Topic: Loudness measuring with DIGICheck and other suitable programs

Hello,

I’m a new happy user of Fireface UFX. I need it for noise level (loudness) measurements of apartments. Normally the measurement and recording lasts 48 hours, so UFX is very practical because of its stand alone USB recording feature. This way only USB memory and naturally microphones are needed to make a complete set.

So collecting the data went extremely smoothly, but now I need some program to analyze and measure LAeq (dBA Leq), LAFmax, LApeak, and preferably also LAImax. Then also unweighted Leq and Lpeak would be needed as well as C weighted LCpeak.

I have no previous knowledge of any suitable programs, so if someone can advice me I would be very happy.

Because at the moment I can not invest too much money to the program, also information about freeware or low priced programs are very welcome even if they do not cover all the needed functions. Already LAeq and LApeak would do for now.

And this brings me to questions about DIGICheck. Please forgive me my possibly stupid questions and reasoning, they are do to my inexperience regarding all studio software… Beforehand I thought that I could use DIGICheck for the basic LAeq and LApeak measurements, but now it seems I was wrong, right? Bit Statistics & Noise function has A-weighted RMS, but it seems to be changing slowly with the noise content and not be analyzing the entire file length and adding all data to form true LAeq of the complete file.

Then ITU 1770 / EBU R 128 Meter seems to have Leq and Lpeak (with peak hold, infinite hold selected) functions I need, but they are ITU-weighted or unweighted and not have A-weighting, right? Please correct me if I have not understood all options this program offers.