Info page: Hammerfall® DSP Series Driver for Mac OS 9.x®

»Mac OS Overview

1. Installation (Top)

Please first decompress the driver archive using Aladdin Stuffit Expander.

If you already installed an older version of the driver first make sure to remove all old files. To do so open the Extensions folder which is inside your System folder. Remove the file Hammerfall DSP Driver. Also remove Hammerfall DSP Settings from the directory where it was copied to. Remove the Hammerfall DSP ASIO driver file from any ASIO Drivers folder.

After unstuffing the archive the driver files are found in folders. The name of the folders tell where to copy the files! The driver installation is done manually in 5 steps:

1. Drag the file Hammerfall DSP Driver from 'into System folder' to the System folder. It will be installed automatically into the Extension folder. Confirm the system's message to complete the installation. Now the driver file should be found in the Extension folder, see example to the right.  







2.Copy the files Hammerfall DSP Settings, Hammerfall DSP ASIO and Hammerfall DSP ASIO 96 kHz from 'into ASIO Drivers folder' into all ASIO Drivers folders found on your computer. As every ASIO software has its own ASIO Drivers folder the files have to be copied several times.





Configuration of the Hammerfall DSP is done through the Settings dialog, which can be called from within any ASIO compatible software (for example Audio/System/ASIO Control Panel.) To be able to call up the Settings dialog at any time we recommend to create an Alias on the desktop. To create an Alias select Hammerfall DSP Settings with the mouse cursor, press and hold the Apple and Alt keys on your keyboard, and drag Hammerfall DSP Settings to the desired location.

3. Copy the complete sub-folder Hammerfall DSP, found in the folder 'into Preferences folder', to the system folder Preferences. This way the files related to the HDSP system reside in their own folder, without cluttering the Preferences folder. Additionally deleting those files is much easier in case of a driver update. 'Hammerfall DSP' contains 10 files:

default.mix: Default settings for TotalMix
default.vol: Default settings for Digiface/Multiface, as long as TotalMix isn't started
preset1.mix to preset8.mix: Presets for the HDSP mixer

4. The file Hammerfall DSP TotalMix can be copied to any place. When started the HDSP mixer comes up and allows you to configure the digital real-time mixer of the Digiface.
 

TotalMix requires Carbon Library 1.1, which is part of the operating system since MacOS 9.1. After installation of Carbon Library 1.1 TotalMix can even be run on older systems (down to 8.6.)

5. Using the MIDI ports of the HDSP system requires an installed OMS (Open Music System) from Opcode. The latest version 2.3.8 can be downloaded for free at

http://www.opcode.com

After the installation of OMS, copy the file HDSP_OMSDriver, found in the folder 'into OMS Folder folder', into the system folder 'OMS Folder'.

To finish installation reboot the computer.

After re-boot the MIDI driver is installed, but not yet activated. To activate it create a new OMS Studio setup. Using 'Search' the MIDI driver of the Digiface should be found and added to the list. Now it can be activated.

2. Hardware compatibility (Top)

An activation of OMS on the Titanium Powerbooks G4 550 MHz and 667 MHZ (256K level 2 cache, 1152 x 768 screen) will cause crackling in the played back audio. According to our tests, the highest number of interrupts that can occur when receiving MIDI from the HDSP, will sometimes cause the Powerbook's DMA controller to fail - causing dropouts while transferring data to the HDSP. Owners of these notebooks who need MIDI I/O functionality should consider to buy a third party MIDI interface, or to change to the compatible 400/500 MHz models.

General PCI related problems

The following symptoms are typical for PCI related problems:

  • When booting the control panels are displayed too big, or spread across the whole screen
  • Software or OS crash as soon as the card is used

These problems may occur with older computers (prior to G3.) They can be solved in most cases by simply using a different slot, or by exchanging slots with other PCI cards (like SCSI controllers or graphics cards.)

3. Software compatibility (Top)

The Hammerfall series is compatible to all major ASIO applications, like Cubase VST, emagic Logic, Opcode Studio Vision PRO, Prosoniq Sonic WORX, TC SPARK, Peak from Bias, Motu Digital Performer, Max/MSP from Cycling '74 and Super Collider.

4. Known problems (Top)

Peak crashes in ASIO mode as soon as latency is changed

This only happens while running. Stop playback and record. Under Audio/Sound Out/ASIO de-activate 'Active in background'. Now latency can be changed without problems.

The function 'Reset Devices' of Cubase seems to do nothing

This was a bug in Cubase. 'Reset Devices' currently only resets MIDI devices, but neither audio devices nor its internal audio engine.

Home    News    Audio Converters    Sound Cards    DIGICheck    Accessories
Support    RME Newsgroup    Company Info    Purchasing    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. All rights reserved. RME is a registered trademark.
This website contains names and marks of other companies.

Infoseite zum Hammerfall® DSP Treiber für Mac OS 9.x

Ȇbersicht Mac OS

1. Installation (Top)

Bitte das Treiberarchiv erst mit dem Aladdin Stuffit Expander dekomprimieren.

Ist bereits eine ältere Treiberversion installiert entfernen Sie zunächst die alte Treibersoftware. Dazu öffnen Sie den Ordner Systemerweiterungen in Ihrem System-Ordner. Ziehen Sie die Datei Hammerfall DSP Driver in den Papierkorb. Gleiches bitte für die Datei Hammerfall DSP Settings, welche sich in dem von Ihnen gewählten Ordner befindet. Löschen Sie die Datei Hammerfall DSP ASIO in jedem ASIO Drivers Ordner Ihres Rechners.

Die Treiberdateien befinden sich nach dem Auspacken in Ordnern, deren Name das jeweilige Kopierziel angibt! Die Treiberinstallation geschieht manuell in 5 Schritten:

1. Ziehen Sie die sich im Ordner 'into System folder' befindende Datei Hammerfall DSP Driver auf den System-Ordner. Die Installation erfolgt automatisch in den Ordner Systemerweiterungen. Bestätigen Sie die Rückfrage des Systems zur Installation. Danach sollte sich die Treiberdatei im Ordner Systemerweiterungen befinden, siehe Bild rechts.






2. Kopieren Sie die Dateien Hammerfall DSP Settings, Hammerfall DSP ASIO und Hammerfall DSP ASIO 96 kHz aus dem Ordner 'into ASIO Drivers folder' in jeden ASIO Drivers Ordner Ihres Rechners. Da jedes ASIO-fähige Programm einen eigenen solchen Ordner besitzt, müssen die Dateien mehrmals von Hand kopiert werden.





Die Konfiguration der Hammerfall DSP erfolgt durch Aufruf des Settings-Dialoges aus dem jeweiligen ASIO-Programm heraus (z.B. Audio/System/ASIO-Systemsteuerung). Um den Settingsdialog jederzeit aufrufen zu können, empfiehlt sich die Erzeugung eines Alias beispielsweise auf dem Desktop. Ein Alias entsteht, wenn Sie Hammerfall DSP Settings mit dem Mauszeiger anfassen, die Tastenkombination Befehl-Wahl (Apfel-Alt) gedrückt halten, und Hammerfall DSP Settings an den gewünschten Ort ziehen.

3. Kopieren Sie nun den kompletten Unterordner Hammerfall DSP, der sich im Ordner 'into Preferences folder' befindet, in den Systemordner Preferences. Auf diese Weise sind die zum HDSP-System gehörenden Dateien in einem eigenen Unterordner, so dass der Ordner Preferences Übersichtlicher bleibt. Ausserdem vereinfacht sich das Löschen dieser Dateien im Falle eines Treiberupdates. 'Hammerfall DSP' enthält 10 Dateien:

default.mix: Default-Einstellung für TotalMix
default.vol: Defaulteinstellung für Digi/Multiface, solange TotalMix noch nicht gestartet wurde
preset1.mix bis preset8.mix: Presets des HDSP-Mischers

4. Die Datei Hammerfall DSP TotalMix kann an jeden gewünschten Ort kopiert werden. Beim Aufruf erscheint der HDSP-Mischer und erlaubt eine Konfiguration des digitalen Echtzeit-Mischers des Digiface.
 

TotalMix erfordert die Carbon Library 1.1, die seit Mac OS 9.1 im System enthalten ist. Nach der Installation der Carbon Library 1.1 ist TotalMix auch unter älteren Systemen lauffähig (ab 8.6).

5. Um die MIDI-Ports des HDSP-Systems nutzen zu können muss zunächst OMS (Open Music System) der Firma Opcode installiert werden. Die aktuelle Version 2.3.8 kann kostenlos von

http://www.opcode.com

heruntergeladen werden. Kopieren Sie dann die im Ordner 'into OMS Folder folder' befindliche Datei HDSP_OMSDriver in den Systemordner 'OMS Folder'.

Zum Abschluss der Installation ist der Rechner neu zu booten.

Nach dem Neustart ist der MIDI-Treiber zwar verfügbar, aber noch nicht aktiv. Erstellen Sie dazu ein neues OMS Studio Setup. Über die Funktion 'Search' kann der MIDI-Treiber des Digiface gesucht und der Liste hinzugefügt werden. Damit ist er nun aktivierbar.

2. Hardware Kompatibilität (Top)

Eine Aktivierung von OMS MIDI führt auf den Titanium Powerbooks G4 550 MHz und höher zu Knacksern bei der Audio-Wiedergabe. Nach unseren Tests führt die bei MIDI maximale Interrupt-Häufigkeit der HDSP bei diesen PowerBooks unregelmässig zu einem Fehlverhalten des DMA-Controllers, mit Aussetzern bei der Datenübertragung zur HDSP. Besitzer der betroffenen Notebooks, die auf MIDI angewiesen sind, sollten auf OS X updaten, da dort dieser Effekt nicht mehr auftritt.

Generelle PCI-Inkompatibilitäten

Folgende Symptome deuten auf PCI-bedingte Probleme hin:

  • Die Kontrollfelder erscheinen beim Booten zu gross oder sind wild über den Bildschirm verteilt
  • Absturz von Programm oder OS, sobald die Karte benutzt wird

Diese Probleme treten eventuell auf älteren Rechnern (vor G3) auf, und lassen sich normalerweise entweder durch Nutzung eines anderen PCI-Slots, oder gleichzeitiges Umstecken weiterer PCI-Geräte (wie SCSI-Controller oder Grafikkarte) beseitigen.

3. Software-Kompatibilität (Top)

Die Hammerfall DSP Serie ist kompatibel zu den bekannten ASIO 'Major-Applications', wie Cubase VST, emagic Logic, Opcode Studio Vision PRO, Prosoniq Sonic WORX, TC SPARK, Peak von Bias, Motu Digital Performer, Max/MSP von Cycling '74 und Super Collider.

4. Bekannte Probleme (Top)

Peak stürzt im ASIO Betrieb ab sobald die Latenz geändert wird

Dies passiert nur im laufenden Betrieb. Stoppen Sie Wiedergabe und Aufnahme. Unter Audio/Sound Out/ASIO muss 'Active in background' deaktiviert werden. Nun lässt sich die Latenz ohne Probleme umschalten.

Die Funktion 'Reset Devices/Geräte zurücksetzen' in Cubase bewirkt nichts

Dies war ein Bug in Cubase. 'Reset Devices' bzw. 'Geräte zurücksetzen' resettet derzeit nur MIDI-Geräte, jedoch keine Audio-Geräte.

Hauptseite    News    AD/DA-Wandler    Digitalkarten    MADI Serie     DIGICheck    Mic Preamps
Zubehör    Support    RME Newsgroup    Rund um RME    Bezugsquellen    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. RME ist ein eingetragenes Markenzeichen.
Diese Website enthält Namen und Marken anderer Firmen