ALSA Linux Driver for RME Digital Audio Cards

»Linux Driver Overview

The Advanced Linux Sound Architecture project (ALSA) was founded 1998 by Jaroslav Kysela. It is intended to improve sound support for Linux, thanks to an improved software design and the ability to fully utilize Linux-specific features. ALSA provides free drivers for the most popular audio cards; at the same time, its design allows multi-channel operation at 24 bit/96 kHz with very low latency and very low CPU load.

At the end of 1999 the German Linux distributor SuSE began sponsoring the project. Their financial and logistical support is there to further improve ALSA and to ensure the merge into the official Linux kernel tree. For the German speaking readers see this smart introduction to ALSA, an article named
Neue Klänge from the German magazine iX.

Hammerfall under Linux

Since January 2000, the latest version of ALSA includes full support for the RME Hammerfall and Hammerfall Light (except ADAT Sync - coming soon.) The RME Hammerfall is the first professional digital audio card which can use its full potential under Linux, all 52 channels and full 24 bit resolution. The efficient driver concept allows an operation on usual PC's at 20 ms latency and full channel usage causing a CPU load between 2 and 5%.

We are sure that many programmers will now view the availability of the Hammerfall driver, combined with Linux' own performance and stability, as an excellent reason to develop new multi-track applications for Linux. Several native projects are already known to talk directly to the card, thus realizing a totally new potential with realtime applications (jMAX from IRCAM, pd from Miller Puckett) and on different computer systems (e.g. Compaq/DEC Alpha.)

ALSA support for the Hammerfall breaks the annoying chicken/egg principle: no professional hardware/driver - no professional software... RME is proud to be a part of this first big step for Linux towards a professional audio usage. Possibly bothered by the Hammerfall's appearance on the Linux scene, some of our competitors have now followed our example. Drivers for other well-known cards and chips in the professional market are expected in the near future. Meanwhile, the Hammerfall is a breakthrough for pro audio on Linux, as the first professional card available with full support for multitrack applications.

ALSA Resources

Applications having ALSA Support

Meanwhile several native ALSA applications exist.

The picture to the right shows the ALSAPlayer, an audio player supporting several file formats from MP3 to WAV.

More applications can be found on the ALSA website and inside the ALSA FAQ.

An excellent, general overview on Linux audio software can be found at Sound & MIDI Software for Linux.

 

RME would like to thank Mr. Winfried Ritsch from the Institut für elektronische Musik (IEM), Graz (Institute for electronic music.) He convinced us that ALSA has a future and wrote a native (non-ALSA) version of the driver. We would also like to thank Mr. Paul Davis, who implemented an ALSA version of the driver in an olympic-record-like short time. Mr. Davis is also available for questions regarding the use of the Hammerfall ALSA driver under Linux.

Home    News    Audio Converters    Sound Cards    MADI Series     DIGICheck   Mic Preamps
Accessories    Support    RME Newsgroup    Company Info    Purchasing    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. All rights reserved. RME is a registered trademark.
This website contains names and marks of other companies.

ALSA Linux Treiber für RME Digital Audio Karten

Ȇbersicht Linux Treiber

Das Projekt Advanced Linux Sound Architecture, kurz ALSA, wurde 1998 von Jaroslav Kysela gegründet. Es soll eine kostenlose Unterstützung aktueller Soundkarten ermöglichen. ALSAs Flexibilität macht vor echten Profikarten nicht Halt und erlaubt erstmals vollständigen Mehrkanalbetrieb mit 24 Bit/96 kHz und sehr geringer Latenzzeit, bei vernachlässigbarer CPU-Belastung.

Ende 1999 wurde der deutsche Linux Distributor SuSE als Sponsor gewonnen. Damit stehen die finanziellen und logistischen Mittel bereit, ALSA weiter voranzutreiben und in den offiziellen Linux Kernel zu integrieren. Einen Überblick über ALSA gewährt der Online-Artikel
Neue Klänge der Zeitschrift iX.

Hammerfall unter Linux

Seit Januar 2000 enthält ALSA eine vollwertige Unterstützung der RME Hammerfall und Hammerfall Light (ausser ADAT Sync). Damit ist die RME Hammerfall die erste professionelle Digital Audio Karte überhaupt, welche unter Linux uneingeschränkt volle Kanalzahl und Auflösung zur Verfügung stellt. Das performante Treiber-Konzept erlaubt einen Einsatz auf üblichen PCs bei 20 ms Latenz und voller Kanalzahl mit einer CPU-Last zwischen 2 und 5%.

Zweifellos wird mit Hilfe der Hammerfall in der nächsten Zeit intensiv an Mehrspurapplikationen für Linux gearbeitet werden. Bekannt sind schon mehrere native Projekte, welche die Karte direkt ansprechen und so vollkommen neue Möglichkeiten unter Echtzeit-Anwendungen (jMAX von IRCAM, pd von Miller Puckett) und auch anderen Rechnersystemen (Dec-Alpha) erlauben.

Die Hammerfall durchbricht damit unter Linux das leidige Henne-Ei Prinzip: Keine amtliche Hardware/Treiber, keine professionelle Software... RME ist stolz an diesem ersten Schritt in Richtung professionellen Einsatzes einen entscheidenden Anteil geleistet zu haben. Aufgeschreckt vom unerwarteten Hammerfall-Support haben die ersten Mitbewerber inzwischen nachgezogen, Treiber für weitere Karten/Chips des professionellen Marktes sind in Arbeit. Damit darf die Hammerfall nicht nur als Durchbruch für professionelles Recording im Linux-Markt, sondern auch als Wegbereiter desselben bezeichnet werden.

Wo gibt es was

Applikationen mit ALSA Support

Inzwischen gibt es eine Reihe von nativen ALSA Applikationen.

Nebenstehendes Bild zeigt den ALSAPlayer, einen Audio Player für verschiedene Dateiformate von MP3 bis WAV.

Weitere Applikationen finden sich auf der ALSA Website und der ALSA FAQ.

Eine allgemeine Übersicht über Linux Audio Software bietet die Website Sound & MIDI Software for Linux.


 

RME dankt besonders Herrn Winfried Ritsch vom Institut für elektronische Musik (IEM), Graz. Er überzeugte uns von ALSA und schrieb den nativen Basis-Teil des Treibers. Unser Dank gilt auch Herrn Paul Davis, der diesen dann in rekord-verdächtiger Zeit zum vollständigen ALSA Treiber komplettierte. Herr Davis steht auch für Supportanfragen bezüglich des Hammerfall ALSA-Treibers zur Verfügung.
 

Hauptseite    News    AD/DA-Wandler    Digitalkarten    MADI Serie     DIGICheck    Mic Preamps
Zubehör    Support    RME Newsgroup    Rund um RME    Bezugsquellen    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. RME ist ein eingetragenes Markenzeichen.
Diese Website enthält Namen und Marken anderer Firmen