! Please go back and read the entire Tech Info, because a lot of the above information also applies to the ADI-8.

First of all, a short summary:
Whenever 20-bit or 24-bit digital audio is copied to a 16-bit medium, the word length is reduced by discarding some of the least significant bits. This truncation causes quantization distortion in the lower-level components of the signal. To combat this distortion, noise at a level of the least significant bit (or below) is added to the signal - this is called 'dither'. And especially: External dithering is unnecessary if the sum of noise from the source as well as from the A/D converter is above a certain threshold.

The A/D converters in the ADI-8 PRO have a SNR of 112 dB (RMS unweighted.) The inherent noise is so low that it cannot dither the 16-bit truncated audio reliably. In other words: This noise is equivalent to dither below 0.5 LSB, basically not enough for dither.

Accomplishing dither in a device such as the ADI-8 PRO, which is completely FPGA-based (field programmable gate array), requires a great deal of time and effort. This is why we started out by checking just how 'bad' the effects of simple truncation in the ADI-8 really are, and discovered several interesting facts, which seem to have been kept secret, presumably to keep up appearances (and prices) for those devices which boast sophisticated dithering methods.

Remember (see the ADI-1 tests) that truncating signals outside the 16-bit range does not cause them to disappear altogether, but only changes their levels slightly. This effect - retention of information beyond what you would expect, looking at the system resolution (16-bit / 96 dB here) - is one of advertising's favorite arguments for dither, and is easy to prove. In our case however, the following applies: External dithering is unnecessary, the effect is an inherent property of all (!) modern A/D converters.

A common misconception is an 'analog' way of thinking projected into the digital domain: Discarding the least significant bits, any low-level components of a signal would be lost. The noise floor of a 24-bit signal at -112 dBFS would disappear completely when converted to 16-bit, digital zero would be the result. This is absolutely wrong. All parts of the signal which were originally below -96 dB will still be present in the 16-bit version (FFT proves this), but not at the original levels. In this context you could say it is a compression-type effect - levels which were further apart in the original have moved closer together.

In the early days of the digital era, A/D converters were DC-ridden, and parts of the signal really could be lost. However, the converter chips used in the ADI-1 and ADI-8 PRO include DC filters and automatic calibration, eliminating any DC offset.

This state of affairs is best understood by looking at DIGICheck's Bit Statistics page. It displays digital data in a binary form (as 'twos complement'.)

Fig. 10 shows that all 24 bits in the ADI-8 PRO 'wobble' i.e. they are active. After truncation to 16 bit, the lower 8 bits are dead of course, but the remaining 16 bits are still active. This means that there must be a signal present. Lo and behold: The base noise, which used to be at -112 dB, is now at -93 dB.


Fig. 10

In other words: Even with a minimum of dither (caused by 'basic' noise), the 'increased resolution' effect is retained. Of course there are some differences: The lower the dither level, the less accurate the transmission of the original level into the 16 bit signal will be. Linearity decreases, and formerly significant level changes in the region below -96 dBFS are compressed into only a few dB.

Fig. 11 shows a 1 kHz analogue sine digitally recorded as 24-bit, at a level of -80 dBFS. The noise floor is about -148 dBFS.


Fig. 11

Fig. 12 shows the result of truncating to 16-bit. As expected, the noise floor is pushed up to about -138 dBFS, and significant distortion appears across the whole frequency range. Note the distinct differences between this result and fig. 2.


Fig. 12

The distortion you see here looks worse than it sounds. After all, the listener's ear has to battle with a constant and relatively high noise floor, out of which it's not only supposed to recognize the original signal, but also the newly generated harmonics. Although the distortion in this example is clearly audible (in case volume is pushed up enough to also hear the noise...), the whole test as such should be put into perspective: The A/D converter has been fed a (nearly) noise-free signal consisting of a pure sine-wave at 1 kHz. Such signals are normally only used to test equipment - music, speech etc. are much more complex signals which tend to mask out most low-level distortion.

However, it seems to us that the dynamic range (i.e. the SNR at the ADI-8 PRO's input) attainable in real conditions would be much more relevant:

  • Example 1:
    The ADI-8 is being used as a multichannel converter, the source signals are coming from either the subgroups of a mixing desk, or directly from a high-quality microphone preamp. In reality, neither of these sources can deliver a signal as clean (of distortion and noise) as the one we used in the tests. Some figures: Typical noise level in a high-quality preamp is -127 dB, required amplification for the microphone is 30 dB, so the effective SNR is 97 dB. No distortion can be detected because the input noise already corresponds to an additional dither of 1 LSB. (DIGI96 owners can use DIGICheck to measure the true dynamic range at any time - many were in for a big surprise....)

  • Example 2:
    The ADI-8 input is set to -10 dBV. As SNR drops (to 107 dB RMS unweighted), the 'on chip dither' effect cuts in, causing a marked reduction in distortion in the ADI-8. If you know just how low the SNR is in standard -10 dBV based equipment, you will not be worrying about the missing dither.

  • Example 3:
    The ADI-8 is basically an exceptionally good A/D converter, and would be a worthy candidate to be used in dual channel mode as a line-level ADC. In this case however, the ADAT optical output would not be used recording to DAT but to a PC (and then to DAT.) The signal can be dithered and converted to 16-bit within the PC.

The following tests show that distortion is dynamic (and not constant as one might think) - distortion changes in level and distribution, depending on the strength of the signal.

Fig. 13 shows a 1 kHz analogue sine converted to 20-bit digital at -110 dBFS. The noise floor is around -148 dBFS.


Fig. 13

Fig. 14 shows the results of truncation to 16-bit. The noise floor is pushed up to about -138 dBFS. The distortion consists of only one inaudible harmonic. It is masked by the noise, because of its low level and proximity to the fundamental. Compare this result to the one in fig. 4.


Fig. 14

To summarize: Audible distortion does not occur in the region below 96 dB, but only when the original signal is within the 16-bit range. The distortion depends on signal level, and is generally eliminated by noise from connected equipment and/or from the recorded signal.

Apart from results from the above tests, there are other good reasons why we (and you) can safely do without dither in the ADI-8 PRO:

  • To retain the full dynamic range, ADI-8 PRO’s Bit Split method is normally used when copying data to 16-bit media.

  • Transferring to 20-bit (such as ADAT XT or Yamaha O2R) does not require dither, as the maximum dynamic range of the ADI-8 PRO is ’only’ 18.6 bit (or 112 dB), so there is no loss in a 20-bit (120 dB) system. (In accordance with the ADI-1 findings above, 20 bits would still be enough for a dynamic range of up to 124 dB.)

  • Tascam DA-38 or 98 owners can use the (often overlooked) built-in dither functions (please refer to the respective manuals.)

  • To transfer data to a computer, 20 or 24-bit resolution can be used. Dither can be added at the very end of the chain here, i.e. after all editing and mixing has been done.

  • The dynamic range of a signal source should actually be far above 100 dB. However, this is seldom the case in real life situations - most audio sources produce a considerable amount of inherent noise and/or hum.

Summary

To avoid being misunderstood here: We are not trying to persuade you that external dither is altogether pointless. Theoretically, the ADI-8 PRO could benefit from sophisticated dither or noise-shaping when transferring data to 16-bit media. In reality however, DC-free converters and limitations posed by real recording environments negate any advantages that dither might bring.

The purpose of this Tech Info is to dispel some common myths about dither. It is meant to supplement books, magazines and Internet documents. It is also an attempt to put some manufacturer's' statements into perspective - those whose main aim in life seems to be preaching the indispensability of dither, although this is not always true. We've already seen an example of such 'authoritative' statements in the section about the ADI-1 at the beginning of this text, and similar unscholarly opinions are not hard to find. When even reputable journals start publishing unfounded generalizations, then something obviously has to be done about it.

Copyright © Matthias Carstens, 1999.
English translation by Howard Scarr.

RME has made every effort to ensure that all information in this document is accurate. However, we disclaim liability for any changes, errors or omissions. Changes in specifications and features of the products mentioned may be made without notice or obligation. No reproduction of this document or parts thereof, in any form, is allowed without written permission from RME.

Home    News    Audio Converters    Sound Cards    MADI Series     DIGICheck   Mic Preamps
Accessories    Support    RME Newsgroup    Company Info    Purchasing    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. All rights reserved. RME is a registered trademark.
This website contains names and marks of other companies.

Dither bei ADI-1 / ADI-8 PRO
Anmerkungen zur Notwendigkeit von Dither

»Zurück zur Tech Info

Allgemeines

Bei Überspielung eines 20 oder 24 Bit Signales auf ein 16 Bit Medium tritt eine Wortlängenreduktion durch Abschneiden der unteren Bits ein, die sogenannte Truncation. Dies führt prinzipiell zu einer Verzerrung sehr leiser Signale in Form von Quantisierungsverzerrungen. Zur Vermeidung der Verzerrungen wird dem Signal ein leises Rauschen hinzugefügt, welches zu einer zufälligen Modulation aller Bits führt. Das Verfahren wird Dither bzw. Redithering genannt.

Wie später zu sehen ist die häufig anzutreffende Aussage, das hinzugefügte Signal würde zu einer Modulation des LSB (minderwertigsten Bits) führen, falsch. Vielmehr 'wackeln' alle Bits. Hier wird oftmals die Höhe des zugefügten Rauschens (Dither) von 1 LSB mit der dadurch entstehenden Modulation auf ALLEN Audiobits verwechselt.

Jeder AD-Wandler enthält Dither, und zwar direkt im AD-Converter Chip, zu hören und zu messen als das unvermeidbare Grundrauschen. Die Hersteller der Chips benutzen das Grundrauschen sogar absichtlich zur Linearisierung der Eigenschaften der Wandler bei niedrigen Pegeln.

Um die Funktionsweise des Dithering zu verdeutlichen zeigt Bild 1 einen 1 kHz Sinus bei -80 dBFS. Das Signal wurde digital mit 20 Bit Auflösung erzeugt und ebenso analysiert. Die FFT zeigt keinen erkennbaren Klirrfaktor, also keinerlei aus dem Rauschteppich herausragende Oberwellen.

Der im Bild sichtbare Rauschteppich ist das Ergebnis der Quantisierungsverzerrungen eines 20 Bit Signales. Wegen der endlichen Auflösung der kleinsten digitalen Stufe kommt es (selbst bei 24 Bit) zu Linearitätsfehlern, die wiederum als weisses Rauschen Bestandteil des Signales werden. Im digitalen Generator wurde dem Testsignal etwas Dither zugemischt, um den Rauschteppich für eine bessere Darstellung etwas zu glätten.

Im nächsten Schritt wurde der Analysator auf 16 Bit Wortbreite gesetzt. Es findet nun auf digitaler Ebene eine Truncation des 20 Bit Generatorsignales statt, welche zu dem in Bild 2 dargestellten Ergebnis führt.

Zahlreiche Oberwellen mit unnatürlicher Frequenzverteilung ragen deutlich aus dem Rauschteppich heraus und sind dank ihres massiven Auftretens als deutliche Verzerrung hörbar (wenn man die Lautstärke am Verstärker kräftig anhebt).

Der zuvor bei -152 dBFS liegende Rauschteppich liegt nun bei circa -143 dBFS, da bei 16 Bit Auflösung natürlich die Quantisierungsverzerrungen höher sind als bei 20 Bit. Gleichzeitig entsteht ein geringer DC-Anteil. Das eigentliche Signal bei -80 dBFS erscheint dagegen unverändert.

Das Testsignal liegt mit einem Pegel von -80 dBFS deutlich innerhalb des 16 Bit Bereiches. Interessant wäre es sicher zu erfahren, was mit einem ausserhalb des 16 Bit Bereiches liegenden Signal passiert.

Daher wurden die gleichen Messungen noch einmal mit einem 1 kHz Sinus bei -110 dBFS durchgeführt. Bild 3 zeigt das Originalsignal...

...und Bild 4 das Ergebnis einer Reduktion auf 16 Bit. Der Sinus ist weiterhin vorhanden, allerdings liegt er nunmehr bei circa -95 dBFS.

Der recht glatte Rauschteppich liegt bei -135 dBFS (wo er bei 16 Bit und den aktuellen Analyseparametern auch hingehört). Es entsteht wiederum ein geringer DC-Anteil, sowie deutlich weniger, jedoch immer noch als Verzerrung innerhalb des Rauschteppichs hörbare Oberwellen.

Dieser kleine Ausflug in die digitale Theorie anhand praktischer Beispiele ist Ihnen vielleicht nicht ganz unbekannt. An verschiedenen Stellen finden sich im Web solche oder ähnliche Messungen. Allerdings dienen sie oft als Beweis, dass ein AD-Wandler ohne Dither furchtbarste Verzerrungen erzeugt und gar schrecklich klingt. Und genau das ist eine (bewusste) Täuschung, denn die Truncation eines digitalen Messsignales hat wenig mit der Reduktion eines AD-Wandlersignales gemeinsam, und führt auch nicht zu der in Bild 2 zu sehenden 'Katastrophe'. Dies liegt hauptsächlich am Eigenrauschen der AD-Wandler, wie in den nun folgenden Messungen des ADI-1 gezeigt wird.

ADI-1: Dither on chip

Wir bekommen ständig Anfragen von besorgten Kunden, ob denn die Nutzung des 20 Bit ADI-1 als hochwertiger AD-Wandler für 16 Bit DAT überhaupt eine Verbesserung bringen kann, oder - mangels fehlendem Dither - sogar eine Verschlechterung bringt. Im Test des ADI-1 in der englischen Zeitschrift Sound On Sound verstieg sich der Autor Hugh Robjohns sogar zu der Behauptung, der ADI-1 'cannot be used as an input device for CD-R, Minidisc or DAT machines because there is no option for correct dithering down to 16 bit resolution'. Er hätte es vielleicht einfach mal ausprobieren sollen...

AD-Wandler rauschen, einige mehr, einige weniger. Das Eigenrauschen des 20 Bit ADC im ADI-1 liegt bei circa -100 dBFS (RMS unbewertet), und damit deutlich außerhalb der theoretischen Auflösung eines 16 Bit Systemes (Faustformel 16 x 6 dB = 96 dB). Andererseits haben bei einer RMS-Messung (Effektivwert) Impulsspitzen nur wenig Anteil am Messergebnis. Misst man die Pegelspitzen des Rauschsignales (Peak) ergeben sich circa -90 dBFS (Besitzer einer DIGI96 können beides mit unserem Testtool DIGICheck nachprüfen, siehe nebenstehendes Bild).

Wahrscheinlich ist Ihnen jetzt schon klar geworden was hier passiert: Das im ADI-1 erzeugte Rauschen ist einerseits deutlich geringer als bei einem vergleichbaren 16 Bit Wandler, reicht aber noch aus, um genau wie nachträglich hinzugefügter Dither eine zufällige Modulation bei einer Reduktion auf 16 Bit bereitzustellen, und so für ein munteres Wackeln aller Audiobits zu sorgen.

Die alles entscheidende Frage ist: Kann der 'Natural Dither' eines ADC mit einem extern zugeführten und wohldosierten Dither mithalten? Er kann!

Nachdem unsere Hörtests deutlich weniger Rauschen bei voller Verzerrungsfreiheit als bei herkömmlichem Dither attestierten haben wir versucht dieses Phänomen messtechnisch nachzuweisen. Was auch schnell gelang: Das Eigenrauschen des ADI-1 entspricht ungefähr einem Dither mit 0,7 LSB. Üblich sind entweder 1 LSB (sorgt für volle Verzerrungsfreiheit, das zugeführte Rauschen verschlechtert den Rauschabstand jedoch auf circa 92,5 dB), und 0,5 LSB (ergibt mit einem hochwertigen DA-Wandler über 95 dB Rauschabstand RMS unbewertet, beseitigt die Verzerrungen bei extrem niedrigen Pegeln jedoch nicht vollständig).

Mit einem circa 0,7 LSB entsprechenden 'Grundrauschen' schlägt der ADI-1 einen goldenen Mittelweg ein: maximaler Rauschabstand bei sehr geringen Verzerrungen, und das alles ganz automatisch, quasi 'on chip'. Der Vollständigkeit halber hier nun die Messungen der AD-Wandlung des ADI-1 ohne und mit Truncation.

Bild 6 zeigt einen analog eingespeisten 1 kHz Sinus, der bei digitaler 20 Bit Aufnahme -80 dBFS ergibt. Der Rauschteppich liegt bei circa -134 dBFS.

Bild 7 zeigt das gleiche Signal nun mit 16 Bit aufgenommen. Das Abschneiden der unteren 4 Bits bewirkt sowohl eine Erhöhung des Rauschteppichs um circa 4 dB, als auch den bereits bekannten geringen DC-Anteil. Die entstehenden Verzerrungen sind mit -120 dBFS sehr gering und treten nur oberhalb 12 kHz auf, sind damit unhörbar im Rauschteppich verborgen.

Bild 8 zeigt einen analog eingespeisten 1 kHz Sinus, der bei digitaler 20 Bit Aufnahme -110 dBFS ergibt. Der Rauschteppich liegt wiederum bei circa -134 dBFS.

Bild 9 zeigt das gleiche Signal nun mit 16 Bit aufgenommen. Das Abschneiden der unteren 4 Bits bewirkt wiederum eine Erhöhung des Rauschteppichs um circa 4 dB als auch einen geringen DC-Anteil. Der Pegel des Signals hat sich aufgrund des unvermeidbaren Fehlers in der System-Linearität leicht verschoben, ist mit -107 dBFS aber noch erstaunlich nah am Original von -110 dBFS. Verzerrungen sind keine nachweisbar.

Fazit

Zusätzlicher Dither würde beim ADI-1 nur den Rauschabstand verschlechtern - weniger Verzerrungen ist mangels solcher jedoch nicht möglich. Der ADI-1 erweist sich daher als hervorragender Ersatz, Ergänzung und Bereicherung für alle Geräte mit eingebauten AD-Wandlern, wie Samplern, Soundkarten, CD-R, Minidisk oder DAT. Verglichen mit herkömmlichen 16 Bit Wandlern bewirkt er eine deutliche Qualitätssteigerung bei vollständiger Kompatibilität zum 16 Bit Format. Dither? Don't worry!

ADI-8 PRO

Sie besitzen einen ADI-8 PRO und haben daher den obigen Text übersprungen? STOPP!!! Bitte lesen Sie die gesamte Tech Info, da obige Aussagen auch den ADI-8 betreffen, hier aber nicht wiederholt werden.

Zunächst eine kleine Zusammenfassung:
Bei Überspielung eines 20 oder 24 Bit Signales auf ein 16 Bit Medium tritt eine Wortlängenreduktion durch Abschneiden der unteren Bits ein, die sogenannte Truncation. Dies führt prinzipiell zu einer Verzerrung sehr leiser Signale in Form von Quantisierungsverzerrungen. Sie lassen sich jedoch vermeiden indem alle Bits einer zufälligen Modulation unterworfen werden, dem Dither. Das Eigenrauschen sowohl der Signalquelle als auch des AD-Wandlers macht - bei Überschreitung eines bestimmten Mindestpegels - externen Dither überflüssig.

Beim ADI-8 PRO beträgt der Rauschabstand der AD-Wandler satte 112 dB (RMS unbewertet). Damit liegt das Eigenrauschen der Wandler so weit ausserhalb des 16 Bit Bereiches, dass keine ausreichende Modulation der Bits nach einer 16 Bit Truncation mehr gegeben ist. Oder anders gesagt: Das Eigenrauschen entspricht einem Dither von unter 0,5 LSB und ist daher prinzipiell unzureichend.

Ein Dither-Verfahren ist im komplett auf FPGA-Basis realisierten ADI-8 PRO nur mit erheblichem Aufwand möglich. Wir haben daher zunächst genauer untersucht, wie 'schlimm' die Effekte der Truncation im ADI-8 tatsächlich sind, und stiessen dabei auf einige Erkenntnisse, die anscheinend oft bewusst verschwiegen werden, um das Ansehen gängiger (teurer) Dither-Methoden hoch zu halten.

Vermutlich ist Ihnen bereits bei den Messungen am ADI-1 aufgefallen, dass Signale ausserhalb des 16 Bit Bereiches nach einem Abschneiden der unteren Bits nicht einfach verschwinden, sondern sich nur geringfügig im Pegel verändern. Dieser Effekt, das Erhalten von Informationen ausserhalb der eigentlich erwarteten Auflösung eines Systemes (hier 16 Bit = 96 dB) ist eines der beliebtesten Werbeargumente für Dither, und problemlos messtechnisch nachzuweisen. In unserem Fall jedoch gilt: Bei einem AD-Wandler braucht man dafür kein zusätzliches externes Dithering, der Effekt ist Bestandteil aller (!) moderner AD-Wandler!

Es ist ein oft anzutreffendes Missverständnis, dass - entsprechend einer 'analogen' Vorstellung - bei einem Abschneiden der unteren Bits alle Informationen derselben verloren gehen. Das Grundrauschen von -112 dBFS eines 24 Bit Signales würde in einem 16 Bit Signal komplett fehlen, digital Null wäre die Folge. Dies ist aber nicht der Fall. Auch die ehemals unterhalb -96 dB liegenden Signale sind alle noch vorhanden und per FFT nachweisbar, jedoch nicht mehr mit ihrem ursprünglichen Pegel. Man kann in diesem Zusammenhang von einer Art Kompressionseffekt sprechen, da zuvor deutlich unterschiedliche Pegel nunmehr nur noch geringe Unterschiede aufweisen.

In den Anfangstagen der Digitaltechnik waren AD-Wandler DC-behaftet. In einem solchen Fall kann es tatsächlich zu einem Verlust aller Informationen kommen. Die im ADI-1 und ADI-8 PRO verwendeten Wandler besitzen jedoch interne DC-Filter plus eine automatische Kalibrierung, und vermeiden so störende DC-Anteile.

Am einfachsten ist dieser Sachverhalt mit der Bitstatistik in DIGICheck nachzuvollziehen. Sie stellt die digitalen Daten in ihrer ursprünglichen Form dar, der sogenannten Zweierkomplementdarstellung.

Bild 10 zeigt dass alle 24 Bit des ADI-8 PRO 'wackeln', also aktiv sind. Nach dem Abschneiden auf 16 Bit sind die unteren 8 Bit tot - aber die restlichen 16 Bit wackeln immer noch. Wenn sie aber aktiv sind heisst dies dass auch ein Signal da sein muss. Und tatsächlich: das zuvor bei -112 dB liegende Grundrauschen findet sich nun bei -93 dB!

Mit anderen Worten: Selbst mit minimalstem Dither (hier Grundrauschen) bleibt der Effekt der Auflösungserhöhung erhalten. Allerdings gibt es natürlich Unterschiede: Je geringer der Ditheranteil, desto schlechter wird der ursprüngliche Pegel in das 16 Bit Signal transformiert. Die Linearität nimmt ab, vormals stark variierende Pegel im Bereich unter -96 dBFS ändern sich nach der Reduktion auf 16 Bit nur noch um wenige dB.

Bild 11 zeigt einen analog eingespeisten 1 kHz Sinus, der bei digitaler 24 Bit Aufnahme -80 dBFS ergibt. Der Rauschteppich liegt bei circa -148 dBFS.

Bild 12 zeigt das Ergebnis einer Truncation auf 16 Bit. Erwartungsgemäß steigt der Rauschteppich auf circa -138 dBFS, und es entstehen Verzerrungen über den gesamten Frequenzbereich. Bitte beachten Sie den deutlichen Unterschied zu der Darstellung in Bild 2.

Die hier zu sehenden Verzerrungen sehen schlimmer aus als sie sich anhören. Immerhin kämpft das Ohr mit einem konstanten, alles überlagernden Rauschteppich, in dem es neben dem eigentlichen Signal auch noch dessen neu entstandene Oberwellen erkennen soll. Obwohl die Verzerrungen in diesem Beispiel deutlich hörbar sind muss die Messung als solche doch stark relativiert werden. Hier wurden die AD-Wandler mit einem quasi rauschfreien Eingangssignal versorgt, welches (fast) nur aus dem reinen Messignal in Form eines 1 kHz Sinus besteht. Dass man normalerweise keinen Sinus aufnimmt, und die Breite der akustischen Information eines normalen Instrumentes oder Geräusches einen Teil der Verzerrungen verdeckt, ist eine Sache.

Viel relevanter erscheint uns jedoch der Hinweis auf die in der Praxis tatsächlich erreichbare Dynamik, sprich den Rauschabstand am Eingang des ADI-8 PRO.

  • Beispiel 1:
    Der ADI-8 dient als Mehrkanal-Wandler, entweder an ein Mischpult (Subgruppen) oder direkt an einen hochwertigen Mikrofon Vorverstärker angeschlossen. Beide Quellen sind weder seitens der akustischen Information noch seitens des in der Praxis erzielbaren Rauschabstandes in der Lage ein solch sauberes Signal wie in den Messungen zu erzeugen. Einfaches Beipiel: Grundrauschen eines hochwertigen Mic-Preamps -127 dB, erforderliche Mikrofonverstärkung 30 dB, effektiver Rauschabstand 97 dB! Damit sind keinerlei Verzerrungen mehr nachweisbar, da das Eingangsrauschen bereits einem zusätzlichen Dither von 1 LSB entspricht. (Besitzer einer DIGI96 Karte können dank DIGICheck die tatsächlich erzielbare Dynamik jederzeit nachprüfen - und haben schon so manche Überraschung erlebt...).
     
  • Beispiel 2:
    Der ADI-8 wird in der Stellung -10 dBV betrieben. Damit sinkt der Rauschabstand auf 107 dB (RMS unbewertet), der ADI-1 'on chip' Effekt schlägt durch und verringert auch beim ADI-8 die entstehenden Verzerrungen deutlich. Wenn Sie dann noch wüssten welchen Rauschabstand Ihnen übliches -10 dBV basiertes Equipment real bereitstellt, würden Sie sich keine Sorgen mehr um fehlenden Dither machen.
     
  • Beispiel 3:
    Der ADI-8 ist prinzipiell ein gnadenlos guter AD-Wandler, und bietet sich daher auch im 2-Spur Betrieb als Line Analog zu Digital Konverter an. In diesem Fall wird jedoch mangels ADAT optical zwangsläufig nicht auf DAT, sondern zunächst in einen PC überspielt. Dort lässt sich dann problemlos Dithern und auf 16 Bit reduzieren.

Wie die folgenden Messungen zeigen sind die Verzerrungen zudem nicht konstant sondern dynamisch, verändern sich also in Stärke und Verteilung mit dem Grundpegel.

Bild 13 zeigt einen analog eingespeisten 1 kHz Sinus, der bei digitaler 24 Bit Aufnahme -110 dBFS ergibt. Der Rauschteppich liegt wiederum bei circa -148 dBFS.

Bild 14 zeigt das Ergebnis einer Truncation auf 16 Bit. Der Rauschteppich steigt wiederum auf circa -138 dBFS. Die entstehende Verzerrung besteht nur aus einer Oberwelle. Aufgrund der Nähe zum Grundton und dem geringen Pegel verschwindet sie unhörbar im Grundrauschen. Bitte beachten Sie den deutlichen Unterschied zu der Darstellung in
Bild 4
.

Zusammengefasst: Im Bereich unterhalb 96 dB treten keine hörbaren Verzerrungen auf, sondern erst, wenn das ursprüngliche Signal in den 16 Bit Bereich fällt. Diese Verzerrungen sind pegelabhängig und werden im Allgemeinen vom Grundrauschen des angeschlossenen Equipments und/oder des aufgenommenen Signales beseitigt.

Doch neben der reinen Messtechnik gibt es noch weitere Gründe, warum wir (und Sie) im ADI-8 PRO auch ohne zusätzlichen Dither auskommen:

  • Zur Beibehaltung der vollen Dynamik wird bei Überspielung auf ein 16 Bit Medium im Allgemeinen das Bit Split Verfahren des ADI-8 PRO zum Einsatz kommen.
     
  • Eine Überspielung auf 20 Bit (beispielsweise ADAT XT oder O2R) erfordert keinen Dither, da die maximale Dynamik des ADI-8 PRO nur 18,6 Bit erreicht (112 dB), also vollständig von einem digitalen 20 Bit System (120 dB) erfasst wird. (Entsprechend obigen Erkenntnissen beim ADI-1 würden sogar bei einer Dynamik von 124 dB 20 Bit noch ausreichen).
     
  • Besitzer von Tascam DA-38 und 98 können die im Recorder vorhandene, oftmals gar nicht bekannte Ditherfunktion nutzen (siehe Bedienungsanleitung der Geräte).
     
  • Wer in einen PC überspielt kann 20 oder 24 Bit als Auflösung nutzen. In einem solchen System wird Dither dann erst ganz am Ende der Bearbeitungskette bzw. des Mixes zugefügt.
     
  • Die Dynamik der aufzunehmenden Signale muss 100 dB deutlich übersteigen - was in der Praxis dank einer gehörigen Portion Grundrauschens und/oder Grundgeräusches meist nicht der Fall ist.

Fazit

Um Missverständnisse zu vermeiden: Wir wollen Ihnen nicht weismachen dass externer Dither sinnlos ist. Auch im ADI-8 PRO würde ein sehr gutes Ditherverfahren oder Noise-Shaping Überspielungen auf 16 Bit Medien in einigen Fällen optimieren. In der Praxis ist der klangliche Vorteil dank der DC-freien Wandler und der tatsächlichen Aufnahmesituation jedoch oftmals sehr gering, oder sogar gar nicht vorhanden.

Mit dieser Tech Info soll das Thema Dither etwas 'entmystifiziert' werden. Daher haben wir sie auch 'Anmerkungen zu...' genannt. Sie soll eine Ergänzung zu den in Büchern, Zeitschriften und dem Web zu findenden Dokumenten sein. Sie soll aber auch die Ausführungen einiger Hersteller relativieren, deren einziger Lebenszweck darin zu bestehen scheint, ein Merkmal als unverzichtbar zu erklären, das in vielen Fällen sehr wohl verzichtbar ist. Welche Auswirkungen diese 'Verklärung' mittlerweile angenommen hat haben wir am Beginn der Tech Info beim ADI-1 geschildert. Wenn selbst in angesehenen Fachzeitschriften begonnen wird Pauschalurteile abzugeben, die mit der Realität nichts gemein haben, ist offensichtlich Handlungsbedarf vorhanden.

Copyright © Matthias Carstens, 1999.
Alle Angaben in diesem Tech Info sind sorgfältig geprüft, dennoch kann eine Garantie auf Korrektheit nicht übernommen werden. Eine Haftung von RME für unvollständige oder unkorrekte Angaben kann nicht erfolgen. Weitergabe und Vervielfältigung dieses Dokumentes und die Verwertung seines Inhalts sind nur mit schriftlicher Erlaubnis von RME gestattet.

 

Hauptseite    News    AD/DA-Wandler    Digitalkarten    MADI Serie     DIGICheck    Mic Preamps
Zubehör    Support    RME Newsgroup    Rund um RME    Bezugsquellen    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. RME ist ein eingetragenes Markenzeichen.
Diese Website enthält Namen und Marken anderer Firmen