Set up Cakewalk and SAWPlus32 for use with the DIGI32 Series
Step by step instructions on how to set up hardware and software

»Technical Information Index

Cakewalk Pro 7.0 for Windows 95

On the first startup of Cakewalk the program offers an automatic detection of the soundcard's abilities. The so called 'Wave Profiler' can also be started later using 'Tools/Audio Options'. The test performed is very fast - and very inaccurate.

First please check if the new soundcard driver including Direct Show support is active, see Tools / Audio Hardware.

The properties of this driver can be checked in the same menu, under Tools/Audio Options. Please setup everything like shown in this picture.

On the registercard 'Drivers' the stereo devices of the related DIGI32 show up, in this case the 4 pairs for record and playback of the DIGI32/8. All devices should be active (marked) for multitrack recording.

On the last registercard called 'Advanced' you should copy the settings shown to the right. The Wave Profiler didn't activate 'Use Wave Out Position', nor did he recognize the DIGI32/8 as Full Duplex card (Enable Simultaneous Record/Playback.) Both have to be activated. In case Cakewalk seems to be a little lazy: the buffersize and number of buffers (Queue Buffers) can be lowered on many DAW's dramatically.

Now it's time for the setup of the tracks. A right mouseclick on the track number in the Track window will open a menu, choose 'Track Properties'. 

 

In the Track Properties dialog the inputs (Source) and the Wave Device (Port) must be assigned to the corresponding track. As each device of the DIGI32/8 is stereo, Track 1 has to be assigned to the left channel, Track 2 to the right channel of Device (1+2), Track 3 to the left and Track 4 to the right of Device (3+4), and so on.

The new 'Console View' gives you a much more comfortable and faster way of setting up the tracks. This 'mixing desk' allows an easy assignment of the input and output devices to the corresponding tracks via mouse.

Click on the upper grey button at the bottom of each channel (track.) A menu appears. Set up the device (1+2) for tracks 1 and 2, (3+4) for tracks 3 and 4 and so on.

The other button opens a menu to set up the inputs. Here again you have to choose between the left and right channel of a stereo device, so assign the left channel of (1+2) to Track 1, the right of (1+2) to Track 2, the left of (3+4) to Track 3 and so on.

SAWPlus32 for Windows 95

It's very easy to configure SAW for multitrack purposes.

Choosing 'Options/Audio Hardware Setup' opens the window below. In this window simply assign all available stereo devices to the wave devices of the program.

Using the menu 'Mix' then choose 'Multi-Channel Record Mode' to activate it. Thereafter use 'Multi Channel Record Setup' in the same menu to define a name for the files to be recorded.

In the window 'Multi-Track View' a click on the red record buttons switches the corresponding track to ready.

A level meter pops up for every track switched to ready. At the bottom of this level meter the inputs are set up. Click on 'In' to see a list of all available devices, and assign them one by one to the corresponding track/level meter.

Copyright Matthias Carstens, 1998.

All entries in this Tech Infopaper have been thoroughly checked, however no guarantee for correctness can be given. RME cannot be held responsible for any misleading or incorrect information provided throughout this manual. Lending or copying any part or the complete document or its contents is only possible with the written permission of RME.

Home    News    Audio Converters    Sound Cards    MADI Series     DIGICheck   Mic Preamps
Accessories    Support    RME Newsgroup    Company Info    Purchasing    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. All rights reserved. RME is a registered trademark.
This website contains names and marks of other companies.

Konfiguration von Cakewalk und SAWPlus32 mit der DIGI32 Serie
Beispiele und Anleitungen zur Konfiguration der Programme

»Zurück zur Tech Info

Cakewalk Pro 7.0 für Windows 95

Beim ersten Start des Programmes bietet Cakewalk eine automatische Erkennung der Eigenschaften der im System vorhandenen Soundkarten an. Der sogenannte 'Wave Profiler' kann jedoch auch später unter 'Tools/Audio Options' aufgerufen werden. Der Test geht schnell - vermutlich zu schnell - denn die Ergebnisse sind leider falsch.

Zuerst sollten Sie prüfen, ob der neue Soundkartentreiber mit Direct Show Unterstützung aktiv ist, zu finden unter Tools / Audio Hardware.

Die Einstellungen dieses Treibers sind im gleichen Menü unter Tools/Audio Options zu finden. Stellen Sie alles so ein wie im Bild zu sehen.

 

Auf der Registerkarte 'Drivers' erscheinen die Stereo-Devices der jeweiligen DIGI32, hier die 4 Paare für Record und Playback der DIGI32/8. Alle Geräte sollten aktiv, also markiert sein.

Auch bei der Registerkarte 'Advanced' sollten Sie sich an das Bild rechts halten. Der Wave Profiler aktivierte weder 'Use Wave Out Position', noch erkannte er die DIGI32/8 als Full Duplex fähige Karte (Enable Simultaneous Record/Playback). Beides ist natürlich zu aktivieren. Falls Ihnen Cakewalk etwas zu träge vorkommt: Die Buffersize und Anzahl derselben (Queue Buffers) läßt sich je nach Rechner teilweise drastisch verringern.

Nach dieser Grundeinstellung geht es an die Spurverteilung. Klicken Sie im Track-Fenster mit der rechten Maustaste auf die Tracknummer, und wählen im folgenden Kontextmenü 'Track Properties'.

Im Eigenschaften-Dialog des Tracks erfolgt die Zuordnung der Eingänge (Source) und des Wave Device (Port). Da jedes Device der DIGI32 Stereo ist, weisen Sie Track 1 den linken Kanal und Track zwei den rechten Kanal des Devices (1+2) zu, Track 3 den linken und Track 4 den rechten von Device (3+4) zu, und so weiter.

Sehr viel bequemer geht es jedoch mit der neuen 'Console View'. Dieses zentrale Mischpult verfügt ebenfalls pro Kanal über eine Auswahl- und Einstellmöglichkeit der einzelnen Eingänge und Ausgänge.

Die Zuordnung der einzelnen Spuren zum jeweiligen Ausgang beziehungsweise Gerät erfolgt durch einfachen Klick auf das obere Feld unterhalb des jeweiligen Schiebereg-
lers. Es klappt ein Menü auf, in dem bei den Spuren 1 und 2 der Eintrag (1+2) auszuwählen ist, bei den Spuren 3 und 4 (3+4) und so weiter.

Ganz unten werden die Eingänge ebenfalls per einfachem Mausklick zugeordnet. Hier wird wieder zwischen dem linken und rechten Kanal eines Stereogerätes unterschieden, die Logik der Zuordnung ist jedoch die gleiche wie zuvor.

SAWPlus32 für Windows 95

SAW läßt sich sehr einfach auch für Mehrspurbetrieb konfigurieren.

Nach Wahl von 'Options/Audio Hardware Setup' öffnet sich das nebenstehende Fenster. Hier werden einfach alle Stereo Devices beispielsweise der DIGI32/8 der Reihe nach per Maus den Wave Devices des Programms zugeordnet.

Im Menü 'Mix' ist sodann der 'Multi-Channel Record Mode' zu aktivieren. Danach wird im gleichen Menü per 'Multi Channel Record Setup' ein Dateiname für die aufzunehmende Datei eingegeben.

Im Fenster 'Multi-Track View' schalten Sie nun durch Klick auf die roten Record Buttons alle gewünschten Aufnahmespuren scharf.

Für jede aktive Aufnahmespur erscheint eine Aussteuerungsanzeige. An dieser erfolgt nun die Zuordnung von Spur zu Karte, indem Sie auf das unterste Feld 'In' klicken. Es erscheint eine Liste aller zur Verfügung stehenden Geräte. Per Mausklick werden nun wie üblich den einzelnen Tracks die vorhandenen Kanäle der DIGI32 Karten zugewiesen.

Copyright Matthias Carstens, 1998.
Alle Angaben in diesem Tech Info sind sorgfältig geprüft, dennoch kann eine Garantie auf Korrektheit nicht übernommen werden. Eine Haftung von RME für unvollständige oder unkorrekte Angaben kann nicht erfolgen. Weitergabe und Vervielfältigung dieses Dokumentes und die Verwertung seines Inhalts sind nur mit schriftlicher Erlaubnis von RME gestattet.

 

Hauptseite    News    AD/DA-Wandler    Digitalkarten    MADI Serie     DIGICheck    Mic Preamps
Zubehör    Support    RME Newsgroup    Rund um RME    Bezugsquellen    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. RME ist ein eingetragenes Markenzeichen.
Diese Website enthält Namen und Marken anderer Firmen