RME Newsletter April 24, 2003

1. New ASIO multiclient drivers
2. New DIGICheck 3.1
3. New products in 2003
4. Awards for Hammerfall DSP system

»Return to RME News and Information Index

1. New ASIO multiclient drivers (Top)

RME has just released new W2k/XP ASIO multi-client drivers for the Hammerfall and Hammerfall DSP series. These are the news:

- ASIO multi-client operation. Of course you still have to make sure that all applications use exclusive channels on playback. So Cubase on 1 to 6, Wavelab on 7/8, Samplitude on 9 to 14, Reaktor on 15/16...or whatever you like. INPUTS are fully multiclient, so you can even use the same channels on different ASIO programs (this feature is also used for the new DIGICheck, which uses an ASIO interface for full record/playback multi-client operation, see below). And of course all applications have to use the same sample rate.

Hammerfall DSP series:
http://www.rme-audio.de/download/w2dsp253.zip

Hammerfall series:
http://www.rme-audio.de/download/w2k_205.zip

Just a note: in an earlier driver update we added direct multichannel surround playback, via analog or ADAT output. To use this feature we recommend PowerDVD 4.0 as DVD player. WinDVD can playback 2 channels, and AC3 via SPDIF, but can't be used for this new multichannel playback feature at this time.

As always the changes, fixes and enhancements are documented within the driver archive (readme.txt) and on our website (section Tech Info, Driver Updates).

2. New DIGICheck 3.1 (Top)

A pre-release of DIGICheck 4.0 has just been released. It will change the way you have worked until now significantly. Why?

  • Because DIGICheck is now working as hi-performance, fully multiclient ASIO host
  • Because you can analyze any input and playback channel completely independent from the currently running software (no output analyzis for non-Hammerfall cards, sorry).
  • Because you can analyze and measure signals above 0 dBFS (read the online help for more information on this interesting stuff)
  • Because the screen refresh rate can now be changed to give a realtime-like display (System Settings) with an extremely smooth release behavior
  • Because this is all too good to be true - yes, it's still free!

Download it here:
http://www.digicheck.de/download/digicheck31.zip

This version is DIGICheck 3.1. We have a big list of further new features, bug fixes and improvements for the final 4.0. We expect about two more pre-releases in the next 8 weeks. There is just one current limitation that one should be aware of. The preferred sample rate will change the current sample rate if the card is master, even when another ASIO host is already running. And when using an ASIO Output Device, the sample rate is never set (the option will be grayed out later).

Please note that this version requires our latest Hammerfall (2.05) and HDSP (2.53) drivers to take advantage of all the advanced features.

3. New products in 2003 (Top)

RME has announced several new products to be shipped in 2003:

4. Awards for Hammerfall DSP system (Top)

Meanwhile the Hammerfall DSP system has won some remarkable awards. In december 2002, Computer Music gave the Multiface a 10 out of 10, the Ultimate Buy award and the Performance award. In January 2003 the Hammerfall DSP system won the Electronic Musician Editor's Choice. In march 2003 the Hammerfall DSP system won the Keys reader award as 'best audio hardware' for the second time (also back in march 2002!).

This tells us that we are doing it right. But we won't stop here. The Hammerfall DSP system is growing, and will be enhanced further by flash and driver updates. We will work hard to win some more awards ;-)

Best regards

The RME Team

Copyright © Matthias Carstens, 2003.
All entries in this Newsletter have been thoroughly checked, however no guarantee for correctness can be given. RME cannot be held responsible for any misleading or incorrect information provided throughout this document. Lending or copying any part or the complete document or its contents is only possible with the written permission from RME.

Home    News    Audio Converters    Sound Cards    MADI Series     DIGICheck   Mic Preamps
Accessories    Support    RME Newsgroup    Company Info    Purchasing    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. All rights reserved. RME is a registered trademark.
This website contains names and marks of other companies.

RME Newsletter vom 24.04.2003

1. Neue ASIO Multiclient Treiber
2. Neues DIGICheck 3.1
3. Neue Produkte 2003
4. Auszeichnungen für das Hammerfall DSP System

»Zurück zur Übersicht News und Infos

1. Neue ASIO Multiclient Treiber (Top)

Vor wenigen Tagen wurden die neuen W2k/XP ASIO Multiclient Treiber für die Hammerfall und Hammerfall DSP Serie veröffentlicht. Sie enthalten folgende neue Merkmale:

- ASIO Multiclient Betrieb. Selbstverständlich ist darauf zu achten, dass jede Applikation bei Wiedergabe exklusive Kanäle zugewiesen bekommt. Also beispielsweise Cubase von 1 bis 6, Wavelab auf 7/8, Samplitude auf 9 bis 14, Reaktor auf 15/16... INPUTS sind vollständig multiclient. Es können also Kanäle sogar gleichzeitig von verschiedenen ASIO-Programmen genutzt werden (dieses Merkmal wird auch für das neue DIGICheck benötigt, welches ein ASIO Interface für vollständigen Aufnahme/Wiedergabe Multiclient Betrieb nutzt, siehe unten). Und natürlich müssen alle Programme die gleiche Samplefrequenz nutzen.

Hammerfall DSP Serie:
http://www.rme-audio.de/download/w2dsp253.zip

Hammerfall Serie:
http://www.rme-audio.de/download/w2k_205.zip

Hinweis: Das vorherige Treiberupdate enthielt direktes Multichannel Surround Playback, via analogem Ausgang oder ADAT Schnittstelle. Zur Nutzung dieses Features empfehlen wir PowerDVD 4.0 als DVD player. WinDVD kann 2 Kanäle und AC3 über SPDIF abspielen, kann aber derzeit nicht für Multichannel Playback genutzt werden. Wie immer sind die Änderungen, Fixes und Verbesserungen im Treiberarchiv dokumentiert (liesmich.txt), sowie auf unserer Website hinterlegt (Sektion Tech Info, Treiber Updates).

2. Neues DIGICheck 3.1 (Top)

Eine Vorabversion des neuen DIGICheck 4.0 ist jetzt erhältlich. Diese Version wird Ihre bisherige Arbeitsweise deutlich ändern. Warum?

  • Weil DIGICheck jetzt als Hi-Performance, vollständig Multiclient-fähiger ASIO Host arbeitet
  • Weil Sie jetzt beliebige Eingänge und Wiedergabekanäle vollkommen unabhängig von der gerade laufenden Software analysieren können (keine Ausgangsanalyse bei DIGI32 und DIGI96 Karten, sorry).
  • Weil Sie Signale über 0 dBFS analysieren und messen können (weitere Informationen zu diesem interessanten Thema finden Sie in der Online-Hilfe)
  • Weil die Wiederholrate der Darstellung nun einstellbar ist, bis hin zu zu einem Echtzeit-ähnlichem Verhalten (System Settings), mit einem super-weichen und ruckelfreien Rücklauf
  • Weil das alles viel zu gut ist um Wahr zu sein - jawoll, DIGICheck ist immer noch gratis!

Download:
http://www.digicheck.de/download/digicheck31.zip

Diese Version ist DIGICheck 3.1. Wir haben eine lange Liste an weiteren Features, Bugfixes und Verbesserungen für das 4.0 Release. Wir erwarten zwei weitere Pre-Releases in den nächsten 8 Wochen. Derzeit gibt es nur eine Einschränkung die man kennen sollte. Die 'Prefered Sample Rate' ändert die Samplefrequenz selbst wenn die Karte Master ist, und auch wenn schon ein anderes ASIO-Programm läuft. Und wenn ein ASIO Output Device genutzt wird, wird die Sample Rate niemals gesetzt (die Option wird für diesen Fall später ausgegraut). Um alle neuen Merkmale nutzen zu können, sind die neuesten Treiber für Hammerfall (2.05) und HDSP (2.53) notwendig.

3. Neue Produkte 2003 (Top)

Wir haben zur Auslieferung in 2003 verschiedene neue Produkte angekündigt:

4. Auszeichnungen für das Hammerfall DSP System (Top)

Inzwischen hat das Hammerfall DSP System einige beachtenswerte Awards gewonnen. Im Dezember 2002 gab Computer Music dem Multiface 10 von 10 Punkten, den Ultimate Buy Award und den Performance Award. Im Januar 2003 erhielt das Hammerfall DSP System den Editor's Choice der Zeitschrift 'Electronic Musician'. Im März 2003 gewann das Hammerfall DSP System den Leser-Award der Zeitschrift Keys als 'Beste Audio Hardware', und das nach 2002 schon zum zweiten Mal!

Wir scheinen also auf dem richtigen Weg zu sein. Aber es geht weiter. Das Hammerfall DSP System wächst, und wird durch weitere Flash- und Treiberupdates noch leistungsfähiger werden. Wir arbeiten hart daran noch weitere Preise zu gewinnen! ;-)

Und möge das Wetter so bleiben...

Ihr RME Team

Copyright © Matthias Carstens, 2002.
Alle Angaben in diesem Newsletter sind sorgfältig geprüft, dennoch kann eine Garantie auf Korrektheit nicht übernommen werden. Eine Haftung von RME für unvollständige oder unkorrekte Angaben kann nicht erfolgen. Weitergabe und Vervielfältigung dieses Dokumentes und die Verwertung seines Inhalts sind nur mit schriftlicher Erlaubnis von RME gestattet.

Hauptseite    News    AD/DA-Wandler    Digitalkarten    MADI Serie     DIGICheck    Mic Preamps
Zubehör    Support    RME Newsgroup    Rund um RME    Bezugsquellen    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. RME ist ein eingetragenes Markenzeichen.
Diese Website enthält Namen und Marken anderer Firmen