THE ADI SERIES:

»ADI-192 DD
»ADI-2
»ADI-4 DD
»ADI-8 Pro
»ADI-8 DS
»ADI-96 Pro

16-Channel 24 Bit/96 kHz Dual Universal Format Converter

Please note that the ADI-8 DD is discontinued!

Overview Tour de ADI Technical Specs / Features Pricing
 
OVERVIEW ADI-8 DD


The ADI-8 DD commands any other format or sample rate converter in the price-range up to $5,000 to their places, with a single strike on the timps. Such a statement demands its proof - here we go!

The ADI-8 DD consists of two (!) digital format converters with each up to 16 channels. It offers 34 different conversion modes, all with 24 bit resolution. Besides the bi-directional conversion between all formats (ADAT/TDIF, ADAT/AES or TDIF/AES), numerous additional modes are available. A simplified list looks like this:

LEFT PART:

  • 8-channel AES (4 x stereo, XLR) to ADAT optical || TDIF converter (96 kHz)
  • 8-channel AES to 2 x ADAT || 2 x TDIF splitter (48 kHz)
  • 2-channel AES to 8 channel TDIF || ADAT splitter (96 kHz)
  • 8-channel ADAT / TDIF to 2 x ADAT || 2 x TDIF splitter (48 kHz)
  • 16-channel ADAT / TDIF to ADAT || TDIF converter (48 kHz)
  • 8-channel ADAT / TDIF to ADAT || TDIF converter (96 kHz)

RIGHT PART:

  • 8-channel TDIF / ADAT to ADAT || AES (4 x stereo, XLR) converter (96 kHz)
  • 16-channel TDIF / ADAT to ADAT (|| AES) converter (48 kHz)
  • 8-channel AES to AES Sample Rate Converter (96 kHz)
  • 2-channel AES to 8-channel AES splitter (96 kHz)
  • 4-channel AES Double Wire to AES Single Wire converter (96 kHz)
  • 4-channel AES Single Wire to AES Double Wire converter (96 kHz)
  • 8-channel ADAT / TDIF to ADAT || TDIF Sample Rate Converter (96 kHz)
* ADAT || TDIF means that the output signal is present in parallel, i.e. at the same time on the ADAT and TDIF outputs. ADAT / TDIF means that the input can be either ADAT or TDIF.

Complicated? Not at all. The ADI-8 DD is both easy to understand and easy to operate. More on the plain and simple basic structure of the DD can be found here.

Because the ADI-8 DD is a dual converter, there are two modes available at the same time from the modes mentioned above - with few exceptions. Professionals are really thrilled by these features: the ADI-8 DD understands Sample Split, S/MUX, Double Wire and Double Line. It is thus compatible to all known methods for raising the sample rate by sample distribution, on all supported platforms. Also multiple units can be stacked and operated sample-aligned, using word clock.

Both converters work both completely independent and intelligently coupled. The actual states of incoming and outgoing signals and ongoing operations within the unit are displayed with LEDs of different colors in an easily overseeable way. The 8-channel Sample Rate Converter in Hi-End 24 bit/96 kHz quality is only available in the left or right part of the device. It allows for a wide range of applications. When the internal clock is used, the SRC works as a perfect jitter-killer. And thanks to the SRC's clock-decoupling non-synchronizable items like CD-players and DAT recorders can be used together as if they were synchronizable.

Devices from RME have an outstanding reputation. To maintain this, we keep on looking for details that others miss. A present example is the ADI-8 DD's SyncAlign® technology. As soon as more than one AES or SPDIF input are used, there is usually the chance of an accidental error of ± 1 sample misalignment between the stereo inputs. SyncAlign prevents this error and guarantees sample synchronicity between all 4 x 2 channels.

All of the ADI-8 DD's I/Os support 96kHz/24bit. As ADAT® optical and TDIF are usually restricted to 48kHz, in DS mode (Double Speed) two channels are being used for the transmission of one channel's data. The Sample Split algorithm used is also implemented in the Hammerfall and Hammerfall Light. Thus the ADI-8 DD also represents an ideal AES/EBU frontend for the Hammerfall series.

The compact device with 19" width and 1 HU has numerous exceptional features like Intelligent Clock Control (ICC) and storing of all settings. Other highlights are:

  • ADAT® optical inputs, 24 bit, using RME's unsurpassed bitclock PLL for sample accurate lock
  • TDIF-1 interface, 24 bit, SD-PLL, Emphasis support, DA-88 compatible
  • Sample rate conversion 96 kHz/24 bit switchable for the AES/EBU inputs
  • Copy Mode allows for copying data to an output of the same format (ADAT to ADAT etc.)
  • Clock decoupling (re-synchronization) per SRC
  • Active jitter reduction per Serial Double PLL and SRC
  • Digital Patchbay, allows for copying, duplicating and distributing of the digital input signals
  • SyncCheck®, unequalled technology for checking of clock synchronicity
  • SPDIF mode switchable for the second ADAT optical output
Compare the ADI-8 DD with other stereo or multichannel converters and you will agree: the ADI-8 DD shows an unsurpassed flexibility together with a sensational price point! It is the long-awaited link in the semi-professional and professional area, from project studio to broadcast applications.
 
TOUR DE ADI


Join us for a small 'tour de ADI', starting on the left side at the AES to ADAT/TDIF converter. Configuration starts with choosing the input signal (AES, ADAT or TDIF.) The state of the digital input signals is displayed by 16 LEDs. Shown are Lock (per XLR socket, including SyncCheck), Emphasis and the level of the audio signal.

SRC activates a Hi-End 8-channel Sample Rate Converter. It is especially useful when sources cannot be synced or the output signal shall have another sampling frequency. RME's intelligent clock control (ICC) offers extensive and professional means that are not easily met. To start with, the clock source can be set to Internal (crystal), External (BNC word clock) and Input, while Input lets you select between AES, ADAT or TDIF. The INT(ernal) clock rates are 44.1 and 48kHz, which turn to 88.2 and 96kHz after activating the DS mode. After activating SRC, any AES signal from 32 to 96kHz can be converted to 44.1, 48, 88.2 or 96kHz. Lock state and clock synchronicity are being displayed by the state of each LED (flashing or constantly lit.)

The ADAT/TDIF to AES section is laid out in a similar way. After choosing the input signal (AES, ADAT or TDIF), the clock source and the sampling rate, there is a field with 16 LEDs for displaying the current status. An Emphasis bit at the TDIF input will be automatically set and indicated for the AES out. The Lock state of the input signals is being displayed at the SOURCE selector by flashing LEDs. The SYNC LEDs show the synchronicity between both ADAT or TDIF inputs (or the four XLR inputs), as in Double Speed mode (DS) 2 I/Os are active (4 channels each.) The AES output signal can be set to Consumer or Professional subcode. The first output (channel 1/2) can optionally be output optically (via TOSLINK) using the second ADAT output, or both ADAT outputs can operate in parallel to the AES outputs.

The unit always sends its output signal to ADAT and TDIF simultaneously. Additionally when operating at no higher than 48 kHz both ADAT outputs and TDIF interfaces get the same signal. Thus the distribution capability is doubled to 2 x ADAT and 2 x TDIF. Thanks to the freely available inputs all attached devices can send signals to each other without the need to rearrange the cabling between them.

The rear of the ADI-8 DD looks clear and tidy. Two ADAT and TDIF I/Os each (for 8 channels @ 96kHz), word clock I/O and four AES I/Os offer unbeatable flexibility and compatibility. Whatever it may be - just make the connections and take off!
 

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS AND FEATURES

Input AES/EBU: 4 x XLR, electrically isolated, highly sensitive input stage (< 0.3 Vpp), SPDIF compatible
Output AES/EBU: 4 x XLR, transformer balanced, 5 Vpp
Input ADAT® optical: 2 x TOSLINK, 24 bit, Bitclock PLL
Output ADAT® optical: 2 x TOSLINK, 24 bit
Input/Output TDIF: 2 x D-type 25 pin, 24 bit, SD-PLL
Input word clock: BNC, Signal Adaptation Circuit (functional from 1.2 Vpp input signal), SD-PLL
Output word clock: BNC, low-impedance driver stage, 4 Vpp into 75 Ohms, short-circuit-proof
 
Sync sources: ADAT optical input, AES/EBU input, TDIF input, word clock input
Varipitch: by input signal or word clock
Sample rates: 44.1 kHz, 48 kHz, 88.2 kHz, 96 kHz, variable (Sync/word clock)
Sample rate range: AES, word clock: 27 kHz-105 kHz, ADAT/TDIF 33 kHz - 57 kHz
 
Jitter: Internal clock < 1 ns, word clock In < 3 ns, ADAT In < 2 ns, TDIF In < 3 ns
Jitter sensitivity: all PLLs operate even at 40 ns Jitter without problems
Jitter reduction: SD-PLL > 50%, SRC > 99%
SRC dynamic ratio: 128 dB
SRC THD+N: < -117 dB (< 0.00014 %)
Sample rate ratio: Max. 3:1 / 1:3
Power supply: internal switching mode ps, 100 V-240 V AC, 50-60 Hz, 10 Watts
 
Dimensions: 483 x 44 x 200 mm
Warranty: 2 years

For further information about the functions of the ADI-8 DD simply download the manual.
 

PRICING
 
See your local distributor's website for current price information.

Home    News    Audio Converters    Sound Cards    MADI Series     DIGICheck   Mic Preamps
Accessories    Support    RME Newsgroup    Company Info    Purchasing    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. All rights reserved. RME is a registered trademark.
This website contains names and marks of other companies.

THE ADI SERIE:
»ADI-192 DD
»ADI-2
»ADI-4 DD
»ADI-8 Pro
»ADI-8 DS
»ADI-96 Pro

16-Kanal 24 Bit/96 kHz Dual Universal Format Converter

Achtung: Produktion eingestellt!
Es sind nur noch vereinzelt Geräte im Handel erhältlich!

 
ÜBERSICHT

RMEs ADI-8 DD verweist mit einem Paukenschlag alle anderen Format und Sample Rate Converter in der Preisklasse unter 10.000 DM auf die Plätze. Solch eine Aussage verlangt nach Beweisen - hier sind sie!

Der ADI-8 DD besteht aus zwei (!) bis zu 16-kanaligen Digital-Formatwandlern, und bietet 34 verschiedene Betriebsarten, alle in 24 Bit Auflösung. Zusätzlich zur bi-direktionalen Wandlung aller Formate (ADAT/TDIF, ADAT/AES oder TDIF/AES) stehen zahlreiche weitere Modi bereit. Vereinfacht dargestellt sind dies:

Linker Teil:

  • 8-Kanal AES (4 x Stereo, XLR) zu ADAT optical || TDIF Converter (96 kHz)
  • 8-Kanal AES auf 2 x ADAT || 2 x TDIF Splitter (48 kHz)
  • 2-Kanal AES auf 8 Kanal TDIF || ADAT Splitter (96 kHz)
  • 8-Kanal ADAT / TDIF auf 2 x ADAT || 2 x TDIF Splitter (48 kHz)
  • 16-Kanal ADAT / TDIF zu ADAT || TDIF Converter (48 kHz)
  • 8-Kanal ADAT / TDIF zu ADAT || TDIF Converter (96 kHz)

Rechter Teil:

  • 8-Kanal TDIF / ADAT zu ADAT || AES (4 x Stereo, XLR) Converter (96 kHz)
  • 16-Kanal TDIF / ADAT zu ADAT (|| AES) Converter (48 kHz)
  • 8-Kanal AES zu AES Sample Rate Converter (96 kHz)
  • 2-Kanal AES auf 8-Kanal AES Splitter (96 kHz)
  • 4-Kanal AES Double Wire zu AES Single Wire Converter (96 kHz)
  • 4-Kanal AES Single Wire zu AES Double Wire Converter (96 kHz)
  • 8-Kanal ADAT / TDIF zu ADAT || TDIF Sample Rate Converter (96 kHz)

* ADAT || TDIF bedeutet, dass das Ausgangssignal parallel, also gleichzeitig an den ADAT- und TDIF-Ausgängen bereitsteht. ADAT / TDIF bedeutet, dass der Eingang wahlweise ADAT oder TDIF ist.

Kompliziert? Keineswegs. Der ADI-8 DD ist sowohl einfach zu verstehen als auch einfach zu bedienen. Wie das Gerät prinzipiell funktioniert erfahren Sie hier.

Da der ADI-8 DD ein Dual Converter ist, sind von den oben beschriebenen Modi - bis auf wenige Ausnahmen - jeweils einer von linkem und rechtem Teil gleichzeitig verfügbar. Was echte Profis vollends begeistert: Der ADI-8 DD versteht Sample Split, S/MUX, Double Wire und Double Line. Er ist damit kompatibel zu den bekannten Methoden der Samplefrequenzerhöhung durch Sampleverteilung, auf allen unterstützten Plattformen. Und natürlich lassen sich beliebig viele Geräte kaskadieren und per Wordclock Sample-genau synchronisieren.

Beide Konverter arbeiten sowohl vollkommen unabhängig als auch intelligent gekoppelt. Über verschiedenfarbige Leuchtdioden wird der aktuelle Zustand der ein- und ausgehenden Signale sowie der im Gerät stattfindenden Vorgänge übersichtlich angezeigt. Der 8-kanalige Sample Rate Converter in Hi-End 24 Bit/96 kHz Qualität ist nur im linken oder rechten Teil des Gerätes verfügbar. Er eröffnet weitere Einsatzgebiete. So arbeitet der SRC bei Nutzung der internen Clock als perfekter Jitter-Killer. Und dank der Clock-Entkopplung des SRC lassen sich nicht synchronisierbare Geräte wie CD-Player und Consumer DAT im Verbund nutzen, so als wären sie synchonisierbar.

Geräte von RME haben einen hervorragenden Ruf. Damit das so bleibt achten wir verstärkt auf Details, die anderen entgehen. Ein aktuelles Beispiel ist die SyncAlign® Technologie des ADI-8 DD. Sobald mehr als ein AES- oder SPDIF-Eingang zur Verfügung stehen, kommt es normalerweise zu einem zufälligen Fehler von ± 1 Sample Abweichung zwischen den Stereo-Eingängen. SyncAlign verhindert diesen Effekt, und garantiert Sample-Synchronität zwischen allen 4 x 2 Kanälen.

Alle digitalen Schnittstellen des ADI-8 DD unterstützen 96 kHz/24 Bit. Da ADAT optical und TDIF üblicherweise auf 48 kHz begrenzt sind, werden im DS-Betrieb (Double Speed) zwei Kanäle benutzt um die Daten eines Kanales zu übertragen. Das dabei eingesetzte Sample Split-Verfahren ist auch in der Hammerfall und Hammerfall Light implementiert. Damit stellt der ADI-8 DD auch ein ideales AES/EBU Frontend für die Hammerfall Serie dar.

Das kompakte Gerät mit 19" Breite und 1 HE verfügt über zahlreiche weitere außergewöhnliche Merkmale, wie Intelligent Clock Control (ICC) und Speicherung der Einstellungen. Weitere Highlights sind:

  • ADAT® optical Eingänge, 24 Bit, mit RMEs unübertroffener Bitclock-PLL für samplegenauen Lock
  • TDIF-1 Interface, 24 Bit, SD-PLL, Emphasis Support, DA-88 kompatibel
  • Sample Rate Conversion 96 kHz/24 Bit am AES/EBU Eingang wahlweise zuschaltbar
  • Copy Mode erlaubt das Kopieren der Daten zum Ausgang des gleichen Formates (ADAT zu ADAT etc.)
  • Clock Entkopplung (Re-Synchronisation) per SRC
  • Aktive Jitter-Unterdrückung per Serial Double PLL und SRC
  • Digital Patchbay, ermöglicht das Kopieren, Duplizieren und Verteilen der digitalen Eingangssignale
  • SyncCheck®, einzigartige Technik zur Prüfung der Clock-Synchronität mehrerer Eingänge
  • SPDIF Mode am zweiten ADAT optical Ausgang schaltbar

Vergleichen Sie den ADI-8 DD mit anderen Stereo- oder Multikanal-Convertern, und Sie werden uns zustimmen: Der ADI-8 DD weist unübertroffene Flexibilität auf, gepaart mit einem sensationellen Preis/Leistungsverhältnis! Er ist das lang erwartete Bindeglied im semi- und professionellen Bereich, vom Projektstudio bis zum Rundfunk.

TOUR DE ADI

Begleiten Sie uns bei einer kleinen 'Tour de ADI', beginnend links am AES zu ADAT/TDIF Converter. Die Konfiguration beginnt mit der Wahl des Eingangssignales (AES, ADAT oder TDIF.) Der Zustand des digitalen Eingangssignals wird über 16 Leuchtdioden ausgewertet. Zur Anzeige kommen Lock (pro XLR-Buchse, inklusive SyncCheck), Emphasis, und der Pegel des enthaltenen Audiosignales.

SRC aktiviert einen Hi-End 8-fach Sample Rate Converter. Dieser ist besonders nützlich wenn sich zuspielende Geräte nicht synchronisieren lassen, oder das Ausgangssignal eine andere Samplefrequenz erhalten soll. RMEs intelligente Clock Steuerung ICC bietet umfassende und professionelle Möglichkeiten die ihresgleichen suchen. Zunächst ist die Clock-Quelle zwischen Intern (Quarz), Extern (BNC Wordclock) und Input wählbar, wobei Input noch zwischen den drei Eingängen AES, ADAT und TDIF unterscheidet. INT(ern) sind 44,1 kHz und 48 kHz, nach Aktivierung des DS Mode 88,2 und 96 kHz anwählbar. Ein AES-Eingangssignal im Bereich 32 kHz bis 96 kHz kann - wenn SRC aktiviert wurde - also auf 44,1, 48, 88,2 oder 96 kHz gewandelt werden. Lock Zustand und Clock Synchronität werden über den Status der jeweiligen LED (blinkend/konstant) angezeigt.

Die Sektion ADAT/TDIF zu AES ist ähnlich aufgebaut. Nach der Wahl des Einganges (AES, ADAT oder TDIF), Wahl der gewünschten Clock-Quelle und Samplefrequenz folgt ein Feld mit 16 Leuchtdioden zur Anzeige des Status. Ist das TDIF-Eingangssignal mit Emphasis versehen wird diese automatisch am AES-Ausgang gesetzt, und hier angezeigt. Der Lock-Zustand des Eingangssignales wird per blinkender LED bereits am Eingangswahlschalter dargestellt. Die Sync-Anzeige dient der Darstellung der Synchronität zwischen den beiden ADAT und TDIF-Eingängen (sowie den vier AES-Eingängen), denn im Double Speed Modus sind zwei Schnittstellen aktiv (je 4 Kanäle.) Das AES Ausgangssignal kann wahlweise mit einer Professional- oder Consumer-Kennung versehen werden. Optional kann der erste Ausgang (Kanal 1/2) auch als SPDIF optisch am zweiten ADAT Ausgang erscheinen, oder beide ADAT Ausgänge parallel zu den AES Ausgängen arbeiten.

Prinzipiell gibt das Gerät immer parallel an ADAT und TDIF aus, womit das Eingangssignal an zwei verschiedene Ausgänge verteilt wird. Im Betrieb bis 48 kHz Samplefrequenz erhalten beide ADAT- und TDIF-Ports (Main/Aux) das gleiche Signal zugeführt, wodurch sich die Verteilung weiter auf 2 x ADAT und 2 x TDIF verdoppelt. Durch die freie Wahl der Eingänge kann also - ohne umzuverkabeln - problemlos zwischen allen angeschlossenen Geräten kopiert und verteilt werden.

Die Rückseite des ADI-8 DD präsentiert sich Übersichtlich und aufgeräumt. Je zwei ADAT optical Ein- und Ausgänge sowie zwei TDIF Schnittstellen (für volle 8 Kanäle bei 96 kHz), Wordclock I/O und je vier AES/EBU I/Os ergeben unschlagbare Flexibilität und Kompatibilität. Was auch immer es ist - einfach anschließen und loslegen!
 

TECHNISCHE DATEN UND MERKMALE

Eingang AES/EBU: 4 x XLR, galvanisch getrennt, hochempfindliche Eingangsstufe (< 0,3 Vss), SPDIF kompatibel
Ausgang AES/EBU: 4 x XLR, trafosymmetriert, 4 Vss
Eingang ADAT® optical: 2 x TOSLINK, 24 Bit, Bitclock PLL
Ausgang ADAT® optical: 2 x TOSLINK, 24 Bit
Eingang/Ausgang TDIF: 2 x Sub-D 25 pol, 24 Bit, SD-PLL
Eingang Wordclock: BNC, Signal Adaptation Circuit (arbeitet ab 1,2 Vss), SD-PLL
Ausgang Wordclock: BNC, niederohmige Treiberstufe, 4 Vss an 75 Ohm, Kurzschlussfest
 
Sync-Quellen: ADAT optical Input, AES/EBU Input, TDIF Input, Wordclock Input
Varipitch: per Eingangssignal oder Wordclock
Samplefrequenzen: 44,1 kHz, 48 kHz, 88,2 kHz, 96 kHz, variabel (Sync/Wordclock)
Sample Rate Range: AES, Wordclock: 27 kHz-105 kHz, ADAT/TDIF 33 kHz - 57 kHz

Jitter: Interne Clock < 1 ns, Wordclock In < 3 ns, ADAT In < 2 ns, TDIF In < 3 ns
Jitter-Empfindlichkeit: alle PLLs arbeiten selbst bei 40 ns Jitter störungsfrei
Jitter-Unterdrückung: SD-PLL > 50%, SRC > 99%

SRC Dynamik: 128 dB
SRC THD+N: < -117 dB (< 0,00014 %)
Sample Rate Ratio: Maximal 3:1 / 1:3

Stromversorgung: Internes Schaltnetzteil, 100 V - 240 V AC, 10 Watt
Maße (BxHxT) 483 x 44 x 200 mm
Garantie: 2 Jahre

Einen weiteren Überblick über die Funktionen des ADI-8 DD erhalten Sie nach Herunterladen des ausführlichen Handbuches.

 
VERKAUFSPREIS

Den aktuell empfohlenen Verkaufspreis erfahren Sie hier.

Hauptseite    News    AD/DA-Wandler    Digitalkarten    MADI Serie     DIGICheck    Mic Preamps
Zubehör    Support    RME Newsgroup    Rund um RME    Bezugsquellen    Downloads    Links

Copyright 2002 RME. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. RME ist ein eingetragenes Markenzeichen.
Diese Website enthält Namen und Marken anderer Firmen