RME Newsletter January 12, 2001

1. The revolution in mobile hard disk recording: Hammerfall DSP
2. ADI-8 DD: 8-channel 24 bit/96 kHz universal format converter
3. Update: USB kills audio

»Return to RME News and Information Index

1. The revolution in mobile hard disk recording: Hammerfall DSP (Top)

A real revolution in mobile recording is introduced with the new Hammerfall DSP series. The system consists of a PCMCIA type II card as computer interface and various I/O boxes optimized for different applications, offering several analog, digital and MIDI I/Os.

In order to demonstrate the power of this notebook card, RME has in the first place realized a highly extended version of the PCI card Project Hammerfall (DIGI9652.) The I/O box of the Hammerfall DSP system called Multiface has 3 ADAT optical I/Os, ADAT-Sync In, S/PDIF I/O and word clock I/O like its predecessor. On top, there are 2 MIDI I/Os and a separate analog line out. All this can be used on usual notebooks with the same 'zero cpu load' and low latency (down to 1.5 ms with ASIO) as on a desktop PC!

The Hammerfall DSP technology also includes a hardware mixer in TotalMix technology. Any input can be routed and mixed to any output. On top, every input and output can also be mixed to the analog output (submix.) TotalMix not only leads to perfect and complete ASIO direct monitoring, but is also useful without ASIO. Thanks to a proprietary mixer surface, submix and Zero Latency Monitoring can be used with all audio applications. An external mixer thus becomes unnecessary in many cases.

Hammerfall DSP implements RME's DIGICheck in hardware: level metering of 54 channels at the same time with a minimum CPU load, because the data for display is already calculated in the hardware. The hardware catches both peak and RMS values.

Hammerfall DSP will be shipped March 2001. Further I/O boxes will follow during the second quarter: Anaface offers 8 analog inputs and outputs, S/PDIF, ADAT and MIDI. Proface offers digital I/Os in AES/EBU format. Portaface is the professional broadcast solution, with 2 microphone inputs, phantom powering, Limiter, S/PDIF I/O and analog monitor output.

More information can be found on our website.

2. ADI-8 DD: 8-channel 24 bit/96 kHz universal format converter (Top)

The ADI-8 DD is the all-in-one format and sample rate converter for every application, from 2 to 8 channels. It converts ADAT optical and TDIF to and from AES/EBU. 4 AES/EBU inputs and outputs each (XLR) and two ADAT optical and TDIF inputs and outputs each allow for full 8-channel operation at up to 24 bit/96 kHz. Switchable sample rate converters (SRC) in 24 bit quality allow for both highest quality sample rate conversion and clock decoupling of all AES/EBU inputs.

The compact device with 19" width and 1 HU has numerous exceptional features like Intelligent Clock Control (ICC), SyncCheck, SyncAlign, Bitclock PLL, digital patchbay functions, active jitter reduction per SD-PLL and 96kHz/24bit sample rate conversion. 16 LEDs on both input and output display the actual state of the incoming and outgoing signals and the operations within the device in a clear way. The rear of the ADI-8 DD is fitted with two ADAT optical and TDIF I/Os each (for 8 channels @ 96kHz), word clock I/O and 4 AES inputs and outputs on XLR jacks. Thus the ADI-8 DD also represents an ideal AES/EBU front end for the Hammerfall series.

Like all other ADI-8 the DD too includes a useful patchbay functionality. Thanks to the easy to use Copy Mode all attached devices can send signals to each other without the need to rearrange the cabling between them.

The ADI-8 DD shows an unsurpassed flexibility and compatibility together with a sensational price point. The ADI-8 DD is the long-awaited link in the semi-professional and professional area, from project studio to broadcast applications!

More information can be found on our website.

3. Update: USB kills audio (Top)

Shortly after NAMM an updated version of our Tech Info 'USB kills audio' will be uploaded to the website. Here is the most important information:

In the last weeks we have done many comparison tests, and were able to track down the real cause behind the effect of USB-caused distortion at low latency: it's the well-known Intel BX-chipset!

The contained USB controller 82371AB hogs the PCI bus, in case (as already described in the Tech Info) the Bulk transfer mode is used. BUT: this is only true for older BX-based motherboards, like the Asus P2B series, or the popular P3B-F. To be more precise: it only affects BX-boards that have only 2 USB ports!

On all newer boards having more than two USB ports the hogging no longer occurs, even when using the BX chipset (for example Asus CU-BX.) It seems the additional hub de-couples the controller, or changes the way it is used.

This also shows a simple solution for all owners of older boards, how to solve this problem: simply get yourself a (cheap) USB PCI card, and use its USB ports instead of those on the board.

According to our tests boards with Intel's i815, VIA's KT133 and 694 also work problem-free in critical USB usage.

Best regards
The RME Team

Copyright © Matthias Carstens, 2001.
All entries in this Newsletter have been thoroughly checked, however no guarantee for correctness can be given. RME cannot be held responsible for any misleading or incorrect information provided throughout this document. Lending or copying any part or the complete document or its contents is only possible with the written permission from RME.
 

Home    News    Audio Converters    Sound Cards    MADI Series     DIGICheck   Mic Preamps
Accessories    Support    RME Newsgroup    Company Info    Purchasing    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. All rights reserved. RME is a registered trademark.
This website contains names and marks of other companies.

RME Newsletter vom 12.01.2001

1. Die Revolution im mobilen Harddisk Recording: Hammerfall DSP
2. ADI-8 DD: 8-Kanal 24 Bit/96 kHz Universal Format Converter
3. Update: USB kills audio

»Zurück zur Übersicht News und Infos

1. Die Revolution im mobilen Harddisk Recording: Hammerfall DSP (Top)

Eine echte Revolution im mobilen Recording stellt die neue Hammerfall DSP Serie dar. Das System besteht aus einer PCMCIA Karte Typ II als Rechnerinterface, und verschiedenen I/O Boxen, welche - optimiert für unterschiedlichste Anwendungen - mehrere analoge, digitale und MIDI Ein- und Ausgänge bereitstellen.

Um die Leistungsfähigkeit der Notebook-Karte zu demonstrieren hat RME als erstes eine stark erweiterte Version der PCI-Karte Project Hammerfall (DIGI9652) realisiert. Die Multiface genannte I/O Box des Hammerfall DSP Systems bietet wie ihr Vorbild 3 x ADAT optical I/O, ADAT-Sync In, SPDIF I/O und Wordclock I/O. Darüber hinaus stehen 2 MIDI I/O und ein separater analoger Line Ausgang bereit. All dies kann auf üblichen Notebooks mit der gleichen 'Null Prozent CPU' Belastung und niedrigen Latenz (bis zu 1,5 ms bei ASIO) wie auf Desktop PCs genutzt werden!

Die Hammerfall DSP Technologie bietet zudem einen Hardwaremischer in TotalMix-Technologie. Alle Eingänge können frei auf alle Ausgänge geroutet und gemischt werden. Alle Ein- und Ausgänge können ausserdem auf den analogen Ausgang gemischt werden (Submix). TotalMix ergibt nicht nur perfektes und vollständiges ASIO Direct Monitoring, sondern ist auch ohne ASIO nutzbar. Dank eigener Mischeroberfläche lassen sich Submix und Zero Latency Record Monitoring mit allen Audio-Programmen nutzen.

Hammerfall DSP implementiert zusätzlich RME's DIGICheck in Hardware: Pegelanzeige von 54 Kanälen gleichzeitig bei minimaler CPU-Belastung, da die anzuzeigenden Daten bereits in der Hardware berechnet werden. Die Hardware erfasst sowohl Peak- als auch RMS-Werte.

Hammerfall DSP wird voraussichtlich ab März 2001 ausgeliefert. Im zweiten Quartal folgen weitere I/O-Boxen: Anaface bietet 8 analoge Ein- und Ausgänge, SPDIF, ADAT und MIDI. Proface stellt digitale Schnittstellen im AES/EBU Format zur Verfügung. Portaface ist die professionelle Lösung für den Rundfunk, mit 2 Mikrofoneingängen, Phantomspeisung, Limiter, SPDIF I/O und analogem Monitorausgang.

Weitere Infos zur Hammerfall DSP Serie finden Sie auf unserer Website.

2. ADI-8 DD: 8-Kanal 24 Bit/96 kHz Universal Format Converter (Top)

Der ADI-8 DD ist der All-in-One Format und Sample Rate Converter für jeden Anwendungsfall, von 2- bis 8-Kanal. Das Gerät kann die Formate ADAT optical und TDIF von und zu AES/EBU wandeln. Je 4 AES/EBU Ein- und Ausgänge (XLR) und je zwei ADAT optical und TDIF Ein- und Ausgänge erlauben vollen 8-Kanal Betrieb selbst bei 24 Bit/96 kHz. Zuschaltbare Sample Rate Converter, ebenfalls in bestechender 24 Bit Qualität, realisieren sowohl eine Sampleratenkonvertierung in höchster Qualität, als auch eine Clock-Entkopplung aller AES/EBU Eingänge.

Das kompakte Gerät mit 19" Breite und 1 HE verfügt über zahlreiche außergewöhnliche Merkmale, wie Intelligent Clock Control (ICC), SyncCheck, SyncAlign, Bitclock PLL, digitale Patchbay Funktionen, aktive Jitter-Unterdrückung per SD-PLL und 96 kHz/24 Bit Sample Rate Conversion. Über jeweils 16 verschiedenfarbige Leuchtdioden wird der aktuelle Zustand der ein- und ausgehenden Signale, sowie der im Gerät stattfindenden Vorgänge Übersichtlich angezeigt. Auf der Rückseite des ADI-8 DD finden sich je zwei ADAT optical Ein- und Ausgänge, zwei TDIF Schnittstellen, Wordclock I/O und je vier AES/EBU XLR-Buchsen. Damit stellt der ADI-8 DD auch ein ideales AES/EBU-Frontend für RME's Hammerfall Serie dar.

Wie alle ADI-8 bietet auch der DD eine nützliche Patchbay-Funktion. Durch den einfach zu aktivierenden Copy Mode kann - ohne umzuverkabeln - problemlos zwischen allen angeschlossenen Geräten kopiert und verteilt werden.

Der ADI-8 DD weist unübertroffene Flexibilität und Kompatibilität gepaart mit einem sensationellen Preis/Leistungsverhältnis auf. Der ADI-8 DD ist das lang erwartete Bindeglied im semi- und professionellen Bereich, vom Projektstudio bis zum Rundfunk!

3. Update: USB kills audio (Top)

Kurz nach der NAMM Show wird eine aktualisierte Tech Info 'USB kills audio' im Web verfügbar sein. Eine Kurzfassung vorab:
In der letzten Zeit konnten wir durch zahlreiche Vergleichstests den eigentlichen Übeltäter für die von uns bei niedriger Latenz von USB verursachten Störungen herausfinden: Es handelt sich um den berühmten BX-Chipsatz von Intel!

Der darin enthaltene USB Controller 82371AB verursacht eine Blockade des PCI-Bus, wenn (wie bereits in der Tech Info beschrieben) der Bulk Transfer Modus verwendet wird. Dieser Effekt betrifft jedoch nur die älteren Generationen von Motherboards mit BX-Chipsatz, wie die Asus P2B Serie, aber auch das P3B-F. Genauer gesagt alle BX-Boards mit nur 2 USB-Anschlüssen!

Auf allen neueren Boards, welche mehr als zwei USB-Anschlüsse bereitstellen, tritt dieser Effekt auch beim BX-Chipsatz nicht mehr auf (wie z.B. Asus CU-BX). Durch den zusätzlichen Hub wird der Controller anscheinend entkoppelt oder anders angesprochen, eine Blockade ist nicht mehr nachweisbar.

Damit zeigt sich auch eine einfache Lösung, wie Besitzer betroffenener Boards in den Genuss von USB kommen: durch den Kauf einer (vergleichsweise) günstigen USB PCI Karte, deren USB-Ports dann statt der auf dem Board verwendet werden.

Nach unseren Tests arbeiten Boards mit Intels i815, VIAs KT133 und 694 ebenfalls stressfrei im kritischen USB-Betrieb.

Mit freundlichen Grüssen
Ihr RME Team

Copyright © Matthias Carstens, 2001.
Alle Angaben in diesem Newsletter sind sorgfältig geprüft, dennoch kann eine Garantie auf Korrektheit nicht übernommen werden. Eine Haftung von RME für unvollständige oder unkorrekte Angaben kann nicht erfolgen. Weitergabe und Vervielfältigung dieses Dokumentes und die Verwertung seines Inhalts sind nur mit schriftlicher Erlaubnis von RME gestattet.
 

Hauptseite    News    AD/DA-Wandler    Digitalkarten    MADI Serie     DIGICheck    Mic Preamps
Zubehör    Support    RME Newsgroup    Rund um RME    Bezugsquellen    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. RME ist ein eingetragenes Markenzeichen.
Diese Website enthält Namen und Marken anderer Firmen