ANALYZERS:

»Totalyser

»DIGICheck (Download)


The all-in-one analysis tool

Overview The Analyser The Goniometer The Totalyser
OVERVIEW TOTALYSER

Totalyser is the all-in-one analysis tool, worth a thousand dollars, and free for all RME card users! Totalyser assembles the most important audio meters in one window: a 30-band, 192-kHz capable, widely configurable analyzer, the world's first Goniometer (stereo vector scope) showing the typical afterglow of an oscilloscope tube, and Peak/RMS level meters.

Spectral Analyser and Goniometer are part of DIGICheck since version 3.0, meanwhile available as version 4.1. DIGICheck is easy to use and includes an extensive english online help.

 
THE ANALYSER

This professional and unique 30-band analyser uses extensive DSP routines as native software code - at a sensationally low CPU load.

As opposed to nearly all current PC-based solutions no FFT (Fast Fourier Transform) is used. This method offers no useable translation of sound into vision. The 'bands' of a FFT have a constant frequency distance, which results in the higher area in numerous bands, in the lower frequencies in very few bands. Some manufacturers try to work around this problem, but even then a sine will show a non-symmetrical display, and an insufficient separation between bands.

RME's Spectral Analyser performs a true bandpass filter calculation, as usual in all professional devices (hardware). The frequency distance between the filters is not linear, but scaled according to human hearing. The highly optimized software allows to run a 30 band analyser with 50 dB range, sharp filters and 100 LEDs per band, without driving the computer to its limits. On a Pentium III 600 MHz the CPU load is around 15%, including the unavoidable graphics load! (Update: P4 2.4 GHz less than 2%).

Thanks to its complete digital operation the Spectral Analyser offers features previously unavailable from analog analysers. These features include freely adjustable rise and release times, a display configurable in many ways, different filters and special display modes. Tanks to the high calculation accuracy of modern CPUs, the Analyser will show levels precisely down to a jaw dropping -140 dBFS.

Notes on Operation

The most important application using a Spectral Analyser is the visualization of frequencies and levels found in music or speech. What you see is what your hear! The Analyser shows levels and frequencies even at the edge of the human ear's abilities. The visual display helps to train your ears, and avoids serious mistakes when mixing to the master tape. Usual studio monitors won't let you hear frequencies below 100 Hz. Simply look on the Analyser to see what's going on in the underground!

Reading the display is not easy for novices, because of the huge amount of information that it shows. But after some training you'll agree that this tool is a precious help in every day work.

More notes on Analysis of Music, Special Display Modes, Sound Measurements, Special Applications and Noise Signals can be found in the extensive online-help of Totalyser.
 

THE GONIOMETER

In order to make level and phase differences between left and right channel visible, oscilloscopes were widely used. The right channel was sent to the X input, the left channel to the Y input, and the tube was turned 45 - ready was a Goniometer. This display can often be found especially in broadcast studios, but also in the post-pro and mastering field. For a long time dedicated devices were very expensive, and were finally pushed aside by Correlation Meters in the mid 80s, which could be manufactured in a much less expensive way. They offer considerably less information, but a phase problem can be easily detected in any case.

In the meantime Goniometers can be found more often again in the form of so-called Vector Scopes, included for free in many software applications. But their quality is, to put it mildly, unsatisfactory. Even those included in expensive 'professional' meter applications have little in common with the original. From our experience, all applications offer quite a bad readability and little expressiveness. After long optimization and implementation of sophisticated algorithms, we succeeded in creating a native software Goniometer, which not only generates very little CPU load, but also surpasses the visualization of the above mentioned clones considerably.


The biggest noticeable difference for you as the user is the fast and direct reaction with a maximum of displayed information. Instead of showing chains of single pixels, RME's Goniometer shows continuous (analogue) lines up to a genuine impenetrable woollen ball.

On top, we have not only implemented the typical afterglow of an oscilloscope tube, which is important for an easy readability, but we have also - which is only possible with a computer - made it variable. For both bright pixels (i. e. more recent ones) and darker pixels (i. e. older ones), there are separately adjustable afterglow times.

The Goniometer can be displayed small, medium or large on the screen.

 

 

 

Only with a professional implementation like RME's, a Goniometer makes sense. You will soon discover that the two-dimensional display, in contrast to a correlation meter, reveals a lot of interesting details, and after a short while of getting used to, yields a sensible and useful support for Level Meter and third-octave Spectral Analyser.

More notes on display of phase, display of level and Automatic Gain Control (AGC) can be found in Totalyser's extensive online-help. There you will also find more information about the other functions of Totalyser and DIGICheck, like the Correlation Meter and the Level Meter.
 

ALL TOGETHER - THE TOTALYSER
 
 
 
In Totalyser mode, Analyzer, Goniometer, Correlation Meter and Level Meter can be displayed simultaneously, giving you all the information that you need in one view. As in the single modes, you can again select between three different window sizes, small, medium and large.
 

Home    News    Audio Converters    Sound Cards    MADI Series     DIGICheck   Mic Preamps
Accessories    Support    RME Newsgroup    Company Info    Purchasing    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002-2004 RME. All rights reserved. RME is a registered trademark.
This website contains names and marks of other companies.

ANALYZER:

»Totalyser

»DIGICheck (Download)

Das all-in-one Analyse Tool

Übersicht Der Analyser Das Goniometer Der Totalyser
ÜBERSICHT

Top


Totalyser ist das all-in-one Analyse Tool, mehr als 1000 wert, und kostenlos für alle Besitzer einer RME Audiokarte! Totalyser fasst die wichtigsten Audiometer unter einer Oberfläche zusammen: einen 30-Band, 192-kHz fähigen, vielfältig konfigurierbaren Analyser, das weltweit erste Goniometer (Stereo Vector Scope) mit dem typischen Nachleuchten einer Oszilloskop-Röhre, und natürlich ein Peak/RMS Level Meter.

Spectral Analyser und Goniometer sind seit Version 3.0 Bestandteil von DIGICheck, welches inzwischen in Version 4.1 vorliegt. DIGICheck ist einfach zu bedienen und besitzt eine umfassende deutsche Online-Hilfe.
 
DER ANALYSER

Top


Dieser professionelle und einzigartige 30-Band Analyser nutzt aufwendige DSP-Routinen in Form nativen Softwarecodes - bei sensationell niedriger CPU-Belastung.

Im Gegensatz zu praktisch allen anderen PC-Lösungen arbeitet dieser Analyser nicht auf Basis einer FFT (Fast Fourier Transform). Ein solches Verfahren bietet keine brauchbare Umsetzung des akustischen Eindrucks in eine optische Darstellung. Bei einer FFT weisen die angezeigten 'Bänder' einen konstanten Frequenzabstand auf, wodurch sich im Hochtonbereich unnötig viele, im Bassbereich dagegen zu wenige zeigen. Einige Hersteller versuchen dieses Problem zu minimieren, doch selbst dann ergibt sich im Bassbereich ein unsymmetrisches Verhalten, mit zudem unzureichender Bandtrennung.

RMEs Spectral Analyser dagegen berechnet echte Bandfilter, wie sie in professionellen Geräten (Hardware) üblich sind. Die Abstände der Filter sind nicht frequenz-, sondern gehörlinear. Der hohe Optimierungsgrad erlaubt es selbst auf leistungsschwächeren Rechnern, einen 30-Band Analyser mit 50 dB Anzeigeumfang, hoher Güte (Bandtrennung), und 100 LEDs pro Band anzeigen zu lassen, ohne den Rechner übermäßig zu belasten. Auf einem Pentium III 600 MHz liegt die CPU-Last bei circa 15%, inklusive der unvermeidlichen Last durch Grafikoperationen! (Update: P4 2.4 GHz unter 2%.)

Dank der komplett digitalen Technik bietet der Spectral Analyser Merkmale, die in analogen Analysern bisher nicht möglich waren. Dazu zählen frei einstellbare Release- und Attackzeit, eine in weiten Bereichen konfigurierbare Anzeige, verschiedene Güten und besondere Anzeigemodi. Und dank der hohen Rechentiefe moderner CPUs kann der Analyser bis -140 dBFS herunter exakt anzeigen.

Hinweise zur Anwendung

Der wichtigste Einsatz eines Spectral Analysers ist die Darstellung der in komplexer Musik enthaltenen Frequenzanteile. Nach dem Motto: 'What you see is what your hear' zeigt der Analyser Pegel- und Frequenzen von Einzelsignalen oder komplexer Musik, auch an den Grenzen des hörbaren Bereiches. Durch die visuelle Darstellung läßt sich das Gehör schulen, grobe Fehler beim Mischen werden vermieden. Bei Studio-Monitoren ist meist schon bei 100 Hz Feierabend - Tiefbässe lassen sich so wenigstens optisch kontrollieren.

Das Ablesen der Anzeige erfordert wegen der Fülle an Informationen ein wenig Einarbeitung. Nach kurzer Zeit erweist sich der Spectral Analyser jedoch als unverzichtbare Hilfe.

Weitere Hinweise zur Anaylse von Musik, besonderen Darstellungsmodi, akustischen Messungen, besonderen Anwendungen und Rauschsignalen enthält die umfassende Online-Hilfe des Totalyser.
 

DAS GONIOMETER

Top


Um die Pegel- und Phasenbeziehung zwischen linkem und rechtem Kanal sichtbar zu machen, wurden anfangs Oszilloskope aus der Messtechnik zweckentfremdet. Der rechte Kanale wurde auf den X-, der linke auf den Y-Eingang gelegt, die Röhre um 45 gedreht - fertig war das Goniometer. Es ist insbesondere im Rundfunk, aber auch im Post-Pro und Mastering-Bereich sehr verbreitet. Die entsprechenden Geräte waren lange Zeit sehr teuer, und wurden schliesslich Mitte der 80er von den sehr viel billiger herzustellenden Korrelationsgradmessern verdrängt. Diese bieten zwar deutlich weniger Information, ein Phasenproblem ist aber allemal deutlich zu erkennen.

Inzwischen sind Goniometer als sogenannte Vector Scopes wieder öfter anzutreffen, in vielen Programmen sogar als kostenlose Zugabe enthalten. Deren Qualität ist jedoch gelinde gesagt mangelhaft. Selbst die in teuren, angeblich professionellen Meter-Programmen enthaltenen Goniometer haben kaum etwas mit dem Original gemeinsam. Nach unseren Erfahrungen bieten alle Programme eine sehr schlechte Ablesbarkeit bei mimimaler Aussagekraft. Nach langer Optimierung und Implementation aufwendiger Algorithmen gelang uns ein Goniometer als native Software, welches nicht nur eine sehr geringe CPU-Last verursacht, sondern sogar die Darstellung auf den erwähnten (teuren) Klonen deutlich übertrifft.


Der offensichtlichste Unterschied gegenüber üblicher Software ist die sehr schnelle und direkte Ansprache bei maximaler Darstellung der Informationsinhalte. Statt aus einzelnen Pixeln bestehender Perlenschnüre zeigt RMEs Goniometer durchgehende (analoge) Linien bis zum echten, undurchdringlichen Wollknäuel.

Ausserdem wurde das Nachleuchten einer Oszilloskop-Röhre, das einen deutlichen Anteil am leichten Ablesen der Darstellung hat, nicht nur implementiert, sondern - wie eben nur auf Rechnern möglich - sogar einstellbar gemacht. Für helle, also aktuell gezeichnete Bildpunkte und für dunklere, also ältere, gibt es jeweils einzeln einstellbare Nachleuchtzeiten.

Darstellungsgrössen der Anzeige sind small, medium oder
large.

 

 

 

Erst mit einer professionellen Umsetzung wie der von RME macht das Goniometer Sinn. Sie werden schnell bemerken, dass die 2-dimensionale Darstellung gegenüber einem Korrelationsgradmesser eine Fülle interessanter Details verrät, und nach kurzer Eingewöhnung eine sinnvolle und nützliche Unterstützung zu Level Meter und Terzband-Analyser darstellt.

Weitere Erläuterungen zur Phasendarstellung, Pegeldarstellung und Automatic Gain Control (AGC) enthält die umfassende Online-Hilfe des Totalyser. Dort finden Sie auch weitere Informationen zu anderen Funktionen von Totalyser und DIGICheck, wie Korrelationsgradmesser und Level Meter.
 

ALLE ZUSAMMEN - DER TOTALYSER

Top

 
 
Im Betriebsmodus Totalyser werden Analyser, Goniometer, Correlation Meter und Level Meter gleichzeitig dargestellt. So erhält man alle nötigen Informationen auf einen Blick. Wie auch in den Einzeldarstellungen lässt sich auch hier zwischen den drei Fenstergrössen small, medium und large wählen.
 

Hauptseite    News    AD/DA-Wandler    Digitalkarten    MADI Serie     DIGICheck    Mic Preamps
Zubehör    Support    RME Newsgroup    Rund um RME    Bezugsquellen    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002-2004 RME. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. RME ist ein eingetragenes Markenzeichen.
Diese Website enthält Namen und Marken anderer Firmen