RME Newsletter November 16, 2001

1. Multiface shipping
2. Hammerfall DSP Driver and Tools Update for Windows
3. Audio/MIDI Timing inaccurate under W2k/XP Dual CPU
4. EPROM Update for ADI-8 DD
5. More frequent news in RME's forum

»Return to RME News and Information Index

1. Multiface shipping (Top)

As announced already on RME's forum, the Multiface is shipping. But due to the high demand and lots of pre-orders the unit will most probably not be available 'on stock' at many dealers before the end of the year. If you pre-ordered a unit outside of Germany you can expect to receive it within the next two weeks.

2. Hammerfall DSP Driver and Tools Update for Windows (Top)

The new driver version 2.0 of the Hammerfall DSP system can be downloaded from our website, for both Win 9x and W2k/XP. After installation of the new driver a flash update has to be performed. Download the special Flash Update Tool and follow the instructions on the screen.

Additionally we released the HDSP Meter Bridge 1.0, a highly configurable, accurate and functional level meter. It works directly with the HDSP system, thus can be used in parallel to any other program. It shows Peak, RMS and Over, all calculated directly in hardware, therefore causing only a minimal CPU load (graphics visualization.)

Also DIGICheck was updated. It includes several bugfixes, and adds support for the Multiface. Remember that special functions like the Bit Statistics need all incoming data, so they are only available when doing a record. Therefore DIGICheck will continue to be a valuable tool, even for the latest HDSP system.

As always the changes, fixes and enhancements are documented within the driver archive (readme.txt) and on our website (section Tech Info, Driver Updates.)

3. Audio/MIDI Timing inaccurate under W2k/XP Dual CPU (Top)

This issue with the MSI 6321 motherboard, which seemed to be fixed 6 months ago, has come back on the Epox EP-3DVA and the Tyan Tiger MP S2460. We have added a subdirectory within the driver archive (\audiomidifix), containing a special ASIO driver. For more detailed information please go to our website, section FAQ - Latest Additions.

4. EPROM Update for ADI-8 DD (Top)

RME offers a free EPROM update for the ADI-8 DD, the Universal Format Converter. It fixes two bugs:
BR> - CRC incorrect. Although this has no meaning for the audio data (which indeed are correct), it confuses users of digital devices which read and display the CRC status.

- Single wire to double wire and vice versa conversion not working correctly for the AES inputs.
BR> The update is needed for all devices shipped prior to the 9. November. Here is a simple way to check whether the unit needs the update:

- feed a simple 44.1 stereo signal containing music to AES input 1 (CD-player or similar)
- feed a second signal with silence (digital 0) to AES input 2 (CD-player stopped or similar)
- choose AES as input and clock source on the right side
- the level LEDs on the right side will show level only for channel 1 and 2
- activate DS on the right side
- only level LED 1 will show level

In case still both level LEDs 1/2 show level the EPROM has to be replaced. The single speed information from AES1 should be combined to be the double speed information of only one, the left channel. Therefore only the LED 1 should be active. With the new EPROM only LED 1 will show level in the above setup.

5. More frequent news in RME's forum (Top)

As you may have noticed our Newsletter is not bothering you very often. It is intended to be this way. But if you would like to be informed very fast and updated frequently on any news from RME, you are invited to join the RME forum. Here, RME is releasing news very early and often. It also covers topics that we would normally not include in a news letter, for example the 'fan bugfix' from Dell for the Inspiron 8100 notebook, or accessories which are available from RME, but not yet found on the RME website. More information on the newsgroup can be found here:

http://www.rme-audio.com/english/info/newsgrp.htm

Best regards
The RME Team

Copyright © Matthias Carstens, 2001.
All entries in this Newsletter have been thoroughly checked, however no guarantee for correctness can be given. RME cannot be held responsible for any misleading or incorrect information provided throughout this document. Lending or copying any part or the complete document or its contents is only possible with the written permission from RME.
 

Home    News    Audio Converters    Sound Cards    MADI Series     DIGICheck   Mic Preamps
Accessories    Support    RME Newsgroup    Company Info    Purchasing    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. All rights reserved. RME is a registered trademark.
This website contains names and marks of other companies.

RME Newsletter vom 16.11.2001

1. Multiface in Auslieferung
2. Hammerfall DSP Treiber und Tools Update für Windows
3. Audio/MIDI Timing nicht korrekt mit W2k/XP Dual CPU
4. EPROM Update für ADI-8 DD
5. Häufigere News im RME Forum

»Zurück zur Übersicht News und Infos

1. Multiface in Auslieferung (Top)

Wie im RME Forum bereits verkündet befindet sich das Multiface in Auslieferung. Aufgrund der enormen Nachfrage und zahlreicher Vorbestellungen ist jedoch damit zu rechnen, dass das Multiface bei vielen Händlern nicht vor Ende des Jahres 'auf Lager' ist. Wer ein Multiface vorbestellt hatte sollte dieses in Deutschland spätestens nächste Woche in den Händen halten.

2. Hammerfall DSP Treiber und Tools Update für Windows (Top)

Der neue Treiber 2.0 für das Hammerfall DSP System kann von unserer Website heruntergeladen werden, sowohl für Win 9x als auch W2k/XP. Nach der Installation des Treibers muss die Hardware per Flash-Update aktualisiert werden. Laden Sie sich das spezielle Flash Update Tool herunter und folgen Sie den Anweisungen am Bildschirm.

Ausserdem erhältlich ist die HDSP Meter Bridge 1.0, eine vielfältig konfigurierbare, höchst genaue und funktionelle Pegelanzeige. Die Meter Bridge kommuniziert direkt mit dem HDSP System, und kann daher parallel zu jedem beliebigen Programm arbeiten. Sie zeigt Peak, RMS und Over, allesamt in der Hardware berechnet, und verursacht daher nur eine minimale CPU-Last (durch die grafische Darstellung).

Auch DIGICheck erfuhr ein Update. Neben einigen Bugfixes unterstützt es jetzt auch das Multiface. Bedenken Sie, dass spezielle Funktionen wie die Bit Statistik alle hereinkommenden Daten benötigen, diese also nur über eine Aufnahmefunktion möglich sind. Daher bleibt DIGICheck auch weiterhin ein wertvolles Tool, selbst für das neueste HDSP System.

Wie immer sind die Änderungen, Fixes und Verbesserungen im Treiberarchiv dokumentiert (liesmich.txt), sowie auf unserer Website hinterlegt (Sektion Tech Info, Treiber Updates).

3. Audio/MIDI Timing nicht korrekt mit W2k/XP Dual CPU (Top)

Dieses vom MSI 6321 Motherboard bekannte Problem, welches vor 6 Monaten beseitigt schien, hat uns wieder beglückt, in Form des Epox EP-3DVA und des Tyan Tiger MP S2460. Wir haben dem Treiberarchiv ein Unterverzeichnis hinzugefügt (\audiomidifix), welches einen alternativen ASIO Treiber enthält. Nähere Informationen finden Sie auf unserer Website, Sektion FAQ - Neueste Ergänzungen.

4. EPROM Update für ADI-8 DD (Top)

RME bietet ein kostenloses EPROM Update für den ADI-8 DD, den Universal Format Converter. Es beseitigt zwei Bugs:

- CRC ungültig. Obwohl dies keine Bedeutung für die Audiodaten hat (die tatsächlich in Ordnung sind), führt der Fehlalarm bei Benutzer von Geräten, welche den CRC Status auswerten und anzeigen, zu Verwirrung.

- Single Wire von/zu Double Wire Wandlung funktioniert nicht korrekt mit den AES Eingängen.

Das Update ist bei allen Geräten notwendig, die vor dem 9. November ausgeliefert wurden. Ob das EPROM-Update notwendig ist kann vergleichsweise einfach getestet werden:

- Legen Sie ein einfaches 44,1 Stereo Signal mit Musikinhalt an den Eingang AES 1 (CD-Player oder ähnliches)
- Legen Sie ein zweites Signal mit Stille (Digital 0) an den Eingang AES 2 (CD-Player gestoppt oder ähnliches)
- Wählen Sie auf der rechten Seite AES sowohl als Eingang als auch als Clock-Quelle
- Die Level LEDs 1/2 auf der rechten Seite leuchten
- Aktivieren Sie nun DS, so dass die DS LED leuchtet
- Nur noch die Level LED 1 leuchtet auf der rechten Seite

Wenn weiterhin die Level LEDs 1/2 leuchten ist das EPROM fehlerhaft. Die Single Speed Daten des AES1 Einganges sollten zu Double Speed Daten nur eines Kanales, des linken, zusammengefasst werden. Daher sollte nur LED 1 leuchten. Mit dem neuen EPROM wird im obigen Setup nur die Level LED 1 ein Signal anzeigen.

5. Häufigere News im RME Forum (Top)

Wie Sie sicher bemerkt haben belästigt Sie der RME Newsletter nur sehr selten. Das ist auch so gewollt. Wenn Sie aber gerne öfter und schneller über Neuigkeiten bei RME informiert werden möchten, empfehlen wir einen regelmässigen Besuch unseres Forums. In diesem werden Neuigkeiten regelmässig und sehr früh veröffentlicht. Das Forum deckt auch Themen ab, die wir im Newsletter normalerweise nicht behandeln, zum Beispiel den 'Fan Bugfix' von Dell für das Notebook Inspiron 8100, oder Zubehör von RME, welches noch nicht auf der Website zu finden ist. Mehr Informationen zum Forum finden Sie hier:

http://www.rme-audio.de/info/newsgrp.htm

Mit freundlichen Grüssen
Ihr RME Team

Copyright © Matthias Carstens, 2001.
Alle Angaben in diesem Newsletter sind sorgfältig geprüft, dennoch kann eine Garantie auf Korrektheit nicht übernommen werden. Eine Haftung von RME für unvollständige oder unkorrekte Angaben kann nicht erfolgen. Weitergabe und Vervielfältigung dieses Dokumentes und die Verwertung seines Inhalts sind nur mit schriftlicher Erlaubnis von RME gestattet.

Hauptseite    News    AD/DA-Wandler    Digitalkarten    MADI Serie     DIGICheck    Mic Preamps
Zubehör    Support    RME Newsgroup    Rund um RME    Bezugsquellen    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. RME ist ein eingetragenes Markenzeichen.
Diese Website enthält Namen und Marken anderer Firmen