»Back to the ADI-8 DD

With a device as powerful as the ADI-8 DD, it is for sure sometimes difficult to find out what's going on, or can be done with it. The device is capable of 34 different format conversions - which nobody can remember. And how are they set up? What can the user do at all?

The key to understanding the ADI-8 DD is the block diagram below. Reduced to the core functionality, it shows clearly and easily to be understood, which inputs and outputs work together where and when.

The three inputs AES, ADAT and TDIF are shown on the left side. Using one source switch each, both the left and the right part can access the inputs independently. The output of the left part is connected to TDIF, and basically also to the ADAT output. The output of the right part is connected to the AES output. This is the obvious design and functionality of the device, as can be learned from the front panel and the rear (connectors.) The two converter units of the ADI-8 DD operate independently from each other, no matter which of the three inputs they use, sending a signal to their hard-wired outputs.

But there are two special cases, in which the optical ADAT outputs work for the right part instead of the left part. Using the AES STATE key, the AES signal can also be routed to the optical output*. This functionality is activated by switch Opt.2 in the diagram. It is very useful when a device shall be connected which has only an optical SPDIF input (e.g. Mini-Disc.)

The second special function enables an 'ADAT to TDIF and vice versa' converter, i.e. ADAT/TDIF in both directions simultaneously. So far, the ADI-8 DD can be used bi-directional as AES to TDIF and AES to ADAT converter. But ADAT to TDIF, as well as TDIF to ADAT, are both a function of the left part, therefore require to change the input and are thus not available at the same time. As can be seen in the block diagram the ADAT output can also be fed from the right part, activated by switch Opt.1 in the diagram. The conversion TDIF to ADAT now takes place in the right part, and the ADI-8 DD can convert ADAT/TDIF in both directions at the same time.

*The AES output 1/2 is sent to the second ADAT output AUX.

»Back to the ADI-8 DD

Home    News    Audio Converters    Sound Cards    MADI Series     DIGICheck   Mic Preamps
Accessories    Support    RME Newsgroup    Company Info    Purchasing    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. All rights reserved. RME is a registered trademark.
This website contains names and marks of other companies.

»Zurück zum ADI-8 DD

Bei einem derart leistungsfähigen Gerät wie dem ADI-8 DD ist es sicher nicht ganz einfach, immer den Überblick zu behalten. Das Gerät beherrscht 34 verschiedene Formatkonvertierungen - das kann sich aber keiner merken. Und wie stellt man die überhaupt ein? Welche Möglichkeiten haben Sie als Anwender überhaupt?

Der Schlüssel zum Verständnis des ADI-8 DD ist das unten zu sehende Blockschaltbild. Es zeigt auf einfachste und Übersichtlichste Weise, welche Ein- und Ausgänge wann wo wie zusammenarbeiten.

Links sehen Sie die drei Eingänge AES, ADAT und TDIF. Über je einen Source-Schalter kann sowohl der linke als auch der rechte Teil vollkommen unabhängig auf diese zugreifen. Der Ausgang des linken Teils ist fest mit TDIF verbunden, und im Normalfall auch mit ADAT. Der Ausgang des rechten Teils ist fest mit AES verbunden. Dies ist der anhand von Frontplatte und Rückseite (Anschlüsse) offensichtliche Teil des Gerätes. Die beiden Konvertereinheiten des ADI-8 DD arbeiten unabhängig, mit egal welchem der drei Eingangsformate, auf die jeweils fest verdrahteten Ausgänge.

Für die optischen ADAT-Ausgänge existieren jedoch zwei Sonderfälle, in denen sie statt mit dem linken mit dem rechten Teil zusammenarbeiten. Über den AES STATE Taster lässt sich das AES-Signal auch auf den optischen Ausgang* legen, hier symbolisiert durch den Umschalter Opt.2. Diese Funktion ist sehr nützlich wenn ein Gerät angeschlossen werden soll, welches nur über einen optischen SPDIF-Eingang verfügt (z.B. Mini-Disc.)

Der zweite Sonderfall betrifft den Betrieb als 'ADAT zu TDIF und umgekehrt' Konverter, also ADAT/TDIF bidirektional. Bis hierher kann der ADI-8 DD sowohl AES zu TDIF als auch AES zu ADAT problemlos in beide Richtungen gleichzeitig wandeln. ADAT zu TDIF ist jedoch genauso wie TDIF zu ADAT eine Funktion des linken Teils, erfordert also eine Umschaltung des Einganges, und ist daher nicht gleichzeitig möglich. Wie im Blockschaltbild zu sehen, lässt sich der ADAT-Ausgang aber auch vom rechten Teil speisen, hier symbolisiert durch den Umschalter Opt.1. Die Konvertierung TDIF zu ADAT kann dadurch nun im rechten Teil erfolgen, der ADI-8 DD also auch mit ADAT/TDIF bidirektional arbeiten.

»Zurück zum ADI-8 DD

Hauptseite    News    AD/DA-Wandler    Digitalkarten    MADI Serie     DIGICheck    Mic Preamps
Zubehör    Support    RME Newsgroup    Rund um RME    Bezugsquellen    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. RME ist ein eingetragenes Markenzeichen.
Diese Website enthält Namen und Marken anderer Firmen