Info page: DIGI96® Series Driver for Mac OS 9.x®

»Mac OS Overview

1. Installation (Top)

Please first decompress the driver archive using Aladdin Stuffit Expander.

If you already installed an older version of the driver first make sure to remove all old files. To do so open the 'Extensions' folder which is inside your 'System' folder. Remove all files which have a 'DIGI96' at the beginning of their names. Remove every 'DIGI96 ASIO' file from all 'ASIO Drivers' folders of your computer.

Drag the new driver (same name as the card that you use) and the file 'DIGI96 Sound Component' to the System folder. They will be installed automatically into the 'Extension' folder. Confirm the system's message to complete the installation. Now the driver files should be found in the 'Extension' folder, see example to the right.  

Copy the new files 'RME DIGI Settings' and 'DIGI96 ASIO' into all 'ASIO Drivers' folders found on your computer. As every ASIO software has its own ASIO Drivers folder the files have to be copied several times. The picture to the right shows an example after installation of Hammerfall and DIGI96.

Configuration of the DIGI96 series cards is done through the Settings dialog, which can be called from within any ASIO compatible software (for example Audio/System/ASIO Control Panel). To be able to call up the Settings dialog at any time create an Alias on the desktop. Select 'RME DIGI Settings' with the mouse cursor, press and hold the Apple and Alt keys on your keyboard, and drag 'RME DIGI Settings' to the desired location. With this all RME cards can be configured easily even without starting an ASIO software.

To finish installation reboot the computer.

2. Hardware compatibility (Top)

G4 Mac with Sawtooth Board (also latest Gigabit Ethernet and Dual CPU models)

In Sawtooth boards cards of the DIGI96 series do not work in slot 2 (B, next to the graphics card.) Although the system recognizes the card correctly as PCI device no address is assigned (no configuration write access possible.) Therefore the card seems to be installed, but can't be initialized from the OS. Please use the other two PCI slots.

Blue & White G3 Macs

In Yosemite boards cards of the DIGI96 series do not work in slot 11 (next to the graphics card.) Although the system recognizes the card correctly as PCI device no address is assigned (no configuration write access possible.) Therefore the card seems to be installed, but can't be initialized from the OS. Please use the other two PCI slots.

General PCI related problems

The following symptoms are typical for PCI related problems:

  • The control panel of the Sound Manager is crossed red
  • When booting the control panels are displayed too big, or spread across the whole screen
  • Software or OS crash as soon as the card is used

These problems were reported with older computers (prior to G3.) They can be solved in most cases by simply using a different slot, or by exchanging slots with other PCI cards (like SCSI controllers or graphics cards.)

3. Software compatibility (Top)

The DIGI96 series is compatible to all major ASIO applications, like Cubase VST, emagic Logic, Opcode Studio Vision PRO, Prosoniq Sonic WORX, TC SPARK, Peak from Bias, Max/MSP from Cycling '74 and Motu Digital Performer. Furthermore there is compatibility to the following programs:

Adobe Premier 4.2J
Adobe AfterEffect 3.1J
Amadeus 1.44
Apple's Movie Player / Quick Time movie player (included with Quick Time 2.5)
Coaster 1.03
D-Sound Pro 3.5 (error message, problem with first recording, then ok)
MaCthugha 1.0
MelodyAssistant 1.2 / 3.48
ModPlayer 2.11
Player Pro 4.5.9
ProAudioAnalyzer 2.0
Pro Tools / PowerMix 3.4
Rebirth 1.0
Simple Sound
SndSampler 3.4
SoundEdit16 1.x / 2.x / Pro
SoundSculptor II v2.4.1
SoundTracker 2.0.1
SoundApp 2.5
SoundEffects 0.92
SoundStudio Lite 2.0
SoundMachine 2.1
Sound cdev
Super Collider
U and I / Meta synth
UltraRecorder
VocalWriter 1.0
yaSoundRecorder

Please note that all Sound Manager based software does only work fully correctly with Apple's own (internal) hardware. The Sound Manager wasn't designed to be used with external professional digital I/O hardware.

4. Known problems (Top)

The card's input can't be changed in the Sound dialog (Sound Manager)

This is not a bug but a feature. We have disabled the input selection in all dialogs which call Sound Manager functions. For a better overview the currently active input is displayed. Selecting an input is ONLY done through 'RME DIGI Settings'.

Peak crashes in ASIO mode as soon as latency is changed

This only happens while running. Stop playback and record. Under Audio/Sound Out/ASIO de-activate 'Active in background'. Now latency can be changed without problems.

The function 'Reset Devices' of Cubase seems to do nothing

This is a bug in Cubase. 'Reset Devices' currently only resets MIDI devices, but neither audio devices nor its internal audio engine.

As soon as Logic starts record or playback the digital output of the card is dead

As soon as the card is used with more than two channels it switches automatically from SPDIF into ADAT mode (see 'Output Status Display' in 'RME DIGI Settings'.) To prevent this behavior limit the number of I/O streams in Logic's 'Audio Hardware & Driver' dialog to two. In Cubase' 'VST Master' window de-activate all busses except the Master.

Home    News    Audio Converters    Sound Cards    DIGICheck    Accessories
Support    RME Newsgroup    Company Info    Purchasing    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. All rights reserved. RME is a registered trademark.
This website contains names and marks of other companies.

Infoseite zum DIGI96® Serie Treiber für Mac OS 9.x

Ȇbersicht Mac OS

1. Installation (Top)

Bitte das Treiberarchiv erst mit dem Aladdin Stuffit Expander dekomprimieren.

Wenn Sie bereits eine ältere Version der Treibersoftware für eine DIGI96 Karte installiert haben müssen Sie zunächst die alte Treibersoftware entfernen. Dazu öffnen Sie den Ordner 'Systemerweiterungen' in Ihrem 'Systemordner'. Ziehen Sie die Dateien 'DIGI96' und 'DIGI96 Thing' in den Papierkorb. Bei der DIGI96/8, PRO und PAD sind die Namen der Dateien entsprechend. Löschen Sie die Datei 'DIGI96 ASIO' in jedem 'ASIO Drivers' Ordner Ihres Rechners.

Ziehen Sie nach der Dekompression die dem Kartennamen entsprechende Treiberdatei und die Datei 'DIGI96 Sound Component' auf den System-Ordner. Die Installation erfolgt automatisch in den Ordner 'Systemerweiterungen'. Bestätigen Sie die Rückfrage des Systems zur Installation. Danach sollten sich die Treiberdateien im Ordner 'Systemerweiterungen' befinden, siehe Beispiel oben.

Kopieren Sie die Dateien 'RME DIGI Settings' und 'DIGI96 ASIO' in jeden 'ASIO Drivers' Ordner Ihres Rechners. Da jedes ASIO-fähige Programm einen eigenen solchen Ordner besitzt, müssen die Dateien mehrmals von Hand kopiert werden. Rechts ein Beispiel nach Installation einer Hammerfall und einer DIGI96 Karte.

Um den Settingsdialog auch im Betrieb mit Sound Manager bequem aufrufen zu können, empfiehlt sich die Erzeugung eines Alias beispielsweise auf dem Desktop. Ein Alias entsteht, wenn Sie 'RME DIGI Settings' mit dem Mauszeiger anfassen, die Tastenkombination Befehl-Wahl (Apfel-Alt) gedrückt halten, und 'RME DIGI Settings' an den gewünschten Ort ziehen. Damit sind alle im System vorhandenen DIGI-Karten jederzeit konfigurierbar.

Zum Abschluss der Installation ist der Rechner neu zu booten.

2. Hardware Kompatibilität (Top)

Blue & White G3 Macs

Im Yosemite-Board funktionieren Karten der DIGI96 Serie nicht in Slot 11 (direkt neben der Grafikkarte). Zwar wird die Karte als PCI-Device vom System korrekt erkannt, bekommt jedoch keine Adresse zugewiesen, da Konfigurations-Schreibzugriffe fehlschlagen. Daher scheint die Karte korrekt vorhanden zu sein, das Betriebssystem kann sie jedoch nicht initialisieren. Bitte verwenden Sie die beiden anderen PCI-Slots.

G4 Mac mit Sawtooth Board

Im Sawtooth Board funktionieren Karten der DIGI96 Serie nicht in Slot 2 (B, direkt neben der Grafikkarte). Zwar wird die Karte als PCI-Device vom System korrekt erkannt, bekommt jedoch keine Adresse zugewiesen, da Konfigurations-Schreibzugriffe fehlschlagen. Daher scheint die Karte korrekt vorhanden zu sein, das Betriebssystem kann sie jedoch nicht initialisieren. Bitte verwenden Sie die beiden anderen PCI-Slots.

Generelle PCI-Inkompatibilitäten

Folgende Symptome deuten auf PCI-bedingte Probleme hin:

  • Das Kontrollfeld des Sound Managers ist rot durchgestrichen
  • Die Kontrollfelder erscheinen beim Booten zu gross oder sind wild über den Bildschirm verteilt
  • Absturz von Programm oder OS, sobald die Karte benutzt wird

Diese Probleme treten mit älteren Rechnern (vor G3) auf, und lassen sich normalerweise entweder durch Nutzung eines anderen PCI-Slots, oder gleichzeitiges Umstecken weiterer PCI-Geräte (wie SCSI-Controller oder Grafikkarte) beseitigen.

3. Software-Kompatibilität (Top)

Die DIGI96 Serie ist kompatibel zu den bekannten ASIO 'Major-Applications', wie Cubase VST, emagic Logic, Opcode Studio Vision PRO, Prosoniq Sonic WORX, TC SPARK, Peak von Bias, Max/MSP von Cycling '74 und Motu Digital Performer. Darüber hinaus sind uns unter anderem folgende Programme bekannt, welche mit den DIGIs benutzt werden können:

Adobe Premier 4.2J
Adobe AfterEffect 3.1J
Amadeus 1.44
Apple's Movie Player / Quick Time movie player (included with Quick Time 2.5)
Coaster 1.03
D-Sound Pro 3.5 (Fehlermeldungen, Problem bei erster Aufnahme, dann OK)
MaCthugha 1.0
MelodyAssistant 1.2 / 3.48
ModPlayer 2.11
Player Pro 4.5.9
ProAudioAnalyzer 2.0
Pro Tools / PowerMix 3.4
Rebirth 1.0
Simple Sound
SndSampler 3.4
SoundEdit16 1.x / 2.x / Pro
SoundSculptor II v2.4.1
SoundTracker 2.0.1
SoundApp 2.5
SoundEffects 0.92
SoundStudio Lite 2.0
SoundMachine 2.1
Sound cdev
Super Collider
U and I / Meta synth
UltraRecorder
VocalWriter 1.0
yaSoundRecorder

Bitte beachten Sie, dass System-bedingt alle auf dem Sound Manager basierenden Programme nur mit der Apple-eigenen (also internen) Hardware einwandfrei funktionieren können. Der Sound Manager wurde nicht für den Betrieb mit professioneller Digital I/O Hardware entworfen.

4. Bekannte Probleme (Top)

Der Eingang der Karte lässt sich im Ton Dialog (Sound Manager) nicht einstellen

Dies ist kein Bug, sondern ein Feature. In Dialogen welche auf den Sound Manager zurückgreifen haben wir die Eingangswahl gesperrt. Zwecks Information wird jedoch der derzeit aktive Eingang angezeigt. Die Eingangswahl selbst geschieht ausschliesslich über 'RME DIGI Settings'.

Peak stürzt im ASIO Betrieb ab sobald die Latenz umgeschaltet wird

Dies passiert nur im laufenden Betrieb. Stoppen Sie Wiedergabe und Aufnahme. Unter Audio/Sound Out/ASIO muss 'Active in background' deaktiviert werden. Nun lässt sich die Latenz ohne Probleme umschalten.

Die Funktion 'Reset Devices/Geräte zurücksetzen' in Cubase bewirkt nichts

Dies ist ein Bug in Cubase. 'Reset Devices' bzw. 'Geräte zurücksetzen' resettet derzeit nur MIDI-Geräte, jedoch weder Audio-Geräte noch die interne Audio Engine.

Sobald Logic mit Record oder Playback beginnt fällt der digitale Ausgang der Karte aus

Wenn die Karte mit mehr als zwei Kanälen angesprochen wird schaltet sie automatisch vom SPDIF in den ADAT Modus (siehe auch 'Output Status Display' in 'RME DIGI Settings'). Um dies zu verhindern muss in Logic unter 'Audio Hardware & Treiber' die maximale Anzahl von I/O Streams auf 2 gesetzt werden. In Cubase sind im Output Master alle Busse (ausser dem Master) zu deaktivieren.

Hauptseite    News    AD/DA-Wandler    Digitalkarten    MADI Serie     DIGICheck    Mic Preamps
Zubehör    Support    RME Newsgroup    Rund um RME    Bezugsquellen    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. RME ist ein eingetragenes Markenzeichen.
Diese Website enthält Namen und Marken anderer Firmen